Chevron Left
Back to Data Visualization and Communication with Tableau

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Data Visualization and Communication with Tableau by Duke University

4.7
stars
3,025 ratings
709 reviews

About the Course

One of the skills that characterizes great business data analysts is the ability to communicate practical implications of quantitative analyses to any kind of audience member. Even the most sophisticated statistical analyses are not useful to a business if they do not lead to actionable advice, or if the answers to those business questions are not conveyed in a way that non-technical people can understand. In this course you will learn how to become a master at communicating business-relevant implications of data analyses. By the end, you will know how to structure your data analysis projects to ensure the fruits of your hard labor yield results for your stakeholders. You will also know how to streamline your analyses and highlight their implications efficiently using visualizations in Tableau, the most popular visualization program in the business world. Using other Tableau features, you will be able to make effective visualizations that harness the human brain’s innate perceptual and cognitive tendencies to convey conclusions directly and clearly. Finally, you will be practiced in designing and persuasively presenting business “data stories” that use these visualizations, capitalizing on business-tested methods and design principles....

Top reviews

MC
Sep 3, 2021

A course which eases the life of beginners! Exposure to real data through the exercises gave the flavor of real business scenario. Enjoyed the course and the instructor's lectures made it more lucid.

TP
Jul 3, 2016

Thanks very much for great content and especially, Ms. Jana Schaich Borg for brilliant presentation skills, lovely voice and good looking as well. Please participate. This is highly recommend course.

Filter by:

126 - 150 of 696 Reviews for Data Visualization and Communication with Tableau

By Henry W

Mar 19, 2018

The knowledge of how to present data analysis using Tableau is very helpful in learning the work in real world. The professor is very knowledgable about the analytical & presentation skills and Tableau. She intertwine them in a very smooth and interesting way that has been very helpful in an on-line course.

By Syed K S

Mar 14, 2016

One of the best courses on Coursera: the content covers not just the usage of Tableau but also the objectives heading into using Tableau as well as the presentation of the results one gets from Tableau. Most of all, it is evident that the trainers know their stuff and had a lot of fun putting this together!

By RH

Apr 30, 2021

Very nicely designed course. I'm thinking about going deeper in data analytics or data visualization. You do not fully master Tableau through this course -- no one should expect that -- but this course structures the scenarios when using this software and the logics behind. Thank you Coursera!

By chinmay

Apr 21, 2021

I suggest that the learning was really amazing, however, need to modify bit of the quiz and assessment part properly. Some data columns where missing and I didn't find all the columns described in data description document. Please check out those kind of points to improve the assessment part.

By Masood A L

Sep 9, 2019

Thanks very much for great content and especially, Ms. Jana Schaich Borg for brilliant presentation skills, lovely voice and good looking as well. Please participate. This is highly recommend course for data analysis using tableau as well as nice tips for preparing appealing presentation.

By Erika M

Feb 21, 2017

Este curso não apenas ensina técnicas para uso do software Tableau, como eu esperara a princípio, mas analisa cada um dos passos necessários para executar um projeto com excelência, desde a compreensão do escopo do trabalho à sua entrega. Excelente! Superou em muito minhas expectativas!

By Gabriela L

Mar 26, 2020

This is the very first on-line course that has kept me engaged from beginning to end. The business problems we had to solve are perfect as hands-on practice for solutions some of us must later implement in our day to day jobs. Overall I feel like it was a fantastic learning experience.

By Kayla H

Jan 20, 2018

I have not yet completed the course, but I am LOVING this class. The video tutorials that I can view while working in Tableau make learning very easy and very fun. I think it is great that we are given a 6-month access to Tableau professional and am excited to continue the course.

By zhenkai w

Sep 26, 2016

well designed and impressive courses! I learn a lot about Tableau technique and the whole process of data analysis, including preparing the data analysis process with scientific guidance, making persuasive illustration and giving a high quality presentation!! I have learned a lot!

By James B

May 3, 2016

The instructor provided a data set from an actual business to use in the Tableau analysis. I felt that the videos and supplemental information provided valuable instruction on data analysis in the Tableau software and the communication of the results. This was a great class.

By Kehinde B

May 18, 2020

This course was quite intensive and hands on. I learnt a lot and i am ready to use this to help with my job. I would also like to point out that some of the exercise questions need to be reviewed. Basically the steps i was meant to follow did not yield the expected result.

By Yogi H C

Oct 7, 2020

Love it! However for the practices, I think they should provide solutions. Because I was struggling in practices and the community although helpful isn't as much helpful as the last course Mastering Data in Excel. All in all, love the explanation, very clear and concise.

By Syed M O S

Oct 20, 2020

It is a well designed course for beginners and very interesting because of the whole visualization aspect. Instructor was very enthusiastic and taught the concepts very nicely and smoothly. I have already started implementing learnings from this course at my job.

By Aakanksh M

May 11, 2020

Mrs Jana is an incredible teacher with such clarity. Her ability to get her point across and work in a pace which everyone can comprehend is incredible. I thoroughly enjoyed this course and has given me so much confidence to pursue this field further. Thank you

By Gunjari B

Jul 28, 2017

The content for this course was exhaustive! It covered in detail many important functionalities in Tableau and its the only course I have seen doing so! The guidance of delivering effective business presentations indeed was extremely useful! Thank you so Much!

By BHUMIKA K

Oct 18, 2020

I have learned many things from this course . I will highly recommend this course to learners. My skills and knowledge is enhanced. I have learnt these followings courses

data analysis,tableau software, data visualization and visualization(computer graphics)

By AVIJIT B

May 2, 2020

The course was challenging but it was fun at the same time. You will learn the best practices of tableau and tips for presenting the data with help of tableau. I would recommend this course for the ones who already have a basic knowledge of Tableau.

By Zamir D

Jun 16, 2020

Great Course. Excellent combination of theoretical aspects, very clearly and precisely explained, with a practical data set guided perfectly throughout the journey.

Professionally done, with energetic continuous motivation from Jana. Great job!

By Yujing M

Dec 5, 2015

Nice class! Even though I got a ms degree in stat, I still enjoy it. The first week is important when you apply data analysis in the real world. And you can learn to build those fabulous tables in tableau in the following weeks. Great class!

By Sam H

Jun 18, 2017

This course is a little bit tougher as it required a presentation. It was difficult to get started and the recording took time. I am glad I did it but I had to push back to a different session 3 times to get over the fear of presentation.

By Lillian H

Jun 28, 2016

I enjoyed learning this course. It's not only fun but also gives very detailed tutorial by using Tableau. This course gives me a practical learning experience and business orientated way of thinking by utilizing the Data Visualization.

By Shanta S

Feb 27, 2017

Great class that gives you not just an intro to Tableau but takes you through to becoming an intermediate level user! I highly recommend it if this is the field you're looking to enter or the skill you want to add to your resume

By Sashank S K

Apr 26, 2020

Absolutely beautiful course. Very hands-on, and will require dedicated work on the PC to ace. It has been immensely helpful in improving the presentation of my data and earning me a few more brownie points before my professors.

By Ryan F

Feb 15, 2016

Fantastic course. Clear, insightful instruction. No prior experience with Tableau needed. Not only is the software taught, but topics like how to address a business analysis problem in a logical manner are addressed as well.

By Robert M

Dec 6, 2017

I liked that the course covers the entire workflow from data acquisition to presentation. You learn the basics of Tableau, but you also learn valuable lessons regarding optimization of visualizations and data story telling.