Chevron Left
Back to Animal Behaviour and Welfare

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Animal Behaviour and Welfare by The University of Edinburgh

4.8
stars
3,667 ratings
959 reviews

About the Course

Animal welfare has been described as a complex, multi-faceted public policy issue which includes important scientific, ethical, and other dimensions. Improving our understanding of animal welfare, involves the fascinating study of animal behavior as well as the challenge of accessing the emotions of animals. This is the On-Demand version of this course, which means you can start the course at any time and work through the course materials at your own pace. The materials and quizzes will always be available to you. You can come and talk about the course on Twitter using the hashtag #EdAniWelf...

Top reviews

AS
Jun 21, 2020

This course was very informative and interesting! I enjoyed the lectures as well as the instructors and also loved that it focused on many different kinds animal welfare issues. Definitely recommend!

PR
Apr 27, 2020

Its a nicely designed course. It sheds light on many animal care practices and welfare. Very well instructions and quiz sessions are arranged. Many important learnings and takeaways from the course.

Filter by:

151 - 175 of 944 Reviews for Animal Behaviour and Welfare

By Nawel B

Mar 3, 2020

Very interesting! I definitely learned a lot about animal welfare, especially when it comes to animals in farms (cows, pig...). Glad to have learned from people who deal with animal welfare everyday and who manage to explain it so well! Thanks!

By ,Mary E M

Nov 23, 2019

Thank you for presenting this course. As a pet sitter, adoption and tnr advocate, the course has given me additional knowledge about what a wide range of domestic and captive animals need to have healthy and positive experiences in daily life.

By Yugui W

Nov 13, 2019

I gained an insight of the practices of animal welfare, which I had no idea at all before, but seems I want more information about the same. I have materials recommended by you to read, maybe I will learn more by then. Thanks for your efforts.

By Jen B

Dec 19, 2016

I work at a veterinary clinic and have found this course to be very informative and useful for my current career path. The knowledge I have gained from this will surely assist me in providing the best care for the animals under my supervision.

By Jamie R

Dec 11, 2020

I really enjoyed doing this course! Ive always had an interest in dogs and cats but the enjoyment I got from learning about farm animals surprised me. I learned a lot of new things and the course has only ignited my love for animals even more

By Eliza G

Jun 8, 2020

I really enjoyed this course. It is a shame that due to the updates of google chrome that some of the activities dont work anymore but i was fine with the supplied pdfs. The lecturers were very good and i loved the inclusion of their own pets

By Kamille O

May 17, 2020

As a bird and dog trainer, I enjoyed learning about the production animals. However the class has minimal behavioral aspects aside from understanding basic behavior and body language. Overall it was a very informative class and I enjoyed it.

By Lauren B

Jul 8, 2020

Very informative and gave me so much additional knowledge! This course allowed me to start a new training system at the animal shelter I work at! Very excited to apply the knowledge I learned in this course to improve our shelter even more!

By Daniela S A

Jun 25, 2020

Me siento muy afortunada de poder realizar este curso, lo disfrute y aproveché al máximo, ame la metodología y las docentes, el tema de este curso es muy valioso y representa una gran oportunidad de aprendizaje para mi, realmente lo valoro.

By Britany R

May 22, 2020

I have learned so much from this course! I was so nervous going in because I knew that the information would be tough to handle, but everything was done so well that I just wanted to continue learning. Thank you for providing the knowledge!

By Kaylee L

May 29, 2020

I have had an amazing time learning about animal welfare.As a passionate person when it comes down to the welfare of animals doing this cause has been an eye opener for me.It has helped me explore new ideas and perspectives of this topic.

By Kira E

Jun 6, 2020

Such an enjoyable course! I learned many things about animal behaviour I wasn't aware of, including debunking some common myths. I would recommend this class to anyone, whether you plan on having a career in wildlife conservation or not!

By DIANA P M S

Jul 1, 2020

Excelente, muy completo y claro. En mi caso soy veterinaria, puedo aplicar totalmente lo aprendido en este curso, y el hecho de traducirlo en diferentes idiomas, es un valor agregado para quienes no dominamos el inglés. Muy satisfecha.

By Jessica G

Oct 24, 2019

Fabulous class, I've taken it twice now and really find more in each participation. This class does a great job at looking at the facts in an unbiased way and educating us in how we can improve animal welfare in a number of industries.

By Disha C

Jun 25, 2020

The course was really amazing, and i got to know many things about animal behaviour and welfare.

Lastly this course increased my knowledge and i am very thankful for that to COURSERA and THE UNIVERSITY OF EDINBURGH.

THANK YOU SO MUCH!!!

By Kelli R

Jul 30, 2019

Very informative and interesting for anyone's experience level entering into the animal welfare field! The word formatting accompanied with the video makes it really easy to follow along and take notes. I couldn't have been happier!

By Amy F

Jul 17, 2016

Opened my eyes a lot regarding the welfare of all kinds of animals and their situations.

Really sad course content, but needed to show the severity of how bad it can be for an animal, and the ways being used to stop and protect them.

By Rajashree S

Apr 10, 2020

Easy to follow. Very relevant content. Appreciate the attempts of the lecturers to maintain a neutral attitude despite addressing controversial topics. Felt I have learnt a lot and it has whetted my appetite to pursue this further.

By Apoorva

May 2, 2018

Fantastic course! The course is very well structured with a lot of practical experience videos and interactive sessions which help you learn. The quizzes and forums really sets your mind going and keeps you entertained and active.

By Neansai O

Jul 2, 2017

I really enjoyed this course, I liked how the information was given and forums were set up.

The hangouts section I found both helpful and interesting. I would rate the Veterinary School in Edinburgh 10/10 for their online courses.

By lucia c

Feb 18, 2021

I really enjoyed the course, I learned a lot of new things. I liked the course is divided for weeks, with a reading and watching material and after them a quiz, and you can try it if your score is not for a maximum number of 60%

By Hazel R

Sep 20, 2020

I love it videos was informative and to the point very easy to understand and give a vast view into the behavior and welfare of so many animals makes one think and feel a bit guilty and sad but overall it was an amazing course

By Janice R

Oct 20, 2020

It's a very interesting course. It made me appreciate my pets, animals in captivity, and animals for production. It gives clear examples of problems and solutions for animal welfare issues. Thank you for the interesting course!

By Akuila U

Apr 28, 2018

The Best Ever. I am from fiji and i am happy and satisfied completing this course. I hope that one day i can work somewhere overseas probably in a zoo or a farming field where i can practice what i have learnt today. Regards.

By ANUPAM J

Sep 12, 2020

Exceptional serious learning for ones interested in Animal welfare and studies. Awesome and credential veterans who guide along the course, thanks to all honest endeavor of all faculty from Animal Behaviour and Welfare MOOC.