Chevron Left
Back to Android App Components - Intents, Activities, and Broadcast Receivers

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Android App Components - Intents, Activities, and Broadcast Receivers by Vanderbilt University

4.2
stars
687 ratings
185 reviews

About the Course

This 4 week MOOC builds upon the overview of Java and Android covered in Course 1 by delving deeper into core Android app components, such as intents, activities, and broadcast receivers. You will learn by example how to program these core Android components together with Android concurrency frameworks and basic Java file I/O classes (such as File and InputStream) and Android storage mechanisms (such as Shared Preferences). You'll also learn how to use the Git source code management system. Throughout this MOOC you'll work incrementally on a project involving downloading, storing, and display images from remote websites. Each week you will add additional capabilities to the project, based on material covered in the lecture videos. You'll spend roughly 4 hours per week watching video lectures, taking quizzes, and programming assignments with Java and Android....

Top reviews

AT
Oct 7, 2018

Very good examples, I recomend taking the optional homework if you can. I couldn't take every but you can learn a lot from this course.

CK
Sep 16, 2017

I really appreciate this course, too good to understand the android framework fundamentals and how they work together.\n\nThanks.

Filter by:

176 - 181 of 181 Reviews for Android App Components - Intents, Activities, and Broadcast Receivers

By Ada_rash

Jul 6, 2020

Not good explanation of codes

By Gabrielle L

Nov 29, 2020

Sadly, this just wasn't as good as Java for Android Coursera class (also done by Duke University). You spend a lot of time figuring out how to implement the concepts that are introduced. For example, with intents, they mention explicit and implicit and spend a lot of time on implicit as that can be mentally challenging. When you get to the homework part where you are doing explicit intents, you have no idea where to start. I'll be taking the local community college class on this topic so I can actually do this stuff rather than having a manager's overview of what these are for rather than the actually process doing them.

Also, there are several items that are incorporated into the class with no explanation. Perhaps including another introductory module to cover Toasts and Lambda might be useful.

I would really like this to be better. It makes me glad I didn't pay for the whole certification track.

By Yulim L

Aug 2, 2020

Very good at explaining and showing the high-level information.

Terrible at showing how to implement at the code level.

Their assignments are thankfully optional, as they are all out of date, filled with typos, and have vague instructions. I suggest reading the Android official guides on activities, intents and their documentation to complete these assignment and get a good idea how to actually do them. Also check out other tutorials for more thorough teaching on the code level information.

By sebastian t

Aug 24, 2020

This is a poorly structured course compared to the awesome first MOOC in this specialization. The first assignment, for example, arrives well before students are equipped to handle it. I would advise not attempting this MOOC until you've gotten a handle on these topics elsewhere first.

By James

May 28, 2020

not a fan

By Phindulo O M

May 23, 2020

There is no evaluation in this class. I prefer classes with programming assignments that are machine unit tested on the server. It's possible to just take a quiz twice, and get 100% without knowing anything.