Chevron Left
Back to Arts and Heritage Management

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Arts and Heritage Management by Università Bocconi

4.8
stars
1,344 ratings

About the Course

Today cultural institutions are facing important dilemmas in many aspects of their management. Over the past decades, a new figure has emerged that of the art manager. Imagine you went to work every day to connect artists with audiences, vision with reality, and money with a mission. That is what managers in the arts do, they play an essential role in transforming the minds, lives, and communities through creative expression. This course has been conceptualized to address the need of skills and techniques to help professionals and managers in running art and cultural institutions. Learning Objectives There are three objectives to this course. First, we will approach the biggest issue cultural institutions face, the coexistence of managers and curators and giving evidence as to when, how, and why they can get along. Second, we will focus on some contemporary facets on what is means to manage a cultural institution and what cultural managers should expect and be able to face. And lastly, we will provide models and tools to design and implement appropriate courses of action to satisfy customers (visitors and audiences) and build an advantage over the competition. Course Structure The course is divided into six sections. Five sections are dedicated to specific aspects and themes of managing cultural institutions, while the sixth section is dedicated to individual interviews of prominent cultural institution managers on specific topics. The involvement of professionals and managers gives an incredible value to the learning experience of this course. Each module is paired with a quiz and discussion forums to reflect on the variety of the heritage management, its complexity, and the power of the network that we will build together during the course. Successful completion of the quizzes is required for a course certificate as explained in the Grading Policy page. If you love art and want to make an impact in this unique and fantastic sector, this course will support you in understanding the peculiarities of this sector and how to leverage on its tools to make a bigger impact. Look forward to meeting you online! Acknowledgements: Vatican Museums: www.museivaticani.va Cenacolo Vinciano:  www.beniculturali.it/mibac/export/MiBAC/sito-MiBAC/Contenuti/MibacUnif/Eventi/visualizza_asset.html_1283837989.html (ITA) FAI (Fondo Ambiente Italiano): eng.fondoambiente.it MUVE (Fondazione Musei Civici Venezia): www.visitmuve.it The National Trust: www.nationaltrust.org.uk The Archeological Site of Paestum: www.museopaestum.beniculturali.it whc.unesco.org/en/list/842 Museo dell'Opera del Duomo (Florence): www.museumflorence.com Museo del Violino: www.museodelviolino.org _________________________________ Disclaimer - Since some of the videos are conducted with those whose native language is not English, we have decided to sometimes preserve their more emphatic speech to keep a tighter match between the audio and subtitles....

Top reviews

RN

Mar 30, 2018

I'm really into this amazing course. it provide me with a wide range of information. it helps me to understand the field of museums and heritage management . Thank you for this useful course.

DG

Jan 9, 2021

Loved this course. Watching the lectures at historical sites brought the course to life and kept it interesting. The course was well structured and has encouraged me to continue in the field.

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 307 Reviews for Arts and Heritage Management

By Annie K

Jun 13, 2017

I really enjoyed this course. It was a good review of previous management courses I have taken with application to arts and heritage sites and museums. I feel it will benefit me as an employee of within the Museum field. The only struggle I had was occasionally being confused by some wording, as the instructor's first language is not English (although the course is in English.)

By Alessandra B

Oct 4, 2022

Provides a good and interesting overview of the dynamics occurring in the arts management, which are the challenges and the opportunities arising in this new subfield of management.

But most important, provides an understanding of how complex and evolving this will be over the years, and that it will require more and more specific approaches to management of cultural institutions

By Martina G

Apr 8, 2021

Very interesting and useful course! It changed my perspective on certain things and helped me gain insight into business and managerial aspects of museums and art institutions. As an art historian and a tour guide, I believe I will have the opportunity to use some of the things I've learned, especially when it comes to customer relations and marketing culture heritage.

By Pawan C

Sep 22, 2020

This is course by Bocconi University is the best out there on coursera for those inclined towards Arts and Heritage management . Detailed theories with practicality , simple language, insights and personal interviews. The course presenter Andrea Rurale never makes you feel to be bored ! As an Architect and Management student I was able to connect all the dots .

By Veronica C

May 9, 2021

I have been working in cultural heritage since 2000 in high level institution but, when I started the direction of a Foundation of Art, I realized that I lacked managerial skills. I have done several courses and one master, so I can affirm that this course is very useful, it offers many concrete suggestions and ideas for further studies. I recommend it!

By TONG W S

Sep 21, 2020

Amazing course, each week is consisted of well-planned bits that are easy to understand. Efforts were also put into the filming process, really appreciate filming the lessons in heritage sites and museums in Italy, makes it enjoyable to watch the videos. Definitely increased my interest in visiting/studying in Bocconi for further studies in the future.

By Vladislav K

Aug 18, 2017

Thank you very much! Excellent course! I have enlarged my knowledge a lot. You have explained the theory in a very clear and accessible manner and gave a perfect practical advices and examples. I am certain that I will use everything that you taught me here in everyday work in the museum. Best wishes and a cordiall thanks for all who made this course!

By Hansmukh S

Jan 25, 2017

its an amazing course work. All study material (videos and readings) is entirely connected with course and requirements of students and very easy to understand. Anyone, who want to learn their subject i easy way, try to do this courses and even the facilitators and specialists also should see this atleast once. a big thanks to entire COURSERA team.

By Eirini G

Jul 14, 2020

This is my first Coursera Course. I am favorably impressed by the quality of video shooting and the diversity of issues presented on the context of Arts Management. Particularly appreciated the knowledgeable yet friendly way of Andrea Rurale in presenting. I also have to give a positive feedback on the quickness of mentors to answer any questions

By Claire B

May 2, 2021

Thank you Bocconi. I have thoroughly enjoyed the content and the imagery in this course and would recommend it to anyone who would like a more business orientated view into the subject of Arts and Heritage Management. This course is very contemporary and gives a fantastic overview of the direction Arts Management is now following. Thank you.

By Fiammetta G

Nov 29, 2020

Attending this course has been a really appreciated chance to have an overview onto this world.

Since I have a strong background both in humanities and in STEM, I find this field extremely interesting and challenging, and seeing how dynamic and vital this world is through this online-learning platform was for me a unique opportunity.

By Ainara G F

Dec 29, 2018

It is incredible the quality of the information. It summarises everything with beautiful images and, on top of that, it also brings us to most of the best places in Italy when it comes to Heritage. I learnt a lot and I am very happy to have taken this course. Thank you to all the team and the people that created it.

By Juan E S R

May 21, 2020

This course was very interesting. It help me to understand where management meets arts and culture. After the course I was able to think strategically about the role of museums, galleries, theaters and other cultural spaces to promote a city, increase social capital and have a more interesting cultural life.

By Ruth B

Jun 21, 2022

I did this course in order to add it to my portfolio of knowledge. This is an excellent course, very thorough and very professional. It was also nice to meet some friendly new people in the peer review and to discuss sections. Thank you. I would like to see this course developed to an accredited capacity.

By Shanese N

May 24, 2020

This was a course; Both engaging and interesting. Teachings at various locations permitted me to feel as if I were there. This allowed me to feel apart of the collective driving the arts towards the future. The course was not too difficult to understand. While also being clear about the subject matter.

By Leonid I

Jan 24, 2018

Great course! Unique and fascinating content. Fun and effective way to get in touch with plenty of arts management aspects. Active discussions and comprehensive feedbacks from moderators. Special thanks for the content of the 6th week, namely video interviews with the heads of cultural institutions!!!

By Jacqueline A

Dec 29, 2020

I’ve really learnt a lot! I can feel that every single thing that is being thought in this course will be useful for my future career.

The explanations are very clear and the fact that each video is short helps to maintain the focus on point, especially if you (like me) tend to get easily distracted.

By Tetiana T

Mar 17, 2018

It was a great overview of how the museums and historical sites are managed. The content is well prepared, lectures aren't overloading you with information, yet giving you a pretty clear view of the topic. Would be nice to hear more about the CRM implementation and measurement of customer engagement.

By Montserrat H S

Apr 14, 2019

Un curso clave para comprender mejor el sector cultural desde el área de gestión de las artes y el patrimonio. Muchas gracias a todos los profesores y alumnos que con sus contribuciones y opiniones y clases me hicieron crecer y también muchas gracias a Coursera por hacer posible este curso.

By Ron G

Mar 3, 2023

The course is excellent. It i sbuilt properly allowing to understand each part in a good and profound way. the presentations helps and the interviews at teh end of the course are very important and hands on. Andrea is a very good leacturer and he mad eteh course in a very enjoyable way.

By Artemis K

Oct 29, 2017

I would like to thank Mr.Rurale and the Universita Bocconi for this great course, which is very interesting and useful. I was also amazed by the museums and the archaeological sites, where some of the lectures and the interviews with the managers were filmed. Best regards, Artemis Kinia

By Gunes U

Aug 4, 2017

I really enjoyed this course - it provided different perspectives on several fields, fundamentals of the art industry, and also the video shootings were very interesting, giving insights from the actual heritage sites, and the quizes and discussions encouraged a true thinkinh process.

By Ines Ž

Jul 4, 2020

I really like the structure. Everything is easily explained, yet the course is giving us glimpses of Italian art institutions and cultural sites which are creating aspirations to visit. ;) So well done. The lecturer is really really good. Would want to take a MA at the Bocconni!:)

By Omar M

Mar 21, 2019

This is my second course by Bocconi University. Great instructor and rich content which help me learning about a new field. Coursera made this learning experience incredibly amazing and interesting. I strongly recommend Bocconi courses and of course Coursera learning platform.

By Katarina

Dec 27, 2017

Very informative, enjoyable and educational! Gives you perspective on wide array topics ! High quality programs and well organized lectures with a marvelous teacher that in a intersting way introduces you too art heritage management....I felt it was worthwile my time and money