Chevron Left
Back to The Art of Negotiation

Learner Reviews & Feedback for The Art of Negotiation by University of California, Irvine

4.5
stars
2,786 ratings

About the Course

The art of negotiation comes into play daily in the life of employees at all levels and in every position. Participants explore how current approaches to negotiation strategy and tactics are used, what negotiation entails, types of negotiation relationships that exist from hard bargain to win-win, to fully partnered relationships and personal ones. The course explores the personal and behavioral characteristics of an effective negotiator. Participants discuss how empowerment, power, and authority affect the negotiation process and outcome. Topics include how important it is to plan and prepare for a negotiation session. Upon completing this course, you will be able to: 1. Learn about the nature of negotiation and how it differs from selling 2. Gain awareness of the basic doctrines of negotiation and barriers to effective negotiation 3. Explain the role of authority and how to address it in negotiations 4. Explain the role of power in negotiations and how to address power inequities 5. Explain the positive and negative influences of empowerment 6. Learn the different “stances” or negotiation styles negotiators might adopt 7. Demonstrate the factors that influence which negotiation style is implemented 8. Describe the personal and behavioral characteristics of an effective negotiator 9. Demonstrate your grasp of emotional intelligence and how it impacts the effectiveness of a negotiator 10. Assess your own values and personal style and how they affect the negotiation process 11. Learn about the critical importance of planning and preparation in the negotiation process...

Top reviews

AE

Dec 28, 2020

This course helped me to think more thoroughly about the elements of successful negotiation. I intend to incorporate ideas from this course into my practice of negotiation on the job going forward.

CM

Nov 15, 2020

This is such a perfect course for negotiations generally in business as well in every other aspect of life .It teaches of so many key things in life including listening skills amongst others

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 460 Reviews for The Art of Negotiation

By Karen P

Dec 19, 2019

I learned how to speak to others in a confident manner that will result in a suitable outcome for both parties.

By MARY L A G

Jan 26, 2021

Me encantó este Modulo, el trabajo para calificar fue lo máximo, poder ver otros puntos de vista fue lo mejor

By Jayanta D

Feb 23, 2018

The course really revolutionized my way of thinking towards learning that I can maximized the deal to

close.

By Valarie s

Jan 20, 2018

Excellent content, the teacher is articulate, the material is comprehensive. Great coverage of subject.

By Maxim S

Nov 13, 2015

Structured, easy to understand and clear. Advocates positive and value based approach to negotiations.

By Lundoji P D S

Apr 27, 2020

I learn a lot from this course, thanks for providing such important topic that we often ignore.....

By Radharam M

Nov 20, 2020

I am pleased to complete The Art of Negotiation .Great Learnings and insights for the Negotiation.

By Werner B

Feb 8, 2020

VERY useful, interesting and helpful, I hope, in professional as well as private life. I am very g

By shreef s a

Dec 16, 2020

It is nice to know the axes of principled negotiation, their good potential and modern importance

By Kamal A

Apr 21, 2022

The course has further strenghten me in doing courses online and executiing computer based test.

By Bronx & B

Sep 28, 2015

Thank you. At least I know something about negotiations that I can use in everyday transactions.

By Rubén A C M

Nov 1, 2021

Excelente Curso, Felicitaciones a Ms. Sue Robins, Excelente explicación muy fácil de entender.

By Rehman A

Sep 30, 2020

xcellent course that gave me a lot of knowledge that I will certainly use every day, thank you.

By NANDAN N

Oct 19, 2016

Excellent course on negotiation skill, explained in a way which is easy to follow an practice.

By Nancy R

Jan 11, 2016

It was a very helpful class to learn strategies to improve performance in a negotiation table.

By Paul M

Jun 2, 2018

An excellent course that is presented in a simple and a clear manner, I learnt a lot from it.

By MOHAMED M P

Aug 14, 2020

I really enjoyed the course and it really made me to better understanding of the subject

By Simon B

Aug 18, 2015

Great course, it gave me a good start in my career and I have used what I have learned!

By Yali X M M

Jan 23, 2021

Great course! I learn many things related to business and law. Very useful for lawyers!

By Arun

Apr 2, 2020

Great Course, Systematic approach towards the crux of the topic. Will organised module.

By PANKAJ Y

May 23, 2020

Nice and compact cover all sort of negotiation skills and preparation, gain knowledge.

By Rami E O

Mar 22, 2020

Excellent course. Would have loved to see more practical example and case studies.

By Mickael D

Nov 8, 2015

I learned a lot of very good concepts in this well prepared lesson. Great teacher

By William J D L C

Nov 9, 2020

I'm very satisfied in everything I learned from this course! Thank you so much!

By Aayush T

Apr 26, 2020

Very well elaborated concepts and one can achieve fair amount of understanding.