Chevron Left
Back to Build Your First Android App (Project-Centered Course)

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Build Your First Android App (Project-Centered Course) by CentraleSupélec

4.2
stars
1,919 ratings
607 reviews

About the Course

What you’ll achieve: In this project-centered course*, you’ll design, build, and distribute your own unique application for the Android mobile platform. We’ll provide you with a set of customizable building blocks that you can assemble to create many different types of apps, and that will help you become familiar with many important specificities of Android development. When you complete the project, in addition to having a personalized app that you can use and share, you’ll have the skills and background you need to move on to more advanced coursework in Android development. What you’ll need to get started: This project-centered course is designed for learners who have some prior experience programming in Java, such as an introductory college course or Coursera’s Java Programming Specialization (https://www.coursera.org/specializations/java-programming). You will need a computer with a stable Internet connection, but you will not need an Android phone - we’ll use free software that you can use to emulate a phone on your computer. We'll use Android Studio as IDE; it is compatible with most computer and operating systems. You can find detailed system requirements here: https://developer.android.com/sdk/index.html#Requirements. *About Project-Centered Courses: Project-centered courses are designed to help you complete a personally meaningful real-world project, with your instructor and a community of learners with similar goals providing guidance and suggestions along the way. By actively applying new concepts as you learn, you’ll master the course content more efficiently; you’ll also get a head start on using the skills you gain to make positive changes in your life and career. When you complete the course, you’ll have a finished project that you’ll be proud to use and share. Time: 10 hours of study, 10 hours of active project work...

Top reviews

TY
Jul 31, 2017

Very useful course! Answers all my questions, helps a lot to understand the whole process of mobile development! THANK YOU for the opportunity to gain valuable skills in such an easy way of study!

RB
Apr 18, 2016

I very much enjoyed this course. It gave a great introduction to Android programming for those who don't know any android programming to start with. I recommend this course as a place to start.

Filter by:

376 - 400 of 612 Reviews for Build Your First Android App (Project-Centered Course)

By Eleazar

Sep 18, 2017

I've liked almost everything I've seen so far, but I have only done the 1st week, except for the submission of the design of my first app. I found it very useful, so I will enroll for the next time this course opens.

By Atul Y

May 31, 2020

The course is great, instructions are very clear, some commands changes in new updates of Android Studio so that makes instructions confusing, but there isn't anything which can't be solved by googling it.

By Pushp J

Aug 20, 2020

This course is exceptionally well. This is more friendly just because it is project centered and this makes it more interactive to learn. Thanking to mam too who makes that course more interactive.

By Deepak K

Jun 17, 2020

It was a good course to start learning Android. I have learned many new things through this course period. But I think a little update to course content would be beneficial for new students.

By Shyama M

May 10, 2018

I feel the videos needs to be updated - using the latest version of android studio.A session on how to add videos to the app I feel needs to be added.

Very well explained and demonstrated.

By MANAN J S

Apr 27, 2020

Please update the course using latest version of android studio and other latest features.Overall course was good and it was good start for beginners in field of android app development.

By Krishna C k

Oct 27, 2016

its a great course and i learned a lot during this course process and finally created a basic android app .I thought that there should be a tutorial of shared preferences in this course

By Abrar F

May 13, 2020

You should update the course codes. Many coding techniques are replaced or deprecated on latest android studio versions.Also create a button for reporting an assignment or a review.

By Farshid A

Jun 22, 2020

It was a good course overall, Dr. Virginie Galtier is great instructor and she tries to explain the lessons very well , however I had a hard time to understand Michel Ianotto.

By Antriksh M

Jul 20, 2017

it was a wonderful experience , this course will permanently connect with the basics of app development, if you are new to android then this is the course you should do first.

By Smithashree R

Sep 17, 2020

Teaching is good but at the end of the course, the last consolidated quiz is locked, which is quite disappointing and every time asking to upgrade to the certification.

By AYAN D

May 20, 2020

Beginner friendly and Easy to Learn course.The instructors code projects from scratch,which is always a positive.The forum is very helpful(in case you have any doubt).

By Melchior i D

May 5, 2019

could not run all examples, perhaps my Android Studio had a newer Version and my Notbook had trouble with the support of test phones.

The exxplanations were very good.

By Edwin L

Jul 15, 2017

Great Course to know basics of making an android app.

But Limitation is that it lack database implementation which is much needed to make a bit complex apps

By Sai V

Nov 13, 2018

Would have rated better if the course was updated with the usage of latest versions of android studio. Anyways the course was fetched me a lot of skills.

By Shafat A

May 10, 2020

This course is good but it should add some more fundamentals of app development and upgrade their teaching system. Overall its good.

By Kartik J

Jun 25, 2020

Course is very good with great explanation but the videos are much old . Please update the content with new videos and concepts.

By Zin S W

Jul 19, 2021

The course is good for beginner who have basic knowledge of programming language and would like to study android development.

By Vishakha A

Apr 19, 2020

This course is amazing. I will suggest to all you should take this if you want to lean Android App.

Thank you for this course.

By Bradley M

Jul 8, 2016

I still do not know how to put the application that I created to my phone or make it available to other phones to download.

By Efendi B

Jun 27, 2016

this course was good for every begginner who has no basic understanding about android.. it help me alot to learn the basic

By Damian A M

Jan 23, 2020

Es un buen curso, la metodología de enseñanza y la dificultad de las evaluaciones son acordes al nivel de enseñanza.

By Zhen Y L

Jul 6, 2020

Thanks for the nice info sharing but because it is a dated course, it took me some time to tweak to latest format.

By Henk K

May 8, 2017

Good course to built an app for the first time. Requires some Java knowledge but everything is well explained.

By C K

Sep 22, 2020

It was a nice course but I have a just one suggestion that speed of teaching by tutor should be little less.