Chevron Left
Back to Applied Data Science Capstone

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Applied Data Science Capstone by IBM Skills Network

4.7
stars
6,441 ratings

About the Course

This is the final course in the IBM Data Science Professional Certificate as well as the Applied Data Science with Python Specialization. This capstone project course will give you the chance to practice the work that data scientists do in real life when working with datasets. In this course you will assume the role of a Data Scientist working for a startup intending to compete with SpaceX, and in the process follow the Data Science methodology involving data collection, data wrangling, exploratory data analysis, data visualization, model development, model evaluation, and reporting your results to stakeholders. You will be tasked with predicting if the first stage of the SpaceX Falcon 9 rocket will land successfully. With the help of your Data Science findings and models, the competing startup you have been hired by can make more informed bids against SpaceX for a rocket launch. In this course, there will not be much new learning, instead you’ll focus on hands-on work to demonstrate and apply what you have learnt in previous courses. By successfully completing this Capstone you will have added a project to your data science and machine learning portfolio to showcase to employers....

Top reviews

LD

Oct 23, 2019

Its was great experience in completing the project using all skills that we learned in the course, thanks to coursera and IBM for giving me an opportunity to update my selft and also to test my skills

SG

Mar 3, 2020

Very good capstone project. Learnt lot of insights on how to represent data through out this course.

Very good starting point for ""Data Science" field. I would definitely recommend this course.

Filter by:

726 - 750 of 874 Reviews for Applied Data Science Capstone

By Ritvik S

Sep 28, 2020

Very in-depth and rewarding project - would be a little better if more specific guidance on what to exactly include in the notebook would be better. But overall very stimulating. Thanks!

By Alexander P

Oct 23, 2021

After some trouble, I was able to fix the issue with the ID identification... But nevertheless, the Certificate is not shown when using its link...

The Course, nevertheless, is great!

By Giselle

Oct 10, 2020

The capstone project was difficult. I struggled to incorporate the concepts I learned throughout this training in the final project, however I don't have any statistics background .

By Mustafa A

Jul 5, 2019

The capstone project was not very identical to what is covered in the course. We are briefly taught Foliujm Library but at the end, it was our final project. This was a minus point.

By Miriam S

Jan 23, 2023

The course is fine as long as you finish it in one go. I had to restart and then ran into some difficulty with the cloud licence. Happily, coursera gave a workable work around.

By Nishant V

Apr 8, 2019

Overall this is a tough course, since it mainly involves building your own project with your idea and using the tools,technologies which we have learnt in previous courses.

By Sudarshan

Oct 4, 2020

Nice course. Gave me good understanding and insight of how Python can be used in Data Science and what are different solutions and approaches currently in use in industry.

By Joe A

Oct 3, 2020

I learn't a lot from this course. reinforced and needed to apply whatever I learn't in previous courses. Had to work on Python coding, pandas, Folium, Foursquare, etc.

By Petter W

Apr 13, 2020

Great course and project, I would have liked to get a bit more freedom in what API to use. But great to have a bigger project to work on as you learn most from that.

By Christian M N

Mar 17, 2020

Cours vraiment, permet à l'étudiant d'être dans une situation réelle et met l'accent sur la compréhension même des différentes tâche à travers le rapport à fournir.

By Nathalia P

Sep 5, 2020

The course has to be revised, it has a lot of notebook problems. The content is very good, but it was exhausting to make the activities and to finish it.

By Thomas M

Sep 9, 2021

Interesting course but too lengthy videos for my taste. I would have preferred a more text-based style, but this is just my personal preference.

By Parth G

May 29, 2020

Overall, a good beginner's level project course. But, it will require a lot of input from the student side, which is necessary for one's growth.

By Ramsrinivas A

Jan 29, 2020

It is excellent, especially getting to know about foursquare ApI is exciting. But still some part of the codes can be explained from the scratch

By Sylvian

Aug 21, 2020

Some courses where not as good as others, but the value you get with the lab, provided you keep them and understand them, are of great value.

By Baptiste M

Nov 27, 2019

Solid finisher with enough freedom and constraints to give a framework for notation yet remaining interesting while preventing to drift away.

By Peter D

Feb 17, 2020

The course is absolutely a good one for beginners, a category which i fall into. I am sure it will help me in my career as a data scientist.

By Jianxu S

Sep 21, 2019

An excellent course to learn how to use location data in data science. The last couple of sections can be long hours but worth the effort.

By Enrique H G

Nov 11, 2022

You can apply many concepts that you have learnt in previous courses of the certification, and maybe put in order all the knownledge.

By Jonah V J

Apr 9, 2020

This course is an eye opener for me. It has open another chapter in my career develoment. Am greatly greatful to all my instructors

By Surya S

Sep 27, 2020

Great course to start your data science proficiency. Courses are brilliantly organised and notebooks were of great experience.

By J K

Jul 1, 2019

awesome project, but report writing and report preparing is very tough task, youngsters don't like time waste on report

By Liam M

Mar 11, 2019

A good finish to the course, but a bit too much work. This final project + report + presentation seemed a bit excessive

By Phuong A N

Apr 23, 2020

Challenging but interesting course. It help me to review everything I have learned and apply it in my real problem.

By Frederico G F J

Aug 13, 2020

Some topics repeat from module to module. The exercises seemed to advanced for the knowledge taught in the videos.