Chevron Left
Back to Arts and Heritage Management

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Arts and Heritage Management by Università Bocconi

4.8
stars
1,344 ratings

About the Course

Today cultural institutions are facing important dilemmas in many aspects of their management. Over the past decades, a new figure has emerged that of the art manager. Imagine you went to work every day to connect artists with audiences, vision with reality, and money with a mission. That is what managers in the arts do, they play an essential role in transforming the minds, lives, and communities through creative expression. This course has been conceptualized to address the need of skills and techniques to help professionals and managers in running art and cultural institutions. Learning Objectives There are three objectives to this course. First, we will approach the biggest issue cultural institutions face, the coexistence of managers and curators and giving evidence as to when, how, and why they can get along. Second, we will focus on some contemporary facets on what is means to manage a cultural institution and what cultural managers should expect and be able to face. And lastly, we will provide models and tools to design and implement appropriate courses of action to satisfy customers (visitors and audiences) and build an advantage over the competition. Course Structure The course is divided into six sections. Five sections are dedicated to specific aspects and themes of managing cultural institutions, while the sixth section is dedicated to individual interviews of prominent cultural institution managers on specific topics. The involvement of professionals and managers gives an incredible value to the learning experience of this course. Each module is paired with a quiz and discussion forums to reflect on the variety of the heritage management, its complexity, and the power of the network that we will build together during the course. Successful completion of the quizzes is required for a course certificate as explained in the Grading Policy page. If you love art and want to make an impact in this unique and fantastic sector, this course will support you in understanding the peculiarities of this sector and how to leverage on its tools to make a bigger impact. Look forward to meeting you online! Acknowledgements: Vatican Museums: www.museivaticani.va Cenacolo Vinciano:  www.beniculturali.it/mibac/export/MiBAC/sito-MiBAC/Contenuti/MibacUnif/Eventi/visualizza_asset.html_1283837989.html (ITA) FAI (Fondo Ambiente Italiano): eng.fondoambiente.it MUVE (Fondazione Musei Civici Venezia): www.visitmuve.it The National Trust: www.nationaltrust.org.uk The Archeological Site of Paestum: www.museopaestum.beniculturali.it whc.unesco.org/en/list/842 Museo dell'Opera del Duomo (Florence): www.museumflorence.com Museo del Violino: www.museodelviolino.org _________________________________ Disclaimer - Since some of the videos are conducted with those whose native language is not English, we have decided to sometimes preserve their more emphatic speech to keep a tighter match between the audio and subtitles....

Top reviews

RN

Mar 30, 2018

I'm really into this amazing course. it provide me with a wide range of information. it helps me to understand the field of museums and heritage management . Thank you for this useful course.

DG

Jan 9, 2021

Loved this course. Watching the lectures at historical sites brought the course to life and kept it interesting. The course was well structured and has encouraged me to continue in the field.

Filter by:

126 - 150 of 307 Reviews for Arts and Heritage Management

By Krisztina K

Sep 17, 2017

I very much enjoyed this course. Content is excellent, explained with clarity, to the point, excellent examples. Lecturer, Andrea Rurale is excellent.

By Parastoo N

May 15, 2020

it was a great course. all the lectures were so easy to understand and the material and all those books and essays were fantastic. thank you so much.

By Martina C P

Apr 19, 2022

I really enjoyed this course. Andrea explained everything very clearly in all the videos and the slides were helpful material to support the course.

By Vicky A

Jul 17, 2020

I really enjoyed this course. The material and videos were easy to understand and were very interesting. I have learned a lot taking this course.

By Robin M T

Dec 10, 2017

EXCELLENT COURSE! WHILE IT WAS SOMTIMES DIFFICULT TO UNDERSTAND THE INSTRUCTOR, I FOUND IT TO BE AN ADDED BENIFIT; FELT LIKE I WAS IN ITALY!

By Tatiana A d L

Mar 5, 2020

Excellent opportunity !!! Very complete and thought provoking course! I recommend! Thank you Coursera and Bocconi.Excelente oportunidade!!!

By Diogo A S R

Jun 11, 2017

What a fantastic course! It does offers a deep insight of the Art & Heritage management with many academic references and current trends.

By Débora C

Apr 26, 2022

Excelente curso, muito completo e com material riquíssimo! Traz uma visão bem ampla do tema, gerando muitos insights. Super recomendo :D

By Zamina R

Dec 24, 2021

I have learned a lot about art and heritage management with the help of this course.Thank you for sharing your knowledge and experience!

By Leila F

Oct 27, 2017

Very well structured. i would encourage others to take this enjoyable and useful course.

Art and Heritage is allover.

Thank you!

Leila

By azadeh m

Oct 23, 2023

I learn a looooot from this course. Thanks for providing such a great opportunity for all the art and heritage lovers in the world!

By Ricardo V

Aug 5, 2019

Extensive course with top quality information regarding relevant topics about administration and cultural institutions' management.

By Mariana A A G

May 30, 2020

Incredibly clear, full of real life examples, up to date, a great start for those interested in Arts and Heritage Management.

By самойленко д а

Aug 9, 2020

Wonderful course. I like that there are videos- interviews with artist, managers, directors etc. not only study- material.

By Riley-Quinn R

Jul 31, 2018

I really enjoyed learning the ins and outs of management and what they focus on in their career, I was really interested!

By Francesco B

Apr 4, 2020

A well structured and very useful course. I learned a lot even tought I have experience in the cultural heritage field.

By Jan L

Oct 14, 2020

Excellent course with a very good structure. Good delivery of knowledge with theory, articles and practical examples.

By Cerit C

Feb 24, 2021

I had such a great experience, Thank you so much for essential and useful knowledge on Cultural Heritage Management.

By Walter B

Oct 26, 2021

truly enjoyed course and the intructors positioning of the flow material presented, orginized and professional.

By Bruno M M

Mar 7, 2019

Excelente curso abordando um largo espectro de temáticas relacionadas com o tema, aplicado à realidade italiana.

By CARLOS C

Jan 22, 2017

The course presents the core basis of Cultural Heritage Management in a very attractive way. Highly recommended.

By Ignacio R G

May 8, 2018

Great and interesting course that takes you into very useful management techniques for cultural institutions.

By Mariana P

Oct 5, 2018

It´s a very useful course to understand problem of management in a cultural institution. Thank you so much.

By Hanife G

May 10, 2021

I have learned about marketing and management on perspective of museums. Thank you Universita Bocconi.

By Lavanyaa S

Mar 3, 2020

Excellent course work that gives insights about the management and the curatorship in the Art industry