Chevron Left
Back to Build Your First Android App (Project-Centered Course)

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Build Your First Android App (Project-Centered Course) by CentraleSupélec

4.2
stars
1,919 ratings
607 reviews

About the Course

What you’ll achieve: In this project-centered course*, you’ll design, build, and distribute your own unique application for the Android mobile platform. We’ll provide you with a set of customizable building blocks that you can assemble to create many different types of apps, and that will help you become familiar with many important specificities of Android development. When you complete the project, in addition to having a personalized app that you can use and share, you’ll have the skills and background you need to move on to more advanced coursework in Android development. What you’ll need to get started: This project-centered course is designed for learners who have some prior experience programming in Java, such as an introductory college course or Coursera’s Java Programming Specialization (https://www.coursera.org/specializations/java-programming). You will need a computer with a stable Internet connection, but you will not need an Android phone - we’ll use free software that you can use to emulate a phone on your computer. We'll use Android Studio as IDE; it is compatible with most computer and operating systems. You can find detailed system requirements here: https://developer.android.com/sdk/index.html#Requirements. *About Project-Centered Courses: Project-centered courses are designed to help you complete a personally meaningful real-world project, with your instructor and a community of learners with similar goals providing guidance and suggestions along the way. By actively applying new concepts as you learn, you’ll master the course content more efficiently; you’ll also get a head start on using the skills you gain to make positive changes in your life and career. When you complete the course, you’ll have a finished project that you’ll be proud to use and share. Time: 10 hours of study, 10 hours of active project work...

Top reviews

TY
Jul 31, 2017

Very useful course! Answers all my questions, helps a lot to understand the whole process of mobile development! THANK YOU for the opportunity to gain valuable skills in such an easy way of study!

RB
Apr 18, 2016

I very much enjoyed this course. It gave a great introduction to Android programming for those who don't know any android programming to start with. I recommend this course as a place to start.

Filter by:

476 - 500 of 611 Reviews for Build Your First Android App (Project-Centered Course)

By Neha

Jul 22, 2021

amazing

By Hemanth K R

Sep 9, 2020

Helpful

By Carlos A C d S

Mar 23, 2016

Good !

By Kriti K

Jun 8, 2020

Great

By José C

Mar 16, 2016

Buena

By Yash V

Aug 23, 2020

good

By Tejal D

Jun 21, 2020

good

By Koustav M

Jun 18, 2020

Good

By Atul A

May 3, 2018

Good

By sitesh m

Dec 6, 2016

nice

By Utku K

Mar 15, 2016

Good

By chetan s

Jul 31, 2020

ok

By Aya A H A E

Sep 13, 2020

.

By Mario M

May 10, 2021

This course is fairly easy to follow as it is more a hands-on workshop than a typical course. It provides a nice introduction to Android programming, however: it is way too outdated and sometimes it is a bit tricky to code the sample apps using the modern API.

On the other hand, if you're auditing the course, bear in mind you won't be able to get the last quiz graded (nor your application).

Not bad, but surely there will be better (or at least more up-to-date) options out there.

By Johannes H

Apr 14, 2020

Good course, but it should really get an update. The recordings are done with Android studio 1.5 and this means year 2015. Sorry but i can not give more than 3 stars for that in a field that changes so fast. Although most of the things still work as described. If the course would be up to date including some of the more modern features it would be 4 stars.

By Sai P G

Jul 10, 2020

To be frank I have a bad experience here. I expected a lot from this course but it is not upto the mark. Please update your Android Studio to 2020 version it is really very hard new learners to find old version and install. Suggest learners to choose Java language over Krotlein. Overall it is a bad course i is good for Beginners.

Thank You:)

By Swathi R

Nov 24, 2020

There should not be an expiry date for a paid course. You are ripping off student money. I paid twice just to earn my certificate. At least send email reminders that the subscription will expire before locking the course.

However, this course was well structured and well taught by CentraleSupelec

By Aditya M

May 2, 2020

The course is frankly quite outdated. I like the approach of peer graded assignment but I would also appreciate that the mentors too review the applications. As this is a project-oriented course I would highly recommend any novice to finish this course with full dedication.

By Kanishk K

May 5, 2020

The course is outdated as most of the code doesn't work in modern android studio. The interface of the app is also not same as shown in studio. The course provider should update the course as per the modern requirement.

By Ashwin T

Jun 29, 2021

I really do appreciate the course and its simply great step up for me as a beginner, but i really would like to point out that the accent was really a bit hard to break down for me. But the subtitles really helped out.

By Emad A

May 13, 2016

There are courses that offer better level of details and better course materials and presentation .. and also for free ..

However this course is a best-effort course and is helpful for beginners.

By David R

Aug 3, 2020

Very good for the very basic capabilities on Android for someone who has some basic knowledge of programming. However, the project is currently dated and should be updated.

By Mike M

Oct 26, 2020

Hard to understand the instructors, the Android Studio Version they were using to guided is not an up-to-date version, making it very difficult to follow, in my opinion

By Aryan

Sep 13, 2020

The course gives you a good head start for what is android and how are android apps built. Seems to be a bit less dynamic but overall it's a good course.

By Mani A

Mar 13, 2016

This could be improved by adding more interesting subjects :

- how to use list adapters with list view

- how to use menus

- how to use scrolling view

- etc