Chevron Left
Back to Leading Positive Change through Appreciative Inquiry

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Leading Positive Change through Appreciative Inquiry by Case Western Reserve University

4.8
stars
175 ratings
81 reviews

About the Course

Appreciative Inquiry is a collaborative and constructive inquiry process that searches for everything that gives life to organizations, communities, and larger human systems when they are most alive, effective, creative and healthy in their interconnected ecology of relationships. To appreciate, quite simply, means to value and to recognize that which has value—it is a way of knowing and valuing the best in life. In the language of Positive Organizational Scholarship it means a research focus—a positive bias—seeking fresh understanding of dynamics described by words like excellence, thriving, abundance, resilience, or exceptional and life-giving. In this context the word appreciate means to value those things of value—it is a mode of knowing often connected to the idea of esthetic appreciation in the arts. To appreciate also means to be grateful or thankful for—it is a way of being and maintaining a positive stance along the path of life's journey. And not incidentally, to appreciate is to increase in value too. Combining the three—appreciation as a way of knowing, as a way of being and as an increase in value– suggests that Appreciative Inquiry is simultaneously a life-centric form of study and a constructive mode of practice. As a form of study, Appreciative Inquiry focuses on searching systematically for those capacities and processes that give life and strength and possibility to a living system; and as a constructive mode of practice, it aims at designing and crafting human organizations through a process in which valuing and creating are viewed as one, and where inquiry and change are powerfully related and understood as a seamless and integral whole Leading Positive Change through Appreciative Inquiry is a course dedicated to advancing our understanding and skill in leading strength-based change and on how to create, foster and manage organizations in which people thrive and perform at their best....

Top reviews

SD

Nov 07, 2018

Really enjoyed this course, it was a great learning opportunity and I look forward to continuing to put the things I learned into real world practice. The concepts taught have real po

RE

Jul 22, 2019

Thank you for this excellent course. It was rigorous, robust, and very meaningful.\n\nI plan to do more work in the are of Leading Positive Change.\n\nAll the best,\n\nRob

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 80 Reviews for Leading Positive Change through Appreciative Inquiry

By André B

May 03, 2018

This course really helped deepen my understanding of Appreciative Inquiry. I'm seeing opportunities to use it everywhere in my work.

By Steven L S Y

Jun 11, 2019

Excellent course. Clear and concise.

My only complain is the transcripts for the videos contain errors, but they are minor.

By Marcus P

Dec 10, 2019

Extremely valuable - Ron Fry is a great speaker, and models the right language to use when trying AI interventions.

By Guillaume B

Nov 23, 2019

Ronald Fry does a great course on appreciative inquiry, the approach he and David Cooperrider developed since 1997.

By Marivi C V

Sep 20, 2016

The professor is outstanding and the subject really interesting

All the chapters were veruy well explanied

By Sofia R

Dec 13, 2018

It would be great to have the Professor's feedback on our assignments at least at the end of the course.

By María d C O R

May 26, 2018

Excelente, esperanzador, con una clara y conmovedora exposición del Profesor Ronald Fry.

Muchas gracias

By lindsay l

Feb 09, 2017

Really superb! Great PLAs, fantastic stories, very tangible but also steeped in theory and research.

By Karin D

Apr 19, 2020

Good mix of knowledge sharing and practical application. The supporting material is great.

By PRANAV S

Apr 07, 2018

Very Good Session, It help me a lot to get the change in myself and best is 4 D concept

By Stavroula T

Aug 09, 2019

very interesting and helpful if someone wants to learn more about Appreciative Inquiry

By MASSIMILIANO M

May 07, 2020

Very good one, excellent teacher. It prompted me to continue learning on this subject

By Anna B

Jan 07, 2018

Great concepts and clear process, thank you very much! The course was very helpful

By Marcelo B Y

Oct 25, 2016

Great methodology, provides all you require to be able to apply it in real life.

By Zita M

Sep 05, 2018

Very useful, practical, thank you for the possibility to learn about AI!

By Deleted A

Apr 12, 2020

Very good course. It is something we can apply in our everyday life.

By Joel G

Jun 04, 2016

Great material. The inclusion of case studies definitely helps.

By Inna N

Aug 21, 2020

Thanks to all who was involved in making this course possible!

By castellarnau o

Jul 13, 2020

Thank you so very much ! It is so pleasant to learn with you !

By François D

Apr 04, 2020

AI is a positive method to change the world where we live

By Karen W

Nov 14, 2019

Very relevant case studies and examples, thank you.

By Sree D K K

Jun 29, 2020

Guided decisional thoughts for a leader's toolkit!

By Carmen O

Apr 30, 2018

Excelente curso, excelente material y tutores.

By Simona S

Nov 26, 2017

Very good course, I've learned a lot

By Emmanuel P

Apr 04, 2020

Very inspiring and practical.