Chevron Left
Back to Animal Behaviour and Welfare

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Animal Behaviour and Welfare by The University of Edinburgh

4.8
stars
4,044 ratings
1,048 reviews

About the Course

Animal welfare has been described as a complex, multi-faceted public policy issue which includes important scientific, ethical, and other dimensions. Improving our understanding of animal welfare, involves the fascinating study of animal behavior as well as the challenge of accessing the emotions of animals. This is the On-Demand version of this course, which means you can start the course at any time and work through the course materials at your own pace. The materials and quizzes will always be available to you. You can come and talk about the course on Twitter using the hashtag #EdAniWelf...

Top reviews

AS
Jun 21, 2020

This course was very informative and interesting! I enjoyed the lectures as well as the instructors and also loved that it focused on many different kinds animal welfare issues. Definitely recommend!

PR
Apr 27, 2020

Its a nicely designed course. It sheds light on many animal care practices and welfare. Very well instructions and quiz sessions are arranged. Many important learnings and takeaways from the course.

Filter by:

151 - 175 of 1,035 Reviews for Animal Behaviour and Welfare

By Pip R

Feb 14, 2021

really like the course especially that each teacher always pointed out that "do not compare how you feel to how animals feel"

that actually changed my vision and give me a new perspective toward all animal

I am so glad I took the free course

thanks all teacher

By Andrea W

Apr 16, 2020

I absolutely loved this course. The instructors were clear and provided informative and practical lectures that were stimulating and thought provoking. I enjoyed the manageable video lengths and the supplementary readings were very helpful and easy to follow.

By Vannia P C

Sep 20, 2020

It is a very interesting and interactive course that provides extensive knowledge about animal welfare in different areas. The lessons and videos are very dynamic! Great professionals, thank you for sharing such an incredible and important knowledge with us.

By Supavitra B

Apr 21, 2020

This quenched my thirst for the subject to a large extent as it has increased my hunger to study more & I so wish to now visit Edinburgh & Scotland. Many thanks to the faculty & all the experts who contributed. Also a thanks to Coursera! Babul, Mumbai, India

By Anup K

Apr 13, 2020

It is really exciting to go through this course, It has exposed me several aspect of animal welfare like pets,production and captive wild animals , Now I can say I have better understanding on animal wefare and how behaviour reflect animals feelings. Thanks

By Maria K

Jan 18, 2016

A very interesting course and a much needed one in the times that we leave...I found it very difficult not to be affected by my ethical views and emotions but I managed to complete the course and learn a lot of new things. Thank you for making it available!

By João B

May 4, 2020

Animal Behaviour and Welfare is a comprehensive course on the topic, that deals with it in an organized, professional and ethical way and lays down the basis for solid knowledge on the topic. Congratulations to the teaching team and technical support teams.

By Rafaela F

Jan 13, 2016

Excellent. As a veterinary student, I found this course to be very enlightening about the subject matter. I'm now able to implement some of what was learned about animal behaviour and welfare in my daily professional activities as well as in the classroom.

By Ghiandra N S S

Jan 28, 2020

This Course is very informative and very useful for me! The materials are easy to understand. The assignments and quizzes also enhance our knowledge and also help us to train our analytical skills. I would recommend this course to my friends. Thank you :)

By Lory B

Mar 31, 2021

Me encanto, porque la palabra welfare es muy importante en los animales, representa demasiado para ellos y es como su protección contra el maltrato, es un curso que vale la pena, aprendes tantos conceptos que te ayudaran a comprender mejor a los animales.

By Juan P M A

Jun 8, 2020

This course is a great option for increasing your knowledge about veterinary and animal welfare.

If you are passionate abut animals and their welfare, do not think twice about singing up!

Thanks University Of Edinburgh and Coursera for this opportunity .

By Victoria S

Jun 24, 2021

Es un curso demasiado completo e ideal para reforzar conocimientos respecto al Bienestar Animal. Su metodología de aprendizaje facilita la total comprensión de la información suministrada para todo tipo de estudiantes sin importar el idioma que manejen.

By John M H

Jun 1, 2020

The instructors were very informative. The videos were easy to understand and the content in the whole course was something i care about. Took longer to finish due to limited free time recently otherwise i woulda gladly completed it in a week. Loved it.

By Karunakar E

May 25, 2020

Very good course which is useful to me for my professional knowledge about Animal behaviour and welfare.Professors also very good and they had explained the subject clearly and in understanding manner.Thanks to all course developers for free in online.

By Kelly M

Aug 1, 2018

This course was very educational, and I enjoyed every minute of it. I am currently making a career change towards my passion with animals, so this was a great start! I look forward to taking more courses on here, and begin the next chapter in my life.

By Jens H B

Aug 22, 2020

Every module was an eye opener. The presentation was interesting, informative and engaged critical thinking. It enabled me to make some recommendations in our organisation to deliver a better understanding of an animal's behaviour through Ethograms.

By Kiera T

Jun 17, 2020

I'm a shelter staff member in Canada and this was a great look at international welfare standards (which are funnily enough, the same as my shelter). I loved having an in-depth look at farm animals welfare since we focus so much on companion animals.

By Olexandra A

Jun 30, 2020

Very interesting and engaging, the length of the lectures made the course easy to follow and keep up (especially if you are making notes and trying to keep up). I would really recommend to those wishing to broaden their thinking on welfare issues.

By Robert A L

Dec 27, 2020

Really a very interesting course. He made me question the 5 freedoms to transform the way we understand animal welfare, especially under humane care. The facilitators of the process are very good and I will not hesitate to get in touch. Thank you

By Emma P

Mar 4, 2018

Es un curso muy útil que permite ver diferentes perspectivas de los problemas a los que se enfrenta la sociedad al hablar de bienestar animal y como lidiar con ellos desde una perspectica científica, dejando de lado las creencias y sentimientos.

By Nawel B

Mar 3, 2020

Very interesting! I definitely learned a lot about animal welfare, especially when it comes to animals in farms (cows, pig...). Glad to have learned from people who deal with animal welfare everyday and who manage to explain it so well! Thanks!

By ,Mary E M

Nov 23, 2019

Thank you for presenting this course. As a pet sitter, adoption and tnr advocate, the course has given me additional knowledge about what a wide range of domestic and captive animals need to have healthy and positive experiences in daily life.

By Reena H

Apr 28, 2021

Enjoyed all the sessions. Nicely explained especially videos helped alot. could make notes as well.

Would recommend all the animal lovers to do this course.

Thank you to all my teachers who have taught me about animal behavior and their welfare.

By Yugui W

Nov 13, 2019

I gained an insight of the practices of animal welfare, which I had no idea at all before, but seems I want more information about the same. I have materials recommended by you to read, maybe I will learn more by then. Thanks for your efforts.

By Jen B

Dec 19, 2016

I work at a veterinary clinic and have found this course to be very informative and useful for my current career path. The knowledge I have gained from this will surely assist me in providing the best care for the animals under my supervision.