Chevron Left
Back to Arts and Heritage Management

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Arts and Heritage Management by Università Bocconi

4.7
stars
1,058 ratings
246 reviews

About the Course

Today cultural institutions are facing important dilemmas in many aspects of their management. Over the past decades, a new figure has emerged that of the art manager. Imagine you went to work every day to connect artists with audiences, vision with reality, and money with a mission. That is what managers in the arts do, they play an essential role in transforming the minds, lives, and communities through creative expression. This course has been conceptualized to address the need of skills and techniques to help professionals and managers in running art and cultural institutions. Learning Objectives There are three objectives to this course. First, we will approach the biggest issue cultural institutions face, the coexistence of managers and curators and giving evidence as to when, how, and why they can get along. Second, we will focus on some contemporary facets on what is means to manage a cultural institution and what cultural managers should expect and be able to face. And lastly, we will provide models and tools to design and implement appropriate courses of action to satisfy customers (visitors and audiences) and build an advantage over the competition. Course Structure The course is divided into six sections. Five sections are dedicated to specific aspects and themes of managing cultural institutions, while the sixth section is dedicated to individual interviews of prominent cultural institution managers on specific topics. The involvement of professionals and managers gives an incredible value to the learning experience of this course. Each module is paired with a quiz and discussion forums to reflect on the variety of the heritage management, its complexity, and the power of the network that we will build together during the course. Successful completion of the quizzes is required for a course certificate as explained in the Grading Policy page. If you love art and want to make an impact in this unique and fantastic sector, this course will support you in understanding the peculiarities of this sector and how to leverage on its tools to make a bigger impact. Look forward to meeting you online! Acknowledgements: Vatican Museums: www.museivaticani.va Cenacolo Vinciano:  www.beniculturali.it/mibac/export/MiBAC/sito-MiBAC/Contenuti/MibacUnif/Eventi/visualizza_asset.html_1283837989.html (ITA) FAI (Fondo Ambiente Italiano): eng.fondoambiente.it MUVE (Fondazione Musei Civici Venezia): www.visitmuve.it The National Trust: www.nationaltrust.org.uk The Archeological Site of Paestum: www.museopaestum.beniculturali.it whc.unesco.org/en/list/842 Museo dell'Opera del Duomo (Florence): www.museumflorence.com Museo del Violino: www.museodelviolino.org _________________________________ Disclaimer - Since some of the videos are conducted with those whose native language is not English, we have decided to sometimes preserve their more emphatic speech to keep a tighter match between the audio and subtitles....

Top reviews

RN
Mar 30, 2018

I'm really into this amazing course. it provide me with a wide range of information. it helps me to understand the field of museums and heritage management . Thank you for this useful course.

DG
Jan 9, 2021

Loved this course. Watching the lectures at historical sites brought the course to life and kept it interesting. The course was well structured and has encouraged me to continue in the field.

Filter by:

201 - 225 of 248 Reviews for Arts and Heritage Management

By Jorge P F

May 1, 2020

lovely course

By Frank M

Apr 8, 2017

Great course!

By Andrea A A C

May 20, 2017

Recomendable

By KEJIAN L

Aug 26, 2020

Thank you.

By shenglan h

Jun 2, 2020

very good!

By Fadhel A

May 4, 2020

Excellent.

By Rachel M d P e S N

Aug 4, 2017

Fantastic!

By Dr. R E M

Oct 25, 2020

Very good

By Beatrice B

Mar 2, 2021

Super!!

By Thet P H

Jan 6, 2021

Great

By Phani s p

Sep 14, 2021

nice

By Daniel L S

Sep 6, 2021

good

By Amy J F

Sep 4, 2020

This course had a lot more content than I expected, with lots of specific information conveyed in a concise way. I feel it has given me a framework for looking deeper in to the issues discussed, and the notes I took would be of great help if I interviewed for a job in a cultural institution. The videos were very well produced and being able to see the museums and works of art in the background enhanced the experience.

I think a native English speaker should have been employed to look over the subtitles, and especially the quiz questions. There were times where the wrong word with a completely different meaning was used in these contexts, for example I got a quiz question wrong because one answer used the word 'treat' instead of 'trait'. The quizzes were tricky because often all the answers seemed correct, with only subtle differences of meaning between them, that meaning being slightly distorted by the wrong choice of words at times. However, I don't think these things greatly impacted my final scores, and it was interesting to learn about institutions in a different country.

By Soraya B

Jul 27, 2018

Thank you very much for this great course!

I especially liked:

(1) The dense content each week, (2) The diversity of cultural institutions covered during the course, (3) The positive and engaging attitude of Professor Andrea Rurale.

I would suggest the following improvements:

(1) There should be more case studies immediately after the presentation of theoretical models. There were many models presented each week, and too few opportunities to actually apply them to concrete cases to make sure they are understood and to help memorize them. Sometimes there were too many lists of concepts and not enough practical tips. (2) Perhaps 1 or 2 peer assignments should be compulsory to obtain the certificate? Not taking into account any grade - just to encourage participation in the peer exercises. (3) I found the music at the beginning and end of each video quite unpleasant and too loud compared to the sound level of the video afterwards.

By Valeria S

Jul 14, 2017

It's a very theoretical course and it gives a good overview and introduction to what Cultural Management is, however it's so theoretical that it's tedious. If you're someone who's already taken Art and Heritage management-related courses, I don't think this course will add much more to what you already know.

The visual aids are excellent and the interviews are great, perhaps you should consider them to include them along with each module instead of at the end. Other than that, they do encourage a dialogue between the administration and the curatorial parties within cultural institutions, which is excellent because it encourages the learner to be a flexible practitioner within the Arts field.

By Camille I

Jul 10, 2017

As a newbie to the world of arts and heritage management (and coming from the vastly different world of oral healthcare), I appreciate the topics covered in this course by Universita Bocconi. The content made me realize that working at a cultural institution definitely involves more than just "looking at art and presenting it". It's good to know that each institution should be a well-oiled management and administration machine that needs arts-inclined business-minded leaders.

I greatly appreciate this course. Thank you very much.

By Karen M

Apr 6, 2020

A great introduction to the nature, challenges and solutions in the arts and heritage management field. Clear, grounded in practice, and interesting. Could be improved by more difficult quizzes (but with improved English so the task isn't about guessing what the question/answer might mean); some more focussed and practical peer assessed assignments and discussion questions; and some more international content.

By Naomi P

Oct 29, 2019

An excellent informative course covering all aspects of arts and heritage management from a business oriented perspective, outlining the role of UNESCO in defining tangible and intangible cultural heritage and the management of cultural institutions economic development, sustainability, fundraising, digital transformation, creation of customer experiences, brand identity and loyalty.

By Hugo M d F

Jan 28, 2018

This course is a great introduction to Heritage Management. It course a wide range of topics and the example used are extremely relevant. The atmosphere created by the professor is pleasant and seeks to open discussions. I would totally recommend this course whether or not one is planning to work in this industry! Nevertheless, one may find the quizzes slightly too easy

By Italo L L

Nov 7, 2018

I was really pleased to attend and join this course. Since I yet studied brand management and some related subject, I found it the right, and accessible way to deepen my knowledges specifically, exploring a field like Arts and Cultural Heritage that touches and surrounds everyone of us, everyday. A functional and effective course, suggested!

By Emma P

Jul 21, 2020

Really interesting and accessible content, and the optional interviews with museum staff are so useful. The only barrier I faced in this course was the quality of English in quiz questions which made it difficult at times to understand what I was being asked.

By Jane B G A

May 15, 2021

An informative overview of the topic. Content needs to be updated as references are made to events and information over 5 years old. Better integrate videos with managers into modules that address specific topics, i.e., how a museum uses the GAP model.

By Gabriella A

Aug 15, 2021

it was really useful to repeat all the themes that i already studied during my master degree in this way, of course to be able to manage all of them u need to focus more on each but it was really really useful and rich of beautiful testimonials.

By veraliu1997@gmail.com

Apr 28, 2021

I think this course is a very good introductory course for beginners with no prior experience like me. I've learned many new concepts. I would like to know though how these management concepts may be applied in real life.