Chevron Left
Back to Build Your First Android App (Project-Centered Course)

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Build Your First Android App (Project-Centered Course) by CentraleSupélec

4.2
stars
1,874 ratings
595 reviews

About the Course

What you’ll achieve: In this project-centered course*, you’ll design, build, and distribute your own unique application for the Android mobile platform. We’ll provide you with a set of customizable building blocks that you can assemble to create many different types of apps, and that will help you become familiar with many important specificities of Android development. When you complete the project, in addition to having a personalized app that you can use and share, you’ll have the skills and background you need to move on to more advanced coursework in Android development. What you’ll need to get started: This project-centered course is designed for learners who have some prior experience programming in Java, such as an introductory college course or Coursera’s Java Programming Specialization (https://www.coursera.org/specializations/java-programming). You will need a computer with a stable Internet connection, but you will not need an Android phone - we’ll use free software that you can use to emulate a phone on your computer. We'll use Android Studio as IDE; it is compatible with most computer and operating systems. You can find detailed system requirements here: https://developer.android.com/sdk/index.html#Requirements. *About Project-Centered Courses: Project-centered courses are designed to help you complete a personally meaningful real-world project, with your instructor and a community of learners with similar goals providing guidance and suggestions along the way. By actively applying new concepts as you learn, you’ll master the course content more efficiently; you’ll also get a head start on using the skills you gain to make positive changes in your life and career. When you complete the course, you’ll have a finished project that you’ll be proud to use and share. Time: 10 hours of study, 10 hours of active project work...

Top reviews

TY
Jul 31, 2017

Very useful course! Answers all my questions, helps a lot to understand the whole process of mobile development! THANK YOU for the opportunity to gain valuable skills in such an easy way of study!

RB
Apr 18, 2016

I very much enjoyed this course. It gave a great introduction to Android programming for those who don't know any android programming to start with. I recommend this course as a place to start.

Filter by:

551 - 575 of 595 Reviews for Build Your First Android App (Project-Centered Course)

By Sarah A L

Jul 9, 2017

I found this course to be extremely confusing for a beginner in the field. There was no guidance, and peer help was confusing.

I am disappointed and suggest that if you enroll that you have a good working knowledge of basic java and android programming before attempting this course because you will be on your own.

By Pratik J

Jun 6, 2021

This course is outdated and none of the features are available in the newer version of Android studio. Either update the Course or please remove this course. And also there is a lot of difficulty in understanding the English accent of these people.

By Japloe S

Apr 3, 2016

The free version of the course is far more restricted than other courses I've taken, the content wasn't brilliant, and it wasn't really more advanced than other tutorials with far better presenters which can be found online for free

By Sanyam R

May 3, 2020

The how was teaching has a terrible voice I suggest not to go through this course and waste your time.

You will not be able to understand what the male teacher has terrible voice sorry but that's my review and feedback.

By Tejas B

Jun 6, 2021

The version of software being used is outdated and the accent of the instructor is really hard to understand. This makes learning very frustrating. Since the version is outdated, following along is very difficult.

By Jack H

May 13, 2020

Out of date with no instructor support. Discussion forums are all posts asking for peer graders. Did not learn anything. Much better learning resources for android development provided for free by Google codelabs.

By Ali I K

Dec 16, 2020

I will give up. The projects are based on a very old version of Android Studio (1.5), so many functions are no more available in the new version (4.1.1). I spent a lot of time to work on the compatibility....

By Daniel C

Jan 30, 2020

I had a lot of errors - the submission of thoughts and first quiz did not work on my computer so after trying in both firefox and chrome I am giving up. Will try different course. The lessons were decent.

By Muhammad S

May 1, 2020

The course is very old and there are quite changes in android studio's newest version and the one being used in the course. Also, the style of teaching of the professor didn't suited me atleast.

By David L

Dec 9, 2020

It's an old course with the old android studio. I'm here trying to figure out how to use android studio lastest version. I wish they would have updated it. What a waste of time this class.

By Kate D

Apr 18, 2020

Far too little advice on how to do what they have been discussed in the course.Videos should be updated, the programs shown in them are old versions, and the instructions no longer work.

By Mirza S A

May 16, 2020

Very difficult to understand the accent of the instructors and the course does not teach the basics of android programming and directly uses techniques not known to the student

By Susmita C

Jan 13, 2021

The quiz is very bad. first they say its correct than its incorrect the next time . so what to do? inspite of giving correct answers its showing incorrect . its demotivating .

By JOHN R

Dec 9, 2019

Can not understand the instructor. The video is not clear . Course needs to be updated .Can not follow along and try to understand the instructor.

By Sebastiano T

Jun 8, 2016

Poor material, terrible french accent, not a good Android course at all.

I don't raccoment it unless you're a total novice at Android development.

By Akhrorbek A

Oct 5, 2017

how the hell can I learn building an app for android in this tutorial? it is full of beating-around-the-bush

By Koustav

May 21, 2021

Totally outdated course, UI of Android Studio is totally different, of no use in 2021 or later.

By Irfan A M

Jun 8, 2021

I​t is just waste of time. I made a big mistake by enrolling for this course.

N​EVER ENROLL.

By MUHAMMAD A H S

Oct 25, 2018

No very useful. Accent is non-native speaker of English. This course is just waste of time.

By John W

Mar 30, 2016

I thought it was free. I might was well go to Google to learn Android development.

By Atiksh C

May 25, 2020

The accent of the instructor wasn't clear and made the course unbearable to learn.

By Deleted A

Sep 4, 2020

not so good.

mostly faded up with the readings more than the visuals and audibles.

By diksha j

Jul 14, 2020

My doubts are not getting cleared. I am very unhappy from this course.

By Damanpreet S

Jul 4, 2018

Very Bad. Didn't expected courses of such low quality on this website.

By Dorjan H

Mar 15, 2016

not exciting, instructor too stiff and looked like reading a paper