Chevron Left
Back to The Arduino Platform and C Programming

Learner Reviews & Feedback for The Arduino Platform and C Programming by University of California, Irvine

4.6
3,487 ratings
757 reviews

About the Course

The Arduino is an open-source computer hardware/software platform for building digital devices and interactive objects that can sense and control the physical world around them. In this class you will learn how the Arduino platform works in terms of the physical board and libraries and the IDE (integrated development environment). You will also learn about shields, which are smaller boards that plug into the main Arduino board to perform other functions such as sensing light, heat, GPS tracking, or providing a user interface display. The course will also cover programming the Arduino using C code and accessing the pins on the board via the software to control external devices. Please note that this course does not include discussion forums. Upon completing this course, you will be able to: 1. Outline the composition of the Arduino development board 2. Describe what it means to program the board's firmware 3. Read board schematics 4. Install Arduino IDE 5. Describe what "shields" are and how they are used 6. Specify the role of libraries in the use of shields 7. Compile and run a program 8. Name C Variables and Types 9. Name common C operators 10. Use conditionals and loops 11. Explain functions, their definition and invocation 12. Explain the implications of global variables 13. Undertake the Arduino build process 14. Describe the role of the tools behind the IDE 15. Describe how to invoke functions in classes 16. Explain the structure of an Arduino sketch 17. Access the pins of the Arduino 18. Differentiate between digital and analog pin 19. Debug embedded software 20. Explain the importance of controllability and observability in the debugging process 21. Describe common debugging architectures for embedded systems 22. Explain how the UART Serial communication protocol works 23. Describe how the Arduino Serial library performs serial communication...

Top reviews

MR

Aug 09, 2016

A very good course to teach you the basics of Arduino platform and IDE. It'll help you get started on how to code your programs and lets you build up on it. I'd definitely recommend for a beginner.

MK

Aug 07, 2017

very good course to have basic understanding of C programming software , Arduino software which is explained in a very simple language where i was finding difficult before attending this course

Filter by:

301 - 325 of 739 Reviews for The Arduino Platform and C Programming

By Francisco S

Oct 21, 2015

Awesome, very complete program

By Igor N

Aug 03, 2016

Great course for those who start with C Programming with Arduino. Liked it a lot.

By Mohamed N

Feb 15, 2016

This was one of my favorite courses I've even taken with Coursera. The instructor was very good at explaining the subject to a beginner like me who has some programming experience yet none with Arduino.

By Deepesh P G

Jan 10, 2017

Great course

By Manjunath J

Jan 28, 2018

Detailed and Nice one

By Daniel T

Oct 23, 2015

Really great course...Having a grounding in coding helps though...And Professor Harris is a very motivational representative of the topic...

By MLS

Feb 01, 2016

Some of the discussion of C programming was a little incoherent and occasionally wrong (but not in ways that would affect what you learn about Arduino programming) but otherwise the course was a blast, and it got me very interested in taking more IoT classes. Professor Harris's enthusiasm for the material comes through very clearly. I definitely recommend it.

By Wilbert V G

Apr 12, 2018

Great course as an introduction to embedded programming

By Lorenzo P

Nov 16, 2015

Wonderful!

By David S M

Feb 03, 2017

Buen curso para aprender lo fundamentos de C aplicados a Arduino

By Clair D

Feb 12, 2016

Prof. Harris continues to make everything crystal clear. The forums don't behave as I think they ought, but I assume that's a Coursera wide issue, and not particularly to do with this class. This course is really wonderful and I appreciate so much the opportunity to be a part of it. I have posted about it on my geek pages, and also on facebook. Thank you Prof. Harris and UCI!

By ANIL K B

Feb 12, 2017

it is very useful for the starters, the concepts are very clear and understandable.

By Airat G

Oct 20, 2015

Отличный курс по Ардуине для начинающих.

By suraj p

Jan 04, 2017

wonderful course.

By Julio C A D L

Jan 08, 2016

Nice understandable lessons with just the right amount of work

By Dipal G

Mar 02, 2016

Awesome

By Andres V

Oct 26, 2015

Thank you very much. This is an excellent introduction to Arduino programming.

By Alexandru C

Nov 30, 2015

Great course! Great explanations! Great examples! Great assignments!

By MUHAMMAD A

Nov 08, 2015

Great Course !!!!

By Daniel M M R

Jul 20, 2017

Excellent professor, thanks for cheering me up when learning about electronics!

By Sulaiman R

Feb 29, 2016

The professor way of teaching is lucid, takes thing from bottom to top in a very effective manner.

By Shubh P

May 10, 2018

Best intro course

By mansouri m

Feb 17, 2018

one of the best courses i had, it will initialize you in the best way possible and prepare you for much advanced steps.

By YENDURU V S P C

May 11, 2018

good

By SURATH S K

May 08, 2018

Course is good