Chevron Left
Back to The Ancient Greeks

Learner Reviews & Feedback for The Ancient Greeks by Wesleyan University

4.7
stars
1,482 ratings
399 reviews

About the Course

This is a survey of ancient Greek history from the Bronze Age to the death of Socrates in 399 BCE. Along with studying the most important events and personalities, we will consider broader issues such as political and cultural values and methods of historical interpretation....

Top reviews

AS

Apr 23, 2018

This has been an enthralling course which introduces you to the world of the Ancient Greek. Thank you Prof. Andrew Szegedy-Maszak, and all the course creators and mentors, for this excellent course.

MH

Sep 04, 2015

Brilliant course. Superbly assembled and presented material. And I love the prof's wry sense of humour!\n\nI've been wanting to learn about this subject for many years. Highly recommended.

Filter by:

101 - 125 of 396 Reviews for The Ancient Greeks

By Konstantinos G

Dec 30, 2019

Taking this course was a fantasic jurney to the past learning about the accomplishments of the ancient Greeks. I would dare say that as a Greek myself it was a unique experience and overall an amazing course.

By Nilufer R

Jan 11, 2016

Outstanding course, delivered measuredly, concisely, and clearly. A wonderful panoramic introduction to the Ancient Greeks. Inspires one to dig deeper. Thank you so much for offering this course on Coursera.

By Disney A M

Jul 10, 2020

An amazing and interesting course, the a complete structure of the history of this civilization, is developed, grow up and it's fell. Without a word about the professor, he´s so cool about all the course.

By Linda N

Oct 14, 2019

Fabulous course ! stimulating and challenging in equal measure - perfect base to continue personal study in this area. A seven week course simply cannot do justice to this material - keep on learning!!!.

By Nadine A

Dec 31, 2015

This course was simply fantastic ! I was captivated. Pr. Szegedy-Maszak is such a great teacher. He makes you really live and love the subject. I'm looking forward for new courses. Thank you very much.

By Francisco S C C

Apr 06, 2020

This course really helped me to understand one of the empires which fascinated me the most and its influence on today's society. Thank you very much for this thought-out and well-presented course

By FELIPE M

Jul 20, 2017

Great course. I had a lot of fun and learned a lot. The fact that there were liks with assigned readings was really educational. Thank a lot to Coursera and to Professor Andrew Szegedy-Mazak.

By Marina P O

Nov 10, 2016

Me surpreendi muito com a qualidade do curso que deve-se, aliás, ao excelente professor Andrew Szegedy-Maszak.

Recomendo a todos os interessados em aprender mais sobre a Grécia Antiga.

By Robert B

Aug 25, 2015

Excellent course. Professor's Andy's calm and careful delivery is precise, scholarly and entertaining. I particularly enjoyed the readings, which I urge other students not to skip.

By Felipe d A S

Apr 16, 2017

Very good. The readings indicated helped to expand my knowledge of Ancient Greece. Every undergraduate student in History, Philosophy, Archeology etc, must take this course.

By Michael S

Oct 01, 2015

I thoroughly enjoyed this course. The lectures were easy to follow and the additional reading material fit to the lectures. I would subscribe to a follow-up course any time!

By Nuria M P

Sep 15, 2017

Extraordinario curso, fácil de seguir aún siendo en inglés por la traducción de los vídeos y el nivel de inglés en las preguntar tipo test finales. Altamente recomendable.

By Tallulah G

Aug 01, 2020

A brilliant course that takes you through a section of Greek history and gives an overview of areas of Greek culture and society. Very interesting, and taught very well.

By Luís M P G

Sep 28, 2016

Excellent course. It has a perfect rhythm and the teacher has a good pronunciation which it is a important detail for no native english like me. I recommend strongly.

By Marcílio M M

Aug 13, 2020

A very interesting course, covers much about the subject and suggests many sources of additional readings. The instructor is very good and really keeps the interest.

By Evan S

Jul 29, 2020

Excellent course! The lectures were well-paced, thought-provoking, and really expanded my knowledge of ancient Greek civilization and its impact on the modern world.

By David E H G

Aug 25, 2017

muy bueno, el inicio, no manejo el ingles a la perfeccion , me gustaria q las preguntas finales despues de los videos deben contener en el idioma del participante

By Charles A

Sep 23, 2015

A Great course. very Informative I recommend it to all who want to learn a lot about the ancient Greeks their culture,history and contributions to today's society.

By A.Dhanush k

May 16, 2020

I am really happy to learn learn and finish this course under Prof. Andrew Szegedy-Maszak, and I thank him and Wesleyan University for this wonderful course.

By Dilyana

May 18, 2016

Inspiring instructor. A lot of clarity in the lectures and some really interesting facts and stories. This course is almost like watching a great movie.

By Jesus R J B

Jun 04, 2020

Muchas gracias por el curso, fue increible, maravilloso, magnifico y me gustaría seguir aprendiendo de diferentes culturas como Roma o Alejandro Magno

By Andrés F G B

Mar 20, 2017

Muy buen curso, cada detalle de la civilización griega fue enseñada de forma clara, logrando entender mucho mas a los antiguos griegos. Muchas gracias

By Ana C d S

Jan 30, 2017

Muito interessante o recorte do curso. Apresenta a cultura grega antiga de maneira dinâmica e ajuda a complementar minha formação (Letras clássicas).

By Kiran M M

Jun 27, 2020

Thank you Wesleyan University and Andrew Szegedy-Maszak for such a wonderful course. I absolutely loved it. Expecting similar courses in the future.

By Abbie M

Apr 18, 2020

A fantastic look at the Ancient culture of Greece and the changes though out some of its ancient years. Thank you I have enjoyed every minute of it.