Chevron Left
Back to Data Visualization and Communication with Tableau

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Data Visualization and Communication with Tableau by Duke University

4.7
stars
2,780 ratings
635 reviews

About the Course

One of the skills that characterizes great business data analysts is the ability to communicate practical implications of quantitative analyses to any kind of audience member. Even the most sophisticated statistical analyses are not useful to a business if they do not lead to actionable advice, or if the answers to those business questions are not conveyed in a way that non-technical people can understand. In this course you will learn how to become a master at communicating business-relevant implications of data analyses. By the end, you will know how to structure your data analysis projects to ensure the fruits of your hard labor yield results for your stakeholders. You will also know how to streamline your analyses and highlight their implications efficiently using visualizations in Tableau, the most popular visualization program in the business world. Using other Tableau features, you will be able to make effective visualizations that harness the human brain’s innate perceptual and cognitive tendencies to convey conclusions directly and clearly. Finally, you will be practiced in designing and persuasively presenting business “data stories” that use these visualizations, capitalizing on business-tested methods and design principles....

Top reviews

TP
Jul 3, 2016

Thanks very much for great content and especially, Ms. Jana Schaich Borg for brilliant presentation skills, lovely voice and good looking as well. Please participate. This is highly recommend course.

IT
Nov 6, 2018

I was pleased by the quality of this course. I really learned how to use tableau and the tips on researching and presenting were well founded. The teachers were positive and hard working. Thank you!

Filter by:

101 - 125 of 621 Reviews for Data Visualization and Communication with Tableau

By Melissa P

Jun 21, 2016

This is an excellent course. You are given a six month license to use Tableau as well as practice data for the assignments and exercises. It is very practical and informative. It covers more than just Tableau. The first week is about framing data questions and working with stakeholders. The second and third week cover Tableau. The last week gives some very helpful tips for giving effective presentations. The final assessment will go over all of these things, so be prepared to put them to use if you want the final certificate.

By Nirmal R

Feb 1, 2018

The course was very well organized. Instead of just teaching tableau the course covered aspects about how to approach a business problem, design ways to approach a problem, structured thinking and then went to solving those problems using tableau. Even after tableau was taught the instructor covered aspects of how to present it to the target audience and make an impact. Great work. Only suggestion will be to be up to date about the content as tableau comes up with upgrades but the course videso don't include it.

By Paul J H L

Jun 20, 2016

Absolutely outstanding course. It stretched me - late nights grappling with the data, learning Tableau, recording a blooper-free presentation. So many takes!

But this course was not just about Tableau; it was about clarifying goals, planning before diving into the data, putting yourself in the shoes of the client and good presentation principles. Great practical exercise at the end - make sure you put aside plenty of time for this.

By Christopher A

Feb 3, 2016

I really enjoyed the lectures. The introduction to Tableau was broad enough to get a feel for possibilities and gave plenty of resources to further look for guidance as needed. In addition, the focus was not just on the technical tool but relaying the differences in visualization for analysis and visualization for persuasion. I enjoyed her lecturing and felt like the visual science and very specific actionable takeaways were good.

By Katrin H

Oct 9, 2016

This is one of the best courses I have ever taken. It is fun and yet, it is very detailed and, yes, it takes a bit more than 2-3 hours per week.

You will learn much more than using Tableau. You will learn to ask the right questions and you will also learn how to present your data analytics results to the C-suite or whoever asked for it.

I highly recommend this to anyone, beginners and experienced business / data analysts.

By Lucia A I

Oct 12, 2020

I came from course 1 and 2 and I really recommend you to follow the specialization and this course, I learned Tableau from scratch and I feel satisfied with the challenges in the final project. You don't have to be an expert in Excel, but the previous knowledge and experience helps to understand certain concepts behind using Tableau. If something gets to complex, you can watch videos over and over or search in internet :)

By Ngoc T B N

Nov 19, 2016

Tableau course is very worth learning because the Tableau's visualisation method is quite different from Excel. The final project is time and effort demanding but it is a wonderful chance to utilise what you have learned during the course. One thing I didn't not enjoying about this course is the forum is not quite organised and there is a few support/ response from the instructor/ mentors like the other online classes.

By Vanessa

Feb 19, 2016

This is an excellent class that covers basic data analysis and visualization with Tableau, but more importantly covers how to approach data analysis and how to present the results of a data analysis to a business audience (i.e., management executives). I would recommend this class for anybody starting in this space, or anybody who feels that their analysis is not coming through to decision-makers in their organization.

By Alex B

Jun 16, 2017

I Really enjoyed this course. It helped a lot with some fundamentals of Tableau but you won't become an expert in it. However what you do get is a brilliant insight into how to run a data project with some best practices. I thought at times the videos covered concepts too quickly even with the ability to rerun the video at times there was a lot to take on. But all in all a very good course well worth the effort.

By Stefan K

Dec 28, 2015

Very well taught course about using Tableau, providing tableau license for the Specialization (6 months). The lectures are well executed, concepts well explained and referenced materials provided. The most fun part are the assignments using real world datasets by Dognition. The course introduced me to very interesting visualization tool used in Data analytics. I enjoyed this course and took a great deal out of it.

By Ronak A

Aug 27, 2017

Well structured course. What you are being tested on is well taught during the course so no sense of confusion whether 'do I need to know something already'. Many example of real life business questions and references to other good works. Complete focus on being able to DO things. Free six months Tableau license is great for practice beyond the course. Makes you feel well rounded at the end of the course.

By Palak S

May 23, 2020

This course is designed so well. Starting from theory concepts in week 1, there is a smooth transition to Tableau software practicals in week 2 & 3. Week 4 guides you on presentation preparation and it was very helpful for me because I'm just about to enter the IT industry. If you are completely unaware of Tableau, I recommend you should definitely take this course. Thanks to all the course mentors!

By Kadir K

Sep 19, 2018

So far the best course in this specialisation, actually also among the courses I took in Coursera. First, and final modules provide some skills and knowledge that will be useful to any analyst, or any professional. Rest of modules make a smooth introduction to Tableau. A perfect starter for a new concept. Productive quizzes, well-explained videos and good structure. Absolutely recommended!

By Cyril M

Aug 24, 2020

Definitely a great class in many aspect

Very well and clearly presented.

Not just a tool but an approch : This is what we need !

Good link proportion between : Theory and practice.

Good level of difficulty.

One of the best class I've followed so far.

Only downside : it says you get a temporary student licence for Tableau, which you finally don't get.

By Caroline K

Jun 14, 2017

The class was very informative. It also teaches presentation methods and tips on effective presentations. The material is covered well. The quizzes and practice questions also help you dive deeper into comprehending the conte. I like that I still have access to the material even after completing the course since I often refer back to the lessons.

By John D

May 29, 2020

The instructor was quite articulate and well-organized. She moved a bit fast but then every lecture deserved to be watched at least twice. This course was an excellent introduction to Tableau. My only very mild criticism is that her examples were pretty much all Mac-based which led to some confusion and adjustment for WIndows users like me.

By Max H

Dec 13, 2015

Just starting week 3 and I've already learned a ton about approaching data visualizations while leveraging Tableau. This course does an excellent job of demystifying the beautiful and powerful tool that is Tableau. Even after only a week or so of playing around on Tableau I feel fairly comfortable in using it in my own work.

By Roberto K

Aug 8, 2016

Excellent course! The videos are easy to follow along, and Dr. Borg is great at explaining the material. Also, it was fun to learn how to use Tableau, and develop a thorough understanding of the program. Highly recommend this course if you are interested in data analytics, data visualization, and/or business presentations.

By Meet A

Nov 4, 2020

I highly recommend this course for enrolling to those people who are studying the course of Data analytics and Visualization or they are really interested to solve the real life business problems through real life data. Thank a lot Duke University and Dognition for providing such a good material and support on coursera.

By Richard D

Jun 26, 2019

I learned quite a lot from this course, not only about Tableau, but also about effective communication of data analyses and insights. All of my business presentations going forward will be significantly more effective because of what I learned in this course. Surprisingly challenging course but well worth the effort.

By Henry W

Mar 19, 2018

The knowledge of how to present data analysis using Tableau is very helpful in learning the work in real world. The professor is very knowledgable about the analytical & presentation skills and Tableau. She intertwine them in a very smooth and interesting way that has been very helpful in an on-line course.

By Syed K S

Mar 14, 2016

One of the best courses on Coursera: the content covers not just the usage of Tableau but also the objectives heading into using Tableau as well as the presentation of the results one gets from Tableau. Most of all, it is evident that the trainers know their stuff and had a lot of fun putting this together!

By Masood A L

Sep 9, 2019

Thanks very much for great content and especially, Ms. Jana Schaich Borg for brilliant presentation skills, lovely voice and good looking as well. Please participate. This is highly recommend course for data analysis using tableau as well as nice tips for preparing appealing presentation.

By Erika M

Feb 21, 2017

Este curso não apenas ensina técnicas para uso do software Tableau, como eu esperara a princípio, mas analisa cada um dos passos necessários para executar um projeto com excelência, desde a compreensão do escopo do trabalho à sua entrega. Excelente! Superou em muito minhas expectativas!

By Gabriela J L G

Mar 26, 2020

This is the very first on-line course that has kept me engaged from beginning to end. The business problems we had to solve are perfect as hands-on practice for solutions some of us must later implement in our day to day jobs. Overall I feel like it was a fantastic learning experience.