Chevron Left
Back to Applied Data Science Capstone

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Applied Data Science Capstone by IBM

4.7
stars
5,733 ratings
758 reviews

About the Course

This capstone project course will give you a taste of what data scientists go through in real life when working with real datasets. You will assume the role of a Data Scientist working for a startup intending to compete with SpaceX, and in the process follow the Data Science methodology involving data collection, data wrangling, exploratory data analysis, data visualization, model development, model evaluation, and reporting your results to stakeholders. You are tasked with predicting if the first stage of the SpaceX Falcon 9 rocket will land successfully. SpaceX advertises Falcon 9 rocket launches on its website, with a cost of 62 million dollars; other providers cost upward of 165 million dollars each, much of the savings is because SpaceX can reuse the first stage. Therefore if you can accurately predict the likelihood of the first stage rocket landing successfully, you can determine the cost of a launch. With the help of your Data Science findings and models, the competing startup you have been hired by can make more informed bids against SpaceX for a rocket launch. This course is the final course in the IBM Data Science Professional Certificate as well as the Applied Data Science with Python Specialization. It is expected that you have completed all of the prior courses in the specialization/certificate before starting this one, as it requires the application of the knowledge and skills taught in those courses. In this course, there will not be too much new learning, and instead, the focus will be on hands-on work to demonstrate what you have learned in the previous courses. If you choose to take this course and earn the Coursera course certificate, you will also earn an IBM digital badge upon successful completion of the course....

Top reviews

LD
Oct 23, 2019

Its was great experience in completing the project using all skills that we learned in the course, thanks to coursera and IBM for giving me an opportunity to update my selft and also to test my skills

SG
Mar 3, 2020

Very good capstone project. Learnt lot of insights on how to represent data through out this course.\n\nVery good starting point for ""Data Science" field. I would definitely recommend this course.

Filter by:

176 - 200 of 760 Reviews for Applied Data Science Capstone

By Angel R A B

Jul 28, 2021

A bit complicated but fairly funny. It has been good to have the opportunity of putting into practice the knowledge acquired in the set of courses.

By Samuel K R

Jan 25, 2021

Great Course gives a solid foundation for one to start a career in Data Science. I am grateful that I enrolled for the whole program with 9 courses

By Abhishek D

Jul 7, 2021

Damn so happy after completing this course. Feeling so proud and delighted. This course is really amazing and gives you so much power and control.

By Melissa k

Jun 16, 2020

Clear enough but please update the video for foursquare API since the cover page of the web has changed so it difference with the one in the video

By Rahul C

Aug 19, 2020

The Best thing about the entire course. It gives a real-world application-oriented approach for beginners, really useful in the practical world.

By Daniel S R

Nov 8, 2021

This is an excellent opportunity to challenge yourself and apply all learnings from the courses of the professional certicate in Data Science.

By Carlos N J

Feb 28, 2020

I really appreciated being able to apply my data science skills to a project of my own, in addition to learning some new things along the way!

By Lipin A

Aug 3, 2019

I had to use almost all my skills I have obtained during IBM certification course. It was extremely useful and I feel now my skills enhanced.

By HIDESHI Y

Jun 16, 2019

Hands on course was very effective to learn actual programming, structure of report, how to use GitHub, and overall process for data science.

By Alexey R

May 22, 2019

A worthy finale! The capstone problem statement encourages creativity and requires good understanding of various parts of the specialization.

By Nicolas A

Oct 26, 2020

The notebooks are well made and clear, and the examples capture different scenarios that are all very representative of frequent situations.

By Abilio R D

Jan 23, 2020

I loved the challenged and freedom that this course gave us to produce our Capstone project. Congrats for this excellent course! thank you.

By Duygu C

Apr 15, 2020

Very useful in terms of applying what you have learned in all the courses in this specialization. Thank you very much for your hard work.

By Advaith G

Sep 26, 2020

It was a great experience to practice everything learnt through the specialization and actually learn what it is to be a data scientist

By Thodoris M

May 28, 2020

Amazing course. I recommend it without doubt. The final assignment will help you develop, what you have learned the previous courses!!!

By Rohan B

Aug 8, 2019

Lets you do the actual work of working on something you like with all the tools this course has equipped you with in previous courses.

By M B A

Dec 16, 2020

I would say thank you IBM and Coursera

thank you for opening the way towards science and research

this just the beginning of this world

By Akshay S

Jul 12, 2020

Coursera is the best learning platform I ever used and its best for those who really wanted to enhance their skill.

Thank you coursera

By Michelle S

Sep 24, 2019

Intense project. Helped me gather all the skills I learned in the courses to create a project I had genuine interest in researching.

By Robert F

Apr 28, 2020

Outstanding. The real-world project at the end gave me tremendous insight as regards Data Science and its many useful applications.

By Aaron V

Dec 28, 2019

A tough project at the end, but if you've worked through all the previous modules leading up to this one, you'll be well prepared.

By Daniele

Dec 23, 2019

Very nice! You get to work on a project on your own to demonstrate the skills acquired in the other courses of the specialization!

By Jéssica C

Nov 3, 2021

Very interesting as an ending for the IBM Data Science program, showing that you need to learn how to present your work as well.

By venu g g

Oct 4, 2020

wonderful experience with IBM initiated courses. completed successfully. Thanks, everyone, behind course making to implementation

By liam c

Jun 5, 2021

T​his section gives you the ability to put into practice all of the skills that you've learnt. Well worth it a fully enjoyed it.