Chevron Left
Back to Build Your First Android App (Project-Centered Course)

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Build Your First Android App (Project-Centered Course) by CentraleSupélec

4.2
stars
1,874 ratings
595 reviews

About the Course

What you’ll achieve: In this project-centered course*, you’ll design, build, and distribute your own unique application for the Android mobile platform. We’ll provide you with a set of customizable building blocks that you can assemble to create many different types of apps, and that will help you become familiar with many important specificities of Android development. When you complete the project, in addition to having a personalized app that you can use and share, you’ll have the skills and background you need to move on to more advanced coursework in Android development. What you’ll need to get started: This project-centered course is designed for learners who have some prior experience programming in Java, such as an introductory college course or Coursera’s Java Programming Specialization (https://www.coursera.org/specializations/java-programming). You will need a computer with a stable Internet connection, but you will not need an Android phone - we’ll use free software that you can use to emulate a phone on your computer. We'll use Android Studio as IDE; it is compatible with most computer and operating systems. You can find detailed system requirements here: https://developer.android.com/sdk/index.html#Requirements. *About Project-Centered Courses: Project-centered courses are designed to help you complete a personally meaningful real-world project, with your instructor and a community of learners with similar goals providing guidance and suggestions along the way. By actively applying new concepts as you learn, you’ll master the course content more efficiently; you’ll also get a head start on using the skills you gain to make positive changes in your life and career. When you complete the course, you’ll have a finished project that you’ll be proud to use and share. Time: 10 hours of study, 10 hours of active project work...

Top reviews

TY
Jul 31, 2017

Very useful course! Answers all my questions, helps a lot to understand the whole process of mobile development! THANK YOU for the opportunity to gain valuable skills in such an easy way of study!

RB
Apr 18, 2016

I very much enjoyed this course. It gave a great introduction to Android programming for those who don't know any android programming to start with. I recommend this course as a place to start.

Filter by:

351 - 375 of 596 Reviews for Build Your First Android App (Project-Centered Course)

By Tony O

Jun 13, 2016

I think it's a great tester course with very good Blocks of code, and these blocks of code are not seen until week 4 and 5. Week 3 was a hands on km to miles, and miles to km app, good hands on. I explored the course, so I'd not do any of the exercises, but did the final assignment from what I suggested I will create in week two. I created a great app, but wasn't able to share it, so i'll put it on github.

By Amit B

Jun 14, 2021

Very well packaged course, which requires few updates to keep in steps with the latest versions of Android Studio, viz., various widgets, etc., The queries raised on the discussion forum also warrants a prompt response. You could consider inclusion of an introductory lecture on the Android Studio Package itself and explain various features available therein, as part of first week's course.

By Abhishek S M

Jun 3, 2020

It is a great beginner course to become familiar with Android Studio. The flow and content are excellent and easy to understand. It requires a basic knowledge of programming (any language, if not java) so that you can relate it with java language. The course has a great hands-on experience. At the end of the course, you will feel confident enough in making your app. Go for it!

By AARYAN V

Apr 19, 2020

The instructors explained every code and its how it works, which helped me to build an app using those commands that was slightly different than their examples. Also, there were adequate reading materials. The area with a room of improvement would be the discussion forum, I did not receive feedback on my queries, although I was able to solve them later myself.

By Tania H

Jun 24, 2016

Took the free version of this course to learn some basic building blocks of Android app dev and to dive back into programming, already having Java knowledge from long ago. For my purposes it was a good intro. For a totally new coder this might not be best as there isn't deep explanation of the code itself. But for the rest, it allows you to quickly dive in.

By Sanskar A

Nov 2, 2020

The course could use an update. Android 11 is here, and a lot of things have changed. For example, nobody uses RelativeLayout anymore. It's either LinearLayout or ConstraintLayout (which is so much better than RelativeLayout once you understand it). UI and code with newer API levels would surely attract more learners.

By Sameer R

Apr 17, 2020

All the 9 Blocks are explained very well but I was expecting that after all 9 Blocks there must be a lecture where I get to see an android app development using all concepts taught in the past. Rest it was a nice course helped to learn something new and Thank you for this wonderful teaching-learning experience.

By ANKIT K S

May 25, 2020

Good for learning basics. As a beginner i found it useful, but the android studio used in the tutorials was outdated so it was difficult and frustrating to understand the tools and designs and their proper use. Although it was good, but requires an updated version of android studio.

By Sheena T

Jun 14, 2020

The software used in the video teachings are relatively outdated, which makes it slightly difficult for learners to find the replacement features or if the features is still available. Overall, the course have delivered what I wanted to achieve at the end - creating an app !

By anushree b

Jun 26, 2020

Overall course was good to learn basic android programming. I enjoyed this course very much because it is well demonstrated. Demos were clearly explained. Before taking course, i felt i would never learn android coding but after course i'm really confident over myself.

By POORVA

Oct 23, 2020

Its a nice course that helps you to develop new skills related to Android development , and something which give weightage to your cv , profile. so a person who have keen intrest in Androids and wanna build his career in this field ,he/she must go for it.

By Patrick Z

Jul 7, 2020

It was a good course to get started on the basics of Android app design and development. The only problem is that the lecture videos use an outdated version of Android Studio. It would be better if the videos were updated to follow the current version.

By Edward G

Oct 13, 2020

The Course was really helpful to get me started with Android although the Android Studio version that is used is a bit old, I suppose, and it does not represent the exact same thing in the new version (including automatic alignment/contraint)

By Eleazar

Sep 18, 2017

I've liked almost everything I've seen so far, but I have only done the 1st week, except for the submission of the design of my first app. I found it very useful, so I will enroll for the next time this course opens.

By Atul Y

May 31, 2020

The course is great, instructions are very clear, some commands changes in new updates of Android Studio so that makes instructions confusing, but there isn't anything which can't be solved by googling it.

By Pushp J

Aug 20, 2020

This course is exceptionally well. This is more friendly just because it is project centered and this makes it more interactive to learn. Thanking to mam too who makes that course more interactive.

By Deepak K

Jun 17, 2020

It was a good course to start learning Android. I have learned many new things through this course period. But I think a little update to course content would be beneficial for new students.

By Shyama M

May 10, 2018

I feel the videos needs to be updated - using the latest version of android studio.A session on how to add videos to the app I feel needs to be added.

Very well explained and demonstrated.

By MANAN J S

Apr 27, 2020

Please update the course using latest version of android studio and other latest features.Overall course was good and it was good start for beginners in field of android app development.

By Krishna C k

Oct 27, 2016

its a great course and i learned a lot during this course process and finally created a basic android app .I thought that there should be a tutorial of shared preferences in this course

By Abrar F

May 13, 2020

You should update the course codes. Many coding techniques are replaced or deprecated on latest android studio versions.Also create a button for reporting an assignment or a review.

By Farshid A

Jun 22, 2020

It was a good course overall, Dr. Virginie Galtier is great instructor and she tries to explain the lessons very well , however I had a hard time to understand Michel Ianotto.

By Antriksh M

Jul 20, 2017

it was a wonderful experience , this course will permanently connect with the basics of app development, if you are new to android then this is the course you should do first.

By Smithashree R

Sep 17, 2020

Teaching is good but at the end of the course, the last consolidated quiz is locked, which is quite disappointing and every time asking to upgrade to the certification.

By AYAN D

May 20, 2020

Beginner friendly and Easy to Learn course.The instructors code projects from scratch,which is always a positive.The forum is very helpful(in case you have any doubt).