Chevron Left
Back to Android App Components - Services, Local IPC, and Content Providers

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Android App Components - Services, Local IPC, and Content Providers by Vanderbilt University

4.3
221 ratings
46 reviews

About the Course

This 4 week MOOC builds upon the core Android app components and concurrency frameworks covered in Course 2 by focusing on started and bound services, local inter-process communication (IPC), and content providers. Case study apps will be examined from multiple perspectives to learn how to program these app components using Android's material design paradigm. Students will work incrementally on a hands-on project involving a material design-based RSS reader app. Each week you will add additional capabilities to the project, based on material covered in the lecture videos. You'll spend roughly 4 hours per week watching video lectures, taking quizzes, and programming assignments with Java and Android....

Top reviews

AA

Apr 30, 2017

This course was really good for me. I was able to learn the basic theory and working of how services and content providers work in Android. This course helped me alot.

MM

Jul 19, 2017

Assignments were pretty cool. Topics are covered thoroughly and provided links to relevant material and excellent examples.

Filter by:

26 - 45 of 45 Reviews for Android App Components - Services, Local IPC, and Content Providers

By Kiều T K

Jul 06, 2019

It's ok

By Yimmy A E M

Jul 08, 2019

Muy bueno

By Joseph S

Sep 08, 2019

Nice and Clear Course. really Recomended for someone who first touch android development,

By 罗成毅

Sep 05, 2019

thank you!

By AHMED A

Oct 12, 2019

Thank you

By Akhila M

Feb 04, 2019

Content is useful and explination is good details about threads ,services are much explained

By Amit S

Nov 04, 2018

g

o

o

d

By Eduard A

Nov 22, 2017

very helpful

By Aibek S

Jan 23, 2017

Need little change or update. But very good explanation!

By 李昂

Mar 13, 2017

要是有中文字幕就好了

By Margerite B

Jun 29, 2017

Some Modules are very complicated and hard to follow.

By jesus

Mar 18, 2017

Tricky concepts explained in a good and practicle way... But you will have to spend much time by reading and analyzing examples and solving optional exercises... And reviewing past Moocs to extract all date from this mooc.

By Urvashi N D

Apr 22, 2019

it was good n everything was explained properly with example

By Ben v d B

Aug 07, 2019

The lessons are excellent. Unfortunately there is a lack of practical application of what's taught in the lessons. The optional exercises are a start, but aren't optimal. They are better suited to the actual material than the exercises in the previous MOOC though. Especially the lessons on services and ipc were quite good. If this course had better exercise material, it would be top!

By Deuane M

Dec 17, 2018

Shows many options for communicating between services and activities in a way that just overwhelms the student and confuses the various approaches.

By Vinay J

Jun 03, 2017

Quite difficult to understand than other courses.

By Sherif S

May 31, 2017

too much academic and theoretical materials, the instructor is explaining in a very advanced way for beginners, of course i got benefit from it, but i think it should be more easy and understandable

and thanks a lot for your effort, it is really appreciated

best luck

By sushrut

Sep 11, 2017

More compulsory programming assignments needed

By Isabelle D

Aug 28, 2019

Only three stars because of the last week. I do not think that content providers are well explained here.

By Sam H

Jun 26, 2017

There is no evaluation in this class. I prefer classes with programming assignments that are machine unit tested on the server. It's possible to just take a quiz twice, and get 100% without knowing anything.