Chevron Left
Back to The Ancient Greeks

Learner Reviews & Feedback for The Ancient Greeks by Wesleyan University

4.7
stars
1,617 ratings
452 reviews

About the Course

This is a survey of ancient Greek history from the Bronze Age to the death of Socrates in 399 BCE. Along with studying the most important events and personalities, we will consider broader issues such as political and cultural values and methods of historical interpretation....

Top reviews

AS
Apr 22, 2018

This has been an enthralling course which introduces you to the world of the Ancient Greek. Thank you Prof. Andrew Szegedy-Maszak, and all the course creators and mentors, for this excellent course.

GL
Oct 15, 2015

Well presented, wonderful insight into the world of the ancient Greeks. I learnt a lot, and it has whetted my appetite for more. I really loved this course, and enjoyed it very much indeed

Filter by:

426 - 448 of 448 Reviews for The Ancient Greeks

By Luis M X d C

Aug 15, 2016

A good starting point to learn more about the "Ancient Greeks"

By Rami A K

May 24, 2020

Very informative. Ties it all together.

By Kenneth M

Dec 8, 2015

well presented and thought provoking

By Renato F

May 15, 2019

Very interesting course. Thank you

By Agnieszka Ś

Sep 6, 2020

Some links were broken.

By Pimpisut S

Sep 18, 2015

A really great course!!

By Shirley K

Jul 20, 2020

fun course thank you!

By Marianna P

Sep 15, 2015

Astonishing!

By John T R

Aug 20, 2020

.

By Andrew M

Sep 1, 2015

Ancient Greeks is brief overview of Greek civilization from about 1800 to 320 BC, starting with the Minoans of Crete and ending with the death of Alexander the Great. Prof. Andrew Szegedy-Maszak demonstrates great knowledge about the subjects, covering literature, government, and philosophy.

Yet the course has two setbacks: 1) The professor stutters through the lectures, displaying his obvious discomfort being on camera; and 2) the overview is very expansive, so there isn't great study in any single theater of Greek civilization.

There is, however, solid coverage. I also felt the chapter on the 4th cent. BC, done to address complaints about no coverage of Alexander and Macedon, feels tacked on. It's a long, but somehow hurried lecture.

That said, I liked this course. I gained greater knowledge of important political and literary figures, such as Solon and Alcibiades, than I did when I studied the subject back in college.

By Wendi S

Jun 2, 2017

The information was interesting and divided up so that it made a connection between the readings and the lectures. However, the speaker seemed uncomfortable and did not present himself well. More photos and being shown the pictures longer with him speaking behind them would have helped. Looking at little pictures on a computer/TV screen behind the speaker didn't help. Poor presentation although good subject matter.

By gerry w

Jan 15, 2021

Interesting & stimulating introduction to ancient greece. Please note - some of the reading assignment links not working. Would recommend. Regards

By Muhammad I

Feb 14, 2016

Very interesting! I wish there is some animation film to explain the narative.

By Gorret F

Oct 12, 2015

A lesson with discussion about the question of quizz.

By Julie C

Apr 12, 2016

The professor certainly knows a lot about this subject, but his delivery is stiff and dry. If he shared his passion for the subject with us it would be more enjoyable. On the plus side, I admire how he shares the Greek language with us so capably and combines art with his lectures.

By Jonathan G

Feb 24, 2018

this course was interesting but biased in a lot of ways. Alexander was Macedonian, but they glorify him like he's some great hero when to his enemies, he was called "Alexander the Destroyer Of Cities". A tyrant should never be glorified.

By Robert G

Jun 14, 2017

Rather dry delivery of material. Teacher knows the material, just do not get enthusiastic. Will unenroll during first week sadly.

By LYNDA S

Aug 5, 2020

I had hoped for a bit more on culture. Course was more like a list of Greek leaders and battles.

By alvaro j B

Jan 12, 2016

Lamentablemente, el audio no permite disfrutar de los vídeos apropiadamente. El material es más bien mediocre, muy descriptivo y extremadamente selectivo.

By Joutishman D

May 14, 2020

Too technical and filled with more words etc rather then application based questions.

Didnt enjoy the course

By Parker

Nov 30, 2015

Poor visual aids, course content and format.

By gordon_PK@hotmail.com

Dec 30, 2015

the tests are difficult.

By Silke S

Jul 11, 2020

Too complex