Chevron Left
Back to Animal Behaviour and Welfare

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Animal Behaviour and Welfare by The University of Edinburgh

4.8
stars
3,925 ratings
1,026 reviews

About the Course

Animal welfare has been described as a complex, multi-faceted public policy issue which includes important scientific, ethical, and other dimensions. Improving our understanding of animal welfare, involves the fascinating study of animal behavior as well as the challenge of accessing the emotions of animals. This is the On-Demand version of this course, which means you can start the course at any time and work through the course materials at your own pace. The materials and quizzes will always be available to you. You can come and talk about the course on Twitter using the hashtag #EdAniWelf...

Top reviews

AS
Jun 21, 2020

This course was very informative and interesting! I enjoyed the lectures as well as the instructors and also loved that it focused on many different kinds animal welfare issues. Definitely recommend!

PR
Apr 27, 2020

Its a nicely designed course. It sheds light on many animal care practices and welfare. Very well instructions and quiz sessions are arranged. Many important learnings and takeaways from the course.

Filter by:

901 - 925 of 1,012 Reviews for Animal Behaviour and Welfare

By Tanmayi P

Jun 26, 2016

This was a really cool, fun course, and I learned a LOT, but I was hoping that they would talk more about the animals in captivity, and major issues relating to them. Other than that, it was an interesting topic to learn about!

By Vicente A R G

Aug 2, 2020

me pareció en muy buen curso, con harta información y materiales para aprender, lo único que me causo un poco de frustración fue que algunos vídeos NO tenían subtitulo en español, por consecuencia no entendía al 100% el vídeo

By Amanda L

Jul 18, 2021

Very interesting and eye opening. However, I could not access the additional materials that used flash plugin although I have installed it. Nonetheless, the course definitely inspired me to fight for animal welfare issues

By Liz B

Sep 13, 2018

Very informative course, although it is sometimes painful to read as they cover ethical issues and the sad reality of slaughter. However, I found it very well covered, as a vegetarian, this course strengthened my beliefs

By Cara S

Jan 27, 2017

I really enjoyed the perspective and things I learned. I thought I could have scored higher on the quizzes because I was saying the same thing as them, but just in a different way. I would recommend this course.

By Johnny W

Dec 12, 2019

The course was very informative and engaging. The only real issue was that the interactive units need to be updated as they don't run well on current operating systems. Overall it was very worth doing though!.

By Laura E

Sep 29, 2020

I thoroughly enjoyed taking this course. It was informative and engaging with the focus being on the fundamentals of animal welfare rather than the raft of ethical viewpoints that we can hold as individuals.

By Abhyudaya g

Jan 11, 2016

Great.!!! But if the content would be more. I find it unfair for a topic of such importance to be given so less attention. People will also respect it if the content would be more than it is right now...!!

By parag g

Apr 30, 2020

This course gave me a very good understanding what really animal welfare is all about and the current scenario of much ethical and scientific war to come to conclusions of what noble animal welfare can be

By Guilherme A C

Jul 10, 2020

I believe that it should have more material about animal training (dog, cat, wild animals) and a whole module about slaughterhouse due to this is one of main issues for people who work of animals at all.

By Ernesto R S G

Apr 22, 2020

Hacido una experiencia muy buena , importante al saber que puedes tener mejores conocimientos cientificos practicos para compartir con demas personas que trabajan para el bienestar de todos los animales.

By Amelia A

Mar 17, 2016

Interesting, thank you for making this course available. After taking it I transitioned from being pescetarian to vegan and I wish that more controversial animal rights concerns were more focused on.

By Siddharth M

Jun 16, 2020

Very informative and well put forth. Would have enjoyed a little more science to balance out the ethics. Farm animal week was very interesting and the most enjoyable and informative in my opinion.

By Vijay P Y

Apr 7, 2020

Course is quite interesting and useful to work in welfare organisation and also it teach us that animals have also emotions and they are part of our life ,so we should care of them. Thanks.

By Muhammad S A

Jul 21, 2019

I think it is the best online course, I have ever learned.It is very helpful in my study life as a veterinary student and also in my whole life. It is a good effort of Edinburh team.....

By Erin P

Aug 28, 2020

Really interesting course! I do wish it went a bit more in-depth (cats and dogs and captive animals) and was a bit more challenging but it is a starter course so I can’t be too upset.

By Annie P

Nov 19, 2017

Excellent course, learned lots about cats and dogs and their behavior. Made me understand and talk to my cats in an effective way. Professional and engaged teachers, very passionate.

By Barbara W

Sep 9, 2021

I was not able to access the additional materials, so when I did the quizzes, I had to guess at some questions. Other than that, the course was very thorough and mostly enjoyable.

By Gilliaux V

Nov 13, 2016

Super cours, parfois difficile à comprendre à cause des accents des professeurs. Les questionnaires étaient peut être un peu trop facile. J'ai appris beaucoup ! merci pour tout !

By Carolyn L K

Jul 24, 2016

Great course!! If you are interested in animal welfare particularly animal welfare in animals produced for food, this is a very good course with lots of resources.

By Yumna M

Aug 10, 2021

HI DEAR LEARNERS,

IT'S THE BEST COURSE FOR BEGINNERS.

THE BEST THING I LEARNED I WOULD LIKE TO QUOTE IS;

"NOT TO IMPOSE YOUR FEELINGS ON AN ANIMAL."

THANKS COURSERA

By Manan 0

Mar 19, 2021

It is very informative and it has enhanced my knowledge

I want to suggest that there would be more courses relative to veterinary field like anatomy,pharma etc

By Ana R B M F S

Jul 29, 2020

Very engaging and well-structured, besides the videos and reading resources, would like to have more interactive exercises with other students and teachers.

By Moiz A Y

Jul 23, 2019

it was very helpful and encouraging course it helped me in many different scenarios and made be able to handle the situations efficiently and effectively

By Deepa M

Nov 29, 2018

This course helped me to update my knowledge on animal welfare especially that of strays and pound dogs and cats. Thoroughly enjoyed the contents.