Chevron Left
Back to The Art of Negotiation

Learner Reviews & Feedback for The Art of Negotiation by University of California, Irvine

4.3
1,016 ratings
167 reviews

About the Course

The art of negotiation comes into play daily in the life of employees at all levels and in every position. Participants explore how current approaches to negotiation strategy and tactics are used, what negotiation entails, types of negotiation relationships that exist from hard bargain to win-win, to fully partnered relationships and personal ones. The course explores the personal and behavioral characteristics of an effective negotiator. Participants discuss how empowerment, power, and authority affect the negotiation process and outcome. Topics include how important it is to plan and prepare for a negotiation session. Upon completing this course, you will be able to: 1. Learn about the nature of negotiation and how it differs from selling 2. Gain awareness of the basic doctrines of negotiation and barriers to effective negotiation 3. Explain the role of authority and how to address it in negotiations 4. Explain the role of power in negotiations and how to address power inequities 5. Explain the positive and negative influences of empowerment 6. Learn the different “stances” or negotiation styles negotiators might adopt 7. Demonstrate the factors that influence which negotiation style is implemented 8. Describe the personal and behavioral characteristics of an effective negotiator 9. Demonstrate your grasp of emotional intelligence and how it impacts the effectiveness of a negotiator 10. Assess your own values and personal style and how they affect the negotiation process 11. Learn about the critical importance of planning and preparation in the negotiation process...

Top reviews

EE

Nov 29, 2017

Considering and placing value on my counterpart's interest as a way to obtaining an overall positive outcome in negotiations made sense to me as a Christian. Applying this principle

VL

Dec 03, 2018

helpful and practical coverage of the principled negotiation method. Excellent base for newbies and refresher for old-timers. Never hurts to refresh the basics!

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 167 Reviews for The Art of Negotiation

By Martin S

Jan 06, 2019

I enjoyed this course. I would like to recommend it. Regards

By Givaldo A

Jan 02, 2019

excellent course that gave me a lot of knowledge that I will certainly use every day, thank you.

By Tuan D N D

Dec 14, 2018

Simple, short but very informative course, hope that Instructors can add more practical scenarios to test what I've learned

By Carlos E V A

Dec 10, 2018

please add more courses with this instructor!!

By Vanessa L

Dec 03, 2018

helpful and practical coverage of the principled negotiation method. Excellent base for newbies and refresher for old-timers. Never hurts to refresh the basics!

By Mayrine F

Nov 18, 2018

Excellent skill builder! Priceless in my profession!

By Abdelmohimen H

Oct 27, 2018

amazing course for life and working

By DINAH N T

Oct 26, 2018

Great class and content. I can’t wait to apply in real life situations. Thank you.

By usama d

Oct 10, 2018

A lot of information regarding the negotiation. very good subject and informative.

By Hasan K U

Jun 26, 2019

Very detailed Course touching many points of negotiations. After the course you'll know hot to prepare and how to "control" a negotiation. However I would like to see more examples which can create more solid background for the theoretic knowledge.

By Bruno H S S

Jun 19, 2019

Very good.

By Tony G J P

May 16, 2019

nice course. very useful

By Ahmed M K T A H

Apr 28, 2019

t

By ANDRE C D B

Apr 12, 2019

The course is really not clear and objective, and the quiz is asking content that is not in classes.

By teja

Apr 01, 2019

n

e

e

d

a

c

t

I

v

I

t

I

e

s

o

t

h

e

r

t

h

a

n

q

u

I

z

By Syahril A G

Mar 28, 2019

This topic online course will be very beneficial for me in pursuing my career goals. Thank you coursera, the instructors and UCI Extension, Div. of Continuing Education.

By Barbara S

Mar 17, 2019

Very elaborated and interesting. However some of the tests ended up being discussed in the week after.

By Aman G

Mar 13, 2019

Covers all the basics well. Good for a four week course.

By David T B R

Feb 16, 2019

Excellent course with great insights about the often tense and difficult world of negotiations. Only thing I think that could have made this course better would be to have some case studies.

By Elison F L D

Feb 03, 2019

A GREAT WAY TO LEARN BUSINESS NEGOTIATION SKILLS.

By Anthony C

Oct 12, 2018

Videos were long winded, speaking style if hard to follow, too dry, sounds like no actual thought behind the words, just reading a teleprompter. Quizzes were poorly worded, many questions had multiple answers that could legitimately be considered correct in various scenarios.

By Rafal F

Sep 25, 2018

Great opportunity!

By 欧阳文杰

Sep 07, 2018

Fantastic

By Clemence A

Aug 25, 2018

Thanks for this course because I have added a lot to my knowledge.

By Ricardo G

Aug 19, 2018

Great!