Chevron Left
Back to Ancient Philosophy: Aristotle and His Successors

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Ancient Philosophy: Aristotle and His Successors by University of Pennsylvania

4.8
stars
611 ratings
170 reviews

About the Course

What is philosophy? How does it differ from science, religion, and other modes of human discourse? This course traces the origins of philosophy in the Western tradition in the thinkers of Ancient Greece. We begin with the Presocratic natural philosophers who were active in Ionia in the 6th century BCE and are also credited with being the first scientists. Thales, Anaximander, and Anaximines made bold proposals about the ultimate constituents of reality, while Heraclitus insisted that there is an underlying order to the changing world. Parmenides of Elea formulated a powerful objection to all these proposals, while later Greek theorists (such as Anaxagoras and the atomist Democritus) attempted to answer that objection. In fifth-century Athens, Socrates insisted on the importance of the fundamental ethical question—“How shall I live?”—and his pupil, Plato, and Plato’s pupil, Aristotle, developed elaborate philosophical systems to explain the nature of reality, knowledge, and human happiness. After the death of Aristotle, in the Hellenistic period, Epicureans and Stoics developed and transformed that earlier tradition. We will study the major doctrines of all these thinkers. Part I will cover Plato and his predecessors. Part II will cover Aristotle and his successors....

Top reviews

AT
Jan 10, 2021

This is an excellent course. The lecturer presents the material very clearly, carefully bringing out what is at stake in the views and arguments of the Greek thinkers and schools she considers.

LG
Apr 25, 2019

Excellent course, Pr. Sauvé-Meyer keeps the material very engaging, and makes it very clear and easily accessible. Knowing how difficult the original texts are sometimes, this is very valuable.

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 165 Reviews for Ancient Philosophy: Aristotle and His Successors

By Inga B H

May 6, 2018

Loved every minute of it! A big thank you to professor Susan Sauve Meyer - it was beautiful experience, I wish the course would be intimately wider.

By Mandy S

Jun 19, 2016

This is a great course because the great instructor shares her knowledge about Aristotle and his successors in a comprehensible and exciting manner.

By Chris P

May 22, 2017

i learned from this lecture that aristotle is true genius and I sincerely give admiration to the lecturer thanks for the work you have done

By Matthew A

Nov 27, 2019

I honestly looked forward to this class at the end of each work day. Modest course work and excellent lectures and discussion exercises.

By FRANCISCO D

Jul 7, 2020

A great survey of Aristotle and his successors. I´m very glad to have finished this course, taught by a great professor and writer.

By Vangel V

Jul 27, 2018

Excellent overview of Aristotle, the Epicureans, and Stoics. The ideas were clearly expressed in a way that makes learning easier.

By Deleted A

Oct 31, 2016

This was an enjoyable course. The professor through her explanations made what could be difficult concepts understandable and fun.

By Cees O

Mar 29, 2020

Excellent course that gives a good introduction into Aristotles thinking. Very well taught by the instructor, very clear!

By Francisco J J

May 23, 2016

Outstanding course for those who don't fear the important questions, such as: "What makes a good life?". Don't miss it!

By Todd B T

Dec 16, 2020

I really enjoyed this course, And with the other 2 courses in philosophy I've already taken I've really learned alot.

By Marco A S A A

May 19, 2020

It has helped me to understand the four causes and the difference between the Epicurian school and the stoic school.

By Jacob R

Oct 27, 2016

Very good basic introduction to the philosophers and their ideas. Very succinct while staying true to the content!

By Linda

Apr 26, 2017

The professor is very great, she stated clealy and intersting about Ancient Philosophy. I love very much. useful!

By Ying X

Mar 27, 2017

learned a lot about the subject under the guidance of Professor Meyer that's otherwise hard to study independently

By Camilo A G R

Mar 11, 2016

This course give us a particular synthetical view of ancient thought with a particular conciseness and precision.

By Хан Е И

Feb 27, 2018

Very well-prepared and informative course. I've really enjoyed reading and listening to the lectures. Thank you!

By IOANNA L

May 25, 2020

I think that this course is very useful. It helped me understanding several topics of ancient greek philosophy.

By Kayhan A

May 9, 2020

Wonderful course. Learnt a lot of information about Greek philosopher Aristotle and those that followed him.

By Serena S

Jan 12, 2017

I loved this course, the Professor is thoughtful and insightful. It was a treat to take this course!

By Olivia R

Jun 20, 2016

Meyer is a great teacher and I look forward to more courses by her if she continues to release them

By Alexandre N

Dec 20, 2020

Excellent ! Aristote explained clearly. Stoics & Épicurians very well explained ans distinguished

By Simon M

May 28, 2020

The teacher was excellent, especially in her clear explanations of the Stoics vs the Epicureans.

By Antonia Y

Mar 7, 2016

Very good professor. She explains everything clearly and is really enthusiastic about the topic.

By Dimitris S

Nov 30, 2018

Fully satisfied. A course that provides us skills to endure our ordeals, and manage our lives.