Chevron Left
Back to Arts and Heritage Management

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Arts and Heritage Management by Università Bocconi

4.8
stars
1,344 ratings

About the Course

Today cultural institutions are facing important dilemmas in many aspects of their management. Over the past decades, a new figure has emerged that of the art manager. Imagine you went to work every day to connect artists with audiences, vision with reality, and money with a mission. That is what managers in the arts do, they play an essential role in transforming the minds, lives, and communities through creative expression. This course has been conceptualized to address the need of skills and techniques to help professionals and managers in running art and cultural institutions. Learning Objectives There are three objectives to this course. First, we will approach the biggest issue cultural institutions face, the coexistence of managers and curators and giving evidence as to when, how, and why they can get along. Second, we will focus on some contemporary facets on what is means to manage a cultural institution and what cultural managers should expect and be able to face. And lastly, we will provide models and tools to design and implement appropriate courses of action to satisfy customers (visitors and audiences) and build an advantage over the competition. Course Structure The course is divided into six sections. Five sections are dedicated to specific aspects and themes of managing cultural institutions, while the sixth section is dedicated to individual interviews of prominent cultural institution managers on specific topics. The involvement of professionals and managers gives an incredible value to the learning experience of this course. Each module is paired with a quiz and discussion forums to reflect on the variety of the heritage management, its complexity, and the power of the network that we will build together during the course. Successful completion of the quizzes is required for a course certificate as explained in the Grading Policy page. If you love art and want to make an impact in this unique and fantastic sector, this course will support you in understanding the peculiarities of this sector and how to leverage on its tools to make a bigger impact. Look forward to meeting you online! Acknowledgements: Vatican Museums: www.museivaticani.va Cenacolo Vinciano:  www.beniculturali.it/mibac/export/MiBAC/sito-MiBAC/Contenuti/MibacUnif/Eventi/visualizza_asset.html_1283837989.html (ITA) FAI (Fondo Ambiente Italiano): eng.fondoambiente.it MUVE (Fondazione Musei Civici Venezia): www.visitmuve.it The National Trust: www.nationaltrust.org.uk The Archeological Site of Paestum: www.museopaestum.beniculturali.it whc.unesco.org/en/list/842 Museo dell'Opera del Duomo (Florence): www.museumflorence.com Museo del Violino: www.museodelviolino.org _________________________________ Disclaimer - Since some of the videos are conducted with those whose native language is not English, we have decided to sometimes preserve their more emphatic speech to keep a tighter match between the audio and subtitles....

Top reviews

RN

Mar 30, 2018

I'm really into this amazing course. it provide me with a wide range of information. it helps me to understand the field of museums and heritage management . Thank you for this useful course.

DG

Jan 9, 2021

Loved this course. Watching the lectures at historical sites brought the course to life and kept it interesting. The course was well structured and has encouraged me to continue in the field.

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 307 Reviews for Arts and Heritage Management

By Raissa M

Jun 4, 2020

The course is very interesting and well structured. The videos proposed, together with the extra material provided, are exhaustive and the explains are very clear. The topics covered are very relevant and I think they can be spent in the world of cultural heritage management.

By Thais B

Jan 25, 2021

It was a very pleasant course to take. Andrea Rurale is very enthusiastic and brings important information about arts and heritage management. I found specially very interesting and inspiring the visits to the sites and the interviews with directors and other professionals.

By Nizar J L

May 4, 2018

An excellent course covering most aspects of Arts and Heritage. The one thing I feel could have been dealt with in greater depth is the role of the curator and how he fits in this environment and his working relationship with the manager. All in all, a wonderful journey!!

By Luciana T

Aug 22, 2022

Highly recommended course! Useful data on heritage management and museums, review of theories in an entertaining way and excellent design of questions in the classes. You also tour and learn about heritage and museums in Italy. Thank you very much for this opportunity!

By SERENA E

Jul 19, 2020

This course is really well done: the topics are interesting and there are a lot of useful readings, the interviews with the experts also help to make the studied topics real. I recommend it to anyone interested in finding out what arts management is and how it works.

By Nathalie F

Sep 29, 2021

Je suis très satisfaite des cours proposés sur le management culturel ce sont des bonnes bases qui permettent d'envisager un projet professionnel dans ce domaine et de se familiariser avec de nombreux aspects du métier quelque soit l'institution culturelle choisie.

By Deep C

Apr 30, 2022

An excellent course, delivered in a lucid style by the Director of the program. It has many examples that help the student to understand the nuances of curatorship, managerial responsibilities and the importance of art and heritage management. Highly recommended!

By EMMA G

Oct 6, 2020

I Really enjoy this course

Hard at the beginning, since is my first course since University, in 1988, and that was the real challenge for me, but once i manage to understand the platform i really like it and realize this is the best way to spend COVID lock down!

By Pamela W

Dec 20, 2020

Very informative course and very interesting. I enjoyed the talks by tutor Andrea Rurale, as he was engaging and easy to listen to. I feel like I have learnt a lot more about arts and heritage regarding management, and would definitely recommend this course.

By Mariia S

Apr 16, 2017

Very useful information and datas about the customer satisfaction. Challenging self projects on city branding. And the insights of real managers of main Italian cultural institutions is just a brilliant addition to the theoretical part. Definitely recommend!

By Daniela C

Apr 17, 2020

I found this course very clear and well explained. It helps to understand the importance of a good management in cultural institutions and provides important tools in order to implement the student/learner level of knowledge. I highly recommend this course!

By Victoria A

Aug 12, 2020

It's a great course, I absolutely recommend it. I feel like I learned a lot and know I will use this knowledge somehow, someday. The instructor is pretty engaging and clear, there really is no previous knowledge required to understand and enjoy the course.

By Mrudula T

Sep 9, 2018

I think that the course was well thought out. However I thought it would be more helpful if we were given scenerio/ situation type of questions which we would have to deal with using our understanding of the course instead of quizzes based on definitions.

By Adriano B

May 16, 2020

The Bocconi's Art and Heritage Management course is a solid learning opportunity. The managers interviews in last unit are priceless. Highly recommended to everyone who has a good artistic background or is simply interested in art management. Well done!

By Vanessa S L

Jan 16, 2019

Amazing course. Professor Andrea has been very generous in leaving so many slides of each course week and video interviews , what enrichs the learning process. I strongly recommend this course for people who love art, heritage and museums, as I do.

By Irene C

Oct 14, 2020

This was very helpful in understanding the world of arts and heritage. Both if you are in the business or not I recommend to follow this course because it opens a lot of doors, discussions and there's always something new and interesting to learn.

By Tara C

Dec 10, 2019

The courses cover a wide range of important topics of running cultural organisations. The course is well-structured. With its tailor-made, high quality video teaching materials, this is the most enjoyable online course that I have ever taken.

By Magaly L

Dec 21, 2020

I have a history of art background and this course allowed me to focus on Arts management and Bocconi was the right solution for me because of its great quality lessons. It gave me tools to face this field that I'm interested to work in.

By Daniele R

Nov 10, 2022

It is an excellent and very informative course both in terms of the contents and execution. I strongly recommend it to anyone interested in arts and museum management. Congratulations to the University staff for the excellent job.

By Maria S

Sep 11, 2020

Amazing course, very didactic and perfectly adapted to the needs and challenges of the management of cultural institutions of the 21st century. Great interviews with prestigious professionals. Thanks to the teachers and monitors

By אורית ר

May 28, 2019

Skills I learned from this course: proper choice about quality, on product management, tangible and intangible culture on the social flux of the place to the city, on how to make it and how to create it. Recommends the course

By Antonio R

Apr 16, 2017

Very consistent course, full of great references (both academic and professional), with a good learning logic and good (nice and simpatic) professor/facilitator. It brings to me a lot of new ideas and information. Thank you!

By Romi M

Mar 4, 2023

Thank you so much for the opportunity to get insights into Art management discipline from Bocconi University. I enjoyed a lot the visual and audio materials of the course, all information was very relevant and interesting!

By Jorge G C T

May 5, 2021

This is a really helpful course that lays the basics of Arts and Heritage Management. This should be a mandatory course if you wish to pursue a career in the management of cultural institutions. Take it is worth your time.

By Beth M

Jan 25, 2021

A really insightful and informative course. It has given me a good foundation from which to develop my understanding of cultural institutions. How wonderful that we are able to access this course for free! Thank you