Chevron Left
Back to Android App Components - Intents, Activities, and Broadcast Receivers

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Android App Components - Intents, Activities, and Broadcast Receivers by Vanderbilt University

4.2
stars
721 ratings
195 reviews

About the Course

This 4 week MOOC builds upon the overview of Java and Android covered in Course 1 by delving deeper into core Android app components, such as intents, activities, and broadcast receivers. You will learn by example how to program these core Android components together with Android concurrency frameworks and basic Java file I/O classes (such as File and InputStream) and Android storage mechanisms (such as Shared Preferences). You'll also learn how to use the Git source code management system. Throughout this MOOC you'll work incrementally on a project involving downloading, storing, and display images from remote websites. Each week you will add additional capabilities to the project, based on material covered in the lecture videos. You'll spend roughly 4 hours per week watching video lectures, taking quizzes, and programming assignments with Java and Android....

Top reviews

AT
Oct 7, 2018

Very good examples, I recomend taking the optional homework if you can. I couldn't take every but you can learn a lot from this course.

CK
Sep 16, 2017

I really appreciate this course, too good to understand the android framework fundamentals and how they work together.\n\nThanks.

Filter by:

176 - 191 of 191 Reviews for Android App Components - Intents, Activities, and Broadcast Receivers

By Ilia K

Jul 30, 2021

I would like to get more detailed information about intent, broadcast recievers and activities. I need more code tasks.

By bantobalazs

Aug 19, 2017

The second part of the course was developing overly complicated apps, for downloading imageges.

Disappointed

:(

By Rajatendu D

Dec 16, 2018

Understanding this course was really difficult.Should have used easier techniques to teach students.

By Bavlly m

Jul 7, 2020

i could understand some parts of the sample code and the explanation wasn't good enough

By Jordi G P

Jan 28, 2021

I think it should cover more basic examples before increasing difficulty

By Jay K

Aug 19, 2021

good for learning concept. but the practice projects are just way off.

By ALLADWAR S S

May 2, 2020

the codes provided for practice are a sudden jump in complexity

By Scott W

Jan 31, 2017

Not enough coding opportunities.

By Vasu D S

Jul 3, 2019

Please try to include more code

By Ada_rash

Jul 6, 2020

Not good explanation of codes

By Dhananjay S

Jul 5, 2021

good but not satisfactory

By MOUSSILIOU M F

Aug 25, 2021

excellent cours

By Yulim L

Aug 2, 2020

Very good at explaining and showing the high-level information.

Terrible at showing how to implement at the code level.

Their assignments are thankfully optional, as they are all out of date, filled with typos, and have vague instructions. I suggest reading the Android official guides on activities, intents and their documentation to complete these assignment and get a good idea how to actually do them. Also check out other tutorials for more thorough teaching on the code level information.

By sebastian t

Aug 24, 2020

This is a poorly structured course compared to the awesome first MOOC in this specialization. The first assignment, for example, arrives well before students are equipped to handle it. I would advise not attempting this MOOC until you've gotten a handle on these topics elsewhere first.

By James

May 28, 2020

not a fan

By Phindulo M

May 23, 2020

There is no evaluation in this class. I prefer classes with programming assignments that are machine unit tested on the server. It's possible to just take a quiz twice, and get 100% without knowing anything.