Chevron Left
Back to Build Your First Android App (Project-Centered Course)

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Build Your First Android App (Project-Centered Course) by CentraleSupélec

4.2
stars
1,927 ratings
609 reviews

About the Course

What you’ll achieve: In this project-centered course*, you’ll design, build, and distribute your own unique application for the Android mobile platform. We’ll provide you with a set of customizable building blocks that you can assemble to create many different types of apps, and that will help you become familiar with many important specificities of Android development. When you complete the project, in addition to having a personalized app that you can use and share, you’ll have the skills and background you need to move on to more advanced coursework in Android development. What you’ll need to get started: This project-centered course is designed for learners who have some prior experience programming in Java, such as an introductory college course or Coursera’s Java Programming Specialization (https://www.coursera.org/specializations/java-programming). You will need a computer with a stable Internet connection, but you will not need an Android phone - we’ll use free software that you can use to emulate a phone on your computer. We'll use Android Studio as IDE; it is compatible with most computer and operating systems. You can find detailed system requirements here: https://developer.android.com/sdk/index.html#Requirements. *About Project-Centered Courses: Project-centered courses are designed to help you complete a personally meaningful real-world project, with your instructor and a community of learners with similar goals providing guidance and suggestions along the way. By actively applying new concepts as you learn, you’ll master the course content more efficiently; you’ll also get a head start on using the skills you gain to make positive changes in your life and career. When you complete the course, you’ll have a finished project that you’ll be proud to use and share. Time: 10 hours of study, 10 hours of active project work...

Top reviews

TY
Jul 31, 2017

Very useful course! Answers all my questions, helps a lot to understand the whole process of mobile development! THANK YOU for the opportunity to gain valuable skills in such an easy way of study!

RB
Apr 18, 2016

I very much enjoyed this course. It gave a great introduction to Android programming for those who don't know any android programming to start with. I recommend this course as a place to start.

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 613 Reviews for Build Your First Android App (Project-Centered Course)

By peddisetti s k

May 14, 2020

it is the best course beginners who are interested in app development.

By Kumar R

May 8, 2020

Excellent tutorial to get started with Android App development

I found the tutorial interesting and in plain English. The chapters have been well organized and takes you from simple Hello world App upto sending an SMS App.

The latest Android studio is completely different compared to ther version used by the Instructors. So a short vidoeo on the Old Vs New studio would do a lot of good for the beginners.

Instructors could have also included a chapter on simple Android debugging as this is one of the important skills required for App development.

By Divya K

Sep 27, 2020

I was satisfied with the course but as the course is regarding the app development, I would suggest you kindly update your course because it's too old we are currently working with Android Studio 3.6 and your teaching software was very old in comparison to the latest otherwise the course was good.

By Praveen K

Jun 13, 2021

The course was excellent in terms of content, delivery style and structure. Really liked the teaching style of Virginia ma'am. Only one thing I would suggest as an improvement - 1. The Peer review of the graded assignment should be changed to instructor graded. As I had seen large number of students are just uploading empty solutions in order to just get the certificate. There is a cartelling going on to give good marks without merit.

2. Please also grade the quizzes of week 1, 2 and 3 so that the quiz grading reaches to 50% of total score.

By K N K

Aug 7, 2018

It was a very useful course especially for beginners who are interested in android development and don't know how to start. Basic blocks are clearly mentioned. But one problem is that, the android studio is outdated and initially some errors can be encountered which are not explained. Instant replies from the instructors are not available. But the errors can be resolved by our own which in my case I did and I learnt from it. Basic blocks building is very useful. Overall I am happy taking this course.

By Prateek n r

Jun 25, 2018

The course got me interested in android apps development. The course lets you get you create your application quite quickly and even if you know basic java only and have seen java swing at work. you will be able to understand all of the course lessons. Overall it was a great experience learning from this course. I hope they would have added more projects but it is still enough to get you started. BEST THING about the study material was how concise it was. Absolutely loved it.

By Naman C

Jul 20, 2020

The course was awesome and very proficient to understand. I am so happy that I took this course and now I can proudly say that I can also create android applications. The instructor also did a very good job in explaining the course topics and gave a full hands on experience along with theoretical concepts of Android Application Development.

Thanks a lot Coursera for providing such a course to us students.

By Umair A

Sep 14, 2020

It is a great course for beginners and gives lot of learning on how to kick-start with Android based Mobile Application Development. I am grateful to the instructors for their detailed and well explained presentations which greatly helped me in quickly grasping the concepts and move forward to the next phases. Thoroughly enjoyed it! Thank you Coursera!

By Muskan J

Jun 17, 2020

Amazing experience it was. I really enjoyed learning with coursera . Thanks Coursera , it was my first time and i,m love with you. But please try to make your certificate more elaborate like I made an android app with good scored in all assignment , but there is no grade and project name nothing mentioned in certificate .

By Baby C

Nov 23, 2017

it was amazing time working and studying in addition to my job, and the bad situation with a few hours of electricity in my country Syria, thank you all my friends to give me this chance, i will promise you, i will teach all people need learning android for free as you do for me, all love and respect from me as Syrian.

By Michelle L

Jun 11, 2020

I started out this course with no knowledge on how to build my first android application, but at the end of the course, I am now able to build the most basics of mobile android applications. And with further practice, I will hopefully be able to utilize the skills I learned today for a better output in what's to come.

By Yaroslava K

May 8, 2018

An excellent course! Everything is explained very good and can be understood easily. This course suits good for the very beginners, who don't even know what project he or she wants to develop. Besides, if you already have an idea for your app, the course will serve a good start point for you as well.

By Datta _

Jun 19, 2020

Great Experience and feeling so good as I've learnt how to develop apps and I'm so much interested in learning Android application development using Android Studio and this course by Centralesupélec Institute provided me an opportunity to learn such a course. I'd like to thank them for this.

By Romzy M M

Apr 23, 2020

This course is really accelerate my android programming skill. I thought I'm pretty late joining android programming world and this course is giving me a good foundation to learning further. Thank you CentraleSupélec for the great course and Coursera to make this happen.

By Jayesh B

Sep 14, 2020

Best course to get started with Android Development if you have the basic knowledge of Java Programming, The overall course is great, The assignments and quizzes are very helpful. Definitely recommended for the peoples who wants to learn android development using Java.

By Kim S C

Jun 27, 2020

It was fun to learn regardless of me not knowing how to use android studio at all. The only problem was that the video android studio and latest versions were different therefore I wish that the videos could be updated>

By Luis I H

Jan 26, 2018

Great course to get hands on the very basics of Android. I'd love to see more building blocks like using the camera or using a bit of more complex concepts such as broadcast receivers and services. Anyways great job!

By Saqib H

Oct 7, 2020

Very good course to learn making basic apps in Java. Recommendation for all the beginners. The instructor teaches some good hand on experience app that can be remade and then later on source code is also provided.

By Nikkolai O

May 3, 2020

I really enjoyed this course, I learnt a lot! It was presented in a nice way which leaves a lot of room for self study and research. It was a very rewarding experience, and would definitely recommend this course

By PALASH S S

Aug 22, 2021

Course worth completing, if you are planning to kickstart your journey with android dev. then give this course a try as the course helped me to understand the basics involved and I'm sure it will help you too.

By Saulat A G

Mar 22, 2020

It was great course. and I have made too many apps after learning this course. Now I can make Weather App, Web Apps, Database Apps. They make my basics very strong that I can work on any type of Application.

By JEYKISHAN S

Jul 31, 2021

Excellent course that introduces students to android app development through practical and comprehensive topics. Allowed me to build my first app and launch on Google Play Store.

By Shabbir A

Oct 30, 2020

If you are thinking about to learn some basics of android apps development and want some practical experience , this course is for you. It really improve your practical skills.

By Subha P

Nov 16, 2020

I cant thank enough for providing the course. Its beginner friendly and simply amazing. I have created 9 projects just bcz I got inspired from this course. Thanks a ton!

By MD A R A

Jun 12, 2020

The course was excellent. I have learnt coding for Android Mobile using Android Studio. The course helped me to understad the development process gradually and clearly.