Chevron Left
Back to Animal Behaviour and Welfare

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Animal Behaviour and Welfare by The University of Edinburgh

4.8
stars
4,230 ratings
1,090 reviews

About the Course

Animal welfare has been described as a complex, multi-faceted public policy issue which includes important scientific, ethical, and other dimensions. Improving our understanding of animal welfare, involves the fascinating study of animal behavior as well as the challenge of accessing the emotions of animals. This is the On-Demand version of this course, which means you can start the course at any time and work through the course materials at your own pace. The materials and quizzes will always be available to you. You can come and talk about the course on Twitter using the hashtag #EdAniWelf...

Top reviews

AS

Jun 21, 2020

This course was very informative and interesting! I enjoyed the lectures as well as the instructors and also loved that it focused on many different kinds animal welfare issues. Definitely recommend!

PR

Apr 27, 2020

Its a nicely designed course. It sheds light on many animal care practices and welfare. Very well instructions and quiz sessions are arranged. Many important learnings and takeaways from the course.

Filter by:

926 - 950 of 1,080 Reviews for Animal Behaviour and Welfare

By Chris L

May 17, 2016

Nice!

By DARSHAN K

May 13, 2022

NIce

By Abdulhadi S

Dec 20, 2021

nice

By Dr. S N B

Jun 20, 2021

Good

By Fozia M

Jan 19, 2021

Good

By Md. R Q S

Sep 4, 2020

good

By RAGHUVEER S D

Jul 26, 2020

good

By MUHAMMAD A M

May 7, 2020

GOOD

By orrae_ n

Apr 29, 2020

good

By Liudmila

May 1, 2017

Cool

By 袁悦铭

Apr 5, 2017

nice

By Hai y

Jun 12, 2018

TQ

By Erwin V

Apr 7, 2020

G

By Scott B C

Jan 18, 2019

p

By Alejandra M

Dec 7, 2015

T

By Frederique C

Apr 30, 2017

A very interesting course ! Serious and much developed work. Nice special interactive lessons (though speaking english is necessary to understand them), important to get deeper information about some themes. This course is very useful, to be able to evaluate animals welfare through their behaviour, and then to improve it with suitable ways. I just wish there would be more concrete examples of enrichment for wild animals in captivity... I hope this course will be used by more and more people in the world. Our animal friends need it ! Thank you ! Cours très intéressant, et développé. Les leçons interactives apportent des infos complémentaires bienvenues sur quelques thèmes (mais il faut pouvoir lire l'anglais...). Cours très utile pour apprendre à évaluer le bien-être d'un animal grâce à son comportement, et pour pouvoir l'améliorer par des moyens appropriés...

By Luong T H A

Jul 14, 2021

The course provides an interesting insight into the behavior of captive animals and introduces aspects of welfare that are lacking in many animal keeping facilities. However, a decent portion of the information provided on the course are common knowledge, making some lectures quite tedious and sometimes, repetitive. Despite so, the course provides a good range of accompanying materials for those wanting to dig deeper in their preferred topic throughout the unites. In my personal opinion, units 6 and 7 are the most interesting as they discuss not only the welfare of pets and wild animals, but also are packed with lectures on the natural behaviors of those animals which I find absolutely insightful.

By Fernanda B d S

Aug 1, 2021

I do recommend this course, I particularly consider that knowing and understanding animal welfare is extremely important and interesting. Good content, lots of things to thing about, furthermore as I am a non-native English speaker, I was able to practice and learn a wide variety of English words, especially in this field which I really enjoy, but to be honest courses like this one need to be updating, maybe every 2 or 3 years. I mean, since this course was released (I believe it was in 2015) there have been lots of new information, and new results about animal welfare researches and how people have been thinking about this subject.

By Thaymé R M R

Jun 15, 2020

Un curso excelente que nos brinda información relevante y concisa acera de la situación que viven muchos animales bajo el cuidado y responsabilidad humana, mascotas, animales de granja y animales en cautiverio ej: zoológicos, circos, etc. Resalta claramente los principales desafíos que enfrenta cada animal y lo que se necesita para ofrecerles un ambiente enriquecedor y que supla efectivamente todas sus necesidades de bienestar basándose en su comportamiento. Obviando todo mito, creencia, perspectiva y antropoformismo, y centrándonos en los sentimientos, gustos, preferencias y punto de vista del animal.

By Kym L

Jan 29, 2021

Well presented, clear and informative with lots of resources for self-study outside of the course.

Only 4 star however, as some of the subtitles need reworking. The majority is clear and easy to read, however there are some spelling errors and some of the words written in the subtitles are clearly not the words being spoken by the course provider - I'd assume a text-transcription software was used for this as the words sound similar but are quite obviously out of context.

Overall, I really enjoyed the course and would be happy to take another by The University of Edinburgh based on this experience.

By Shareka J

Oct 16, 2016

This course is great for anyone who is doing animal healthcare or any related field. It gives good principles of what is proper welfare and also the issues of negative or debative welfare. They also talk about how welfare is applied in certain countries to give realistic perspectives and thought of how the world conducts it's business in the world of animal livestock farming, or wildlife captivity. It's a real eye opener and I'd recommend people who are just generally animal lovers, professional or not, to take this course. I absolutely enjoyed it and learned new things from it!

By Kehan Y

Apr 20, 2020

I have learnt basic and general theory of animal welfare and the criticism of most animal welfare problem we faced today. It's generally great to hear the lectures, however, the accompanying material isn't always working and there is a lot of information missing in the pdf version... But I love this course!! It's like an introduction of animal welfare to the public. It definitely helped me to have a better understanding in the field of animal welfare and future goal. I want to give it 4.5 though there is no option of it.

By Caleb A

Nov 16, 2018

The course was very informative and while it may not add much to practical skills, the knowledge gained about how to properly discern animal welfare will no doubt aide any student who is taking up a career in some sort of animal care field. The material is interesting, especially the supplementary information. It's very informative in its tone and the instructors do their best to educate their students so that the students know how to make thought- out decisions on this subject.

By Joshua A

May 12, 2020

The lecturers are excellent in providing us the information we need and this course is well written. Pet animals, farm animals, and wildlife animals are put nicely in the course with additional information we can access. I think an improvement in the lecturers communication skills and their body language would make this course better and also a peer-graded assignments would be better to assess and evaluate our comprehension about animal welfare

By Brandon S

Sep 28, 2020

Excellent and informative course. However, it is technologically outdated (flash required course materials do not work), with seemingly no intention to update. Having used other courses that utilized Coursera (and online learning) to it's full potential, this lack of anything other than video lectures was very apparent.

Otherwise I really enjoyed it, and find myself better equipped to discuss animal welfare and behaviours in the future.