Chevron Left
Back to Android App Components - Intents, Activities, and Broadcast Receivers

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Android App Components - Intents, Activities, and Broadcast Receivers by Vanderbilt University

4.2
stars
721 ratings
195 reviews

About the Course

This 4 week MOOC builds upon the overview of Java and Android covered in Course 1 by delving deeper into core Android app components, such as intents, activities, and broadcast receivers. You will learn by example how to program these core Android components together with Android concurrency frameworks and basic Java file I/O classes (such as File and InputStream) and Android storage mechanisms (such as Shared Preferences). You'll also learn how to use the Git source code management system. Throughout this MOOC you'll work incrementally on a project involving downloading, storing, and display images from remote websites. Each week you will add additional capabilities to the project, based on material covered in the lecture videos. You'll spend roughly 4 hours per week watching video lectures, taking quizzes, and programming assignments with Java and Android....

Top reviews

AT
Oct 7, 2018

Very good examples, I recomend taking the optional homework if you can. I couldn't take every but you can learn a lot from this course.

CK
Sep 16, 2017

I really appreciate this course, too good to understand the android framework fundamentals and how they work together.\n\nThanks.

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 191 Reviews for Android App Components - Intents, Activities, and Broadcast Receivers

By EngFadyFawzy

Nov 7, 2020

I'll recommend this course for expert in Android, but if you are beginner or even on the intermediate level isn't recommended at all.

By Islam A M

Jun 25, 2017

Inappropriate videos that gives you the feeling of not completing the course at all.

By Matt W

Dec 25, 2016

This course was fantastic. I feel bad for complaining about the delay it had before launching because now I can see it was worth it. The material is up to date and the code adheres to the recommended Android code style from Google's documentation. The material is so much more thorough than other Android learning resources I've tried. Not only do you get good explanations of the example apps, but the lecture videos themselves do a good job of explaining the concepts at a high level before you get into the code. I found that the lecture videos gave me so many "eureka" moments where the whole picture was easier to understand.

My only complaint is that the grading is 100% quizzes. I don't find these particularly engaging, and I prefer completing assignments that must pass unit testing/an autograder etc. I'm still giving 5 stars because this didn't detract from my experience. I'm pretty self-motivated so I just made my own challenges and didn't move on until I was able to code examples of what we learned each week.

This specialization is without a doubt the first thing I'd point someone who expressed interest in learning Android to.

By Jaime F O C

Nov 15, 2016

This course will give you an understanding of how different Android App components interact. You will learn how and when to use the HaMeR and Asynctask frameworks, also, you'll see which patterns they implement. The Official Android Development Guide is a perfect complement for this course if you want to understand some programming details and get in deep.

By Gabrial Z A

Jul 30, 2020

Short and concise course that explains key Android App Components. Concepts covered are very useful and helps understand what is actually going on in and android app from when it starts till when it ends

By Курманалина С А

Oct 9, 2020

This course is a lot more difficult than the first one. I needed to use extra sources to understand everything . Anyway, I like this course a lot

By Armin T

Oct 8, 2018

Very good examples, I recomend taking the optional homework if you can. I couldn't take every but you can learn a lot from this course.

By Gustavo L

Oct 30, 2016

El curso está muy bien estructurado y completo. Me gusta que explican toda la teoría a través de presentaciones y código guiado.

By Utku K

Oct 21, 2016

The course is a very good introductory course. The instructor explains the concepts in detail and with nice and clear examples.

By Abrar A ( N K

Jun 27, 2020

it was quit well, i have learned lot of the material thanks sukkur iba for sponsorship and coursera for this beautifull course

By Chandan K

Sep 17, 2017

I really appreciate this course, too good to understand the android framework fundamentals and how they work together.

Thanks.

By Ali M

May 23, 2020

I liked this course and the technical materials, knowledge, and experience delivered through this course lectures.

By Noor M Z

Apr 29, 2020

This course is delicious If someone want to really gain his knowledge rather than not try to get certificate only

By Jalees M

Jun 12, 2020

This was a good course. It covered the knowledge required to develop a fully functional back-end application

By Mahmoud M F M

Nov 14, 2019

Concepts explained in an easy way. and a lot of case study apps to demonstrate these concepts.

By Tolibov N

Apr 27, 2018

The course covers very necessary themes. I passed the course with pleasure. Thank you.

By Zain u A

Oct 27, 2020

The course was good and it was very fun learning the material provided in the course

By Maria d l A T T

Jul 4, 2019

Excelente ! y espero que me puedan evaluar mi primer Mes curso de la calculadora :c

By Hadi F

Dec 20, 2019

You should have background in programming.

Overall the course content is very good.

By Sam H

Jun 11, 2017

Good course, I am an advanced Android programmer and I still got a lot out of it.

By 罗成毅

Aug 1, 2019

This is what i want to learn, i have to thank you! your guys doing great things!

By Harindu A S

Nov 26, 2019

Best Course for Understand Intents, Activities and other Android Components.

By Serikzhan K

Oct 11, 2017

Great theoretical content and production code for future reference.

By Amit K M

Oct 28, 2020

very wonderful course...excellent videos and study materials

By Sana U ( R Z

Jun 26, 2020

This course is really helpful. I learned many new concepts.