Chevron Left
Back to Archaeoastronomy

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Archaeoastronomy by Politecnico di Milano

4.5
stars
897 ratings
272 reviews

About the Course

Archaeoastronomy is the “science of stars and stones”. It is an interdisciplinary science in between architecture, archaeology, and astronomy. It studies the relationships between the ancient monuments and the sky, in order to gain a better understanding of the ideas of the architects of the past and of their religious and symbolic world. The course provides the first complete, easy introduction to this fascinating discipline. During the course, many spectacular ancient sites of archaeology – such as Stonehenge in England, Giza and Karnak in Egypt, Chichen Itzá in the Yucatan, Macchu Picchu in Peru and the Pantheon in Rome – will be visited and the fascinating events occurring there in special days of the year (such as solstices, equinoxes, or the day of the foundation of Rome) will be shown and explained. The course also provides the necessary background on Astronomy with the naked eye and a general introduction to the role of Astronomy in religion and in the management of power among ancient cultures....

Top reviews

II

Mar 03, 2019

Amazingly made MOOC. Perhaps it feels a bit short in comparison to some of the others, but the material is well presented and the suggested readings give plenty of opportunity for further learning.

WT

Sep 17, 2019

It is a great course. I have enjoyed each of the segments covering many more ancient sites than I have known about in the past and explaining the ones I did know about in much greater depth.

Filter by:

226 - 250 of 273 Reviews for Archaeoastronomy

By MARIA L R G

Nov 11, 2018

IT WAS VERY INTRESTING, I'VE LEARN A LOT BUT ALSO STILL MANY THINGS THAT I DON´T UNDERSTAND BECAUSE I DON'T HAVE A BACKGROUND OF ASTRONOMY NOR PHISYCS

By Roberto Z

Nov 08, 2017

Nice course to understand the basics of Archaeoastronomy. Sometimes I felt the questions are bit far, at least in language, from the lectures.

By SAMUEL L R

Apr 28, 2017

Excelente , la presentación y el modo como el tutor explica los temas interactuando con los videos, es novedoso y de muy facil asimilación.

By Elena F

Sep 09, 2018

The last week was a little bit content intensive, and I would have preferred if this contents was spread out more evenly over the weeks.

By Rashmi R K

Jan 15, 2019

Informative course. But so many archeoastronomical places were not covered. It would have been much better with those included as well.

By Jen P

Nov 06, 2019

Interesting material; presentation quite good but the answers to the quiz questions were not always discernable from the lectures.

By Pete H

Nov 26, 2017

Very informative enjoyable course; interesting and engaging presentations reinforced with good quizzes to test knowledge gained.

By Pinco P

Jun 26, 2020

Very interesting course (I loved the Egypt lessions). I didn't like how the teacher labeled Feng Shui as "superstitions".

By N R K K

Apr 04, 2020

Was a brief and interesting course. Could have included more on the astronomy aspect and more on how to imagine in 3D.

By Praveen S

Mar 20, 2020

Good brief on the Archaeoastronomy. Could have covered more sites. Looking forward for advanced course on the same :)

By Evan S

Jul 27, 2020

Very interesting course. Lots of amazing information. This is something that children should be learning in schools!

By Graeme H

Apr 10, 2018

A fine introduction, but more detail would be appreciated in some discussions, as well as some glaring omissions.

By Daniel S

May 25, 2019

Interesting course. Good photographs. There is a transcript, but it was hard for me to understand the professor.

By Amy B

Apr 25, 2018

Fascinating topic and information. Love the way the speaker shows up on site! Quizzes were really difficult.

By Andrés R

Aug 01, 2017

!Excelente¡ aunque si no manejas el vocabulario astronómico se puede volver un tanto complicado...

By Nitesh G

Sep 24, 2020

The course length could have been more long, since this is a wast subject

By VIDHUKRISHNA C U

Jun 04, 2020

A course which gives fascinating relation between stones and stars

By julio c t g

Apr 07, 2020

Very interesting. I would likke this course to have a longer time

By Ines G

Feb 20, 2018

Very interestig. Sometimes the English was hard to grasp.

By Gerardo S

Nov 15, 2018

bueno pero falta una traducción completa al español

By Kelly L S

Sep 02, 2020

Very interesting but hard!!

By Anne H

Jan 23, 2018

Brief but extremely complex

By Christopher F

Dec 28, 2019

Great introductory course.

By Harshit S

May 07, 2020

Nice learning experience!

By Richard K

May 26, 2017

interesting perspective