Chevron Left
Back to Data Visualization and Communication with Tableau

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Data Visualization and Communication with Tableau by Duke University

4.7
stars
2,873 ratings
666 reviews

About the Course

One of the skills that characterizes great business data analysts is the ability to communicate practical implications of quantitative analyses to any kind of audience member. Even the most sophisticated statistical analyses are not useful to a business if they do not lead to actionable advice, or if the answers to those business questions are not conveyed in a way that non-technical people can understand. In this course you will learn how to become a master at communicating business-relevant implications of data analyses. By the end, you will know how to structure your data analysis projects to ensure the fruits of your hard labor yield results for your stakeholders. You will also know how to streamline your analyses and highlight their implications efficiently using visualizations in Tableau, the most popular visualization program in the business world. Using other Tableau features, you will be able to make effective visualizations that harness the human brain’s innate perceptual and cognitive tendencies to convey conclusions directly and clearly. Finally, you will be practiced in designing and persuasively presenting business “data stories” that use these visualizations, capitalizing on business-tested methods and design principles....

Top reviews

TP
Jul 3, 2016

Thanks very much for great content and especially, Ms. Jana Schaich Borg for brilliant presentation skills, lovely voice and good looking as well. Please participate. This is highly recommend course.

IT
Nov 6, 2018

I was pleased by the quality of this course. I really learned how to use tableau and the tips on researching and presenting were well founded. The teachers were positive and hard working. Thank you!

Filter by:

601 - 625 of 650 Reviews for Data Visualization and Communication with Tableau

By akhil r

Apr 4, 2020

the course could focus more on tableau

By Saurabh K

May 10, 2017

A really insightful course on visuali

By Udara S

Jun 14, 2020

Assessments could be more simpler

By Ahsan B

Apr 11, 2016

Amazing course with good start up

By Juan P A

Jan 5, 2016

Interesting, loved the teacher.

By Kang J N

Aug 11, 2019

Brief introduction to Tableau

By Anh N

Sep 28, 2019

This course is so wonderful

By Erica H

Oct 18, 2020

very helpful! Thank you:)

By Pranav B

Oct 12, 2020

Good Learning source !!

By MUNIKUMAR N M

Jun 25, 2017

I like the instructor!!

By Yavuz A

Sep 19, 2020

well prepared course!

By Deleted A

Dec 30, 2015

Exciting course.

By Pablo C

Feb 28, 2016

Awesome course!

By Angel S

Feb 4, 2016

Quite helpful

By Mathilde S

Jan 2, 2021

Really cool

By Alj N

Feb 23, 2016

Interesting

By Nisarg H

Mar 6, 2019

Brilliant

By Roger A R D S

Jun 25, 2016

excellent

By Prathamesh T

Aug 11, 2016

Nice..

By Meet A

Jan 3, 2021

good

By Tina

Aug 30, 2016

I will start with you do learn a lot from the videos (and the stuff you learn is very valuable), it's the absence of staff or professor involvement that is a problem and why I am not giving 5 stars. Outside of quizzes which are graded by computers, your "practice" assignments (which aren't practice because you can't check your answers before a test, super awesome when you can't really ask for help), final project and forum questions are graded or answered by other students.

If you have any confusion, either it will go unresolved or be worsened by potentially wrong answers from other students which I saw happen many, many times. Maybe I am expecting too much from an online learning platform? In all, I feel like while I did learn, I perhaps learned some wrong practices too. So while the videos are great, the actual teacher involvement is poor.

Coursera - I am not sure how you and the university work together, but is it totally strange to desire some input from your professor?

By Malin

Mar 9, 2020

I learned a lot and it's a fun course, however, I don't like that the assignments are corrected only by students. They can't correct things that are incorrect since I noticed by reviewing that many weren't well informed about the end assignment. Also, there's no way to know what things you could have done differently and there are no expert opinions.

Also, I got stuck at several exercises and even though I asked questions in the forum, I didn't get any answers in time and I had to move on without understanding this part. Teachers are not active and if the students aren't active either, then you're stuck.

By Steph L

Jun 6, 2016

I loved this course. The lecture videos taught me a lot and I was happy I got to use whatever I learned in the final project. The only reason why I'm giving three stars was because of the submission process for the final project. It gave me a headache because I didn't really understand how to submit to Tableau public. I tried following the instructions but I couldn't find some things so it confused me a bit. It caused me to submit my assignment late, and it was just not a pleasant process. Maybe upload new instructions with screenshots, or make another lecture video on how to submit.

By Choong L Y

Nov 30, 2020

It would have been better if the correct download Tableau link was provided at the start of the course. I searched online by myself and downloaded the trial version of Tableau 2020.3 which could not save my visualizations on Tableau Public. Even after I spent some time searching & downloaded Tableau Public, I still couldn't save my work on Public. Jing was faulty too. Its 'Country' was empty and I was unable to create a new a/c.

By Xu Z

Jan 7, 2018

My objective is to pick up Tableau skill sets and become a better Tableau user after the course. However, the class is more focused on communication and presentation. Only 2 sessions out of 5 are focused on Tableau. I don't think that the class meet class meets my expectation. Overall, I think that the class is designed well for sharpening communication and presentation skills, not well for learning Tableau technical skills