Chevron Left
Back to Arts and Heritage Management

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Arts and Heritage Management by Università Bocconi

4.8
395 ratings
96 reviews

About the Course

Today cultural institutions are facing important dilemmas in many aspects of their management. Over the past decades, a new figure has emerged that of the art manager. Imagine you went to work every day to connect artists with audiences, vision with reality, and money with a mission. That is what managers in the arts do, they play an essential role in transforming the minds, lives, and communities through creative expression. This course has been conceptualized to address the need of skills and techniques to help professionals and managers in running art and cultural institutions. Learning Objectives There are three objectives to this course. First, we will approach the biggest issue cultural institutions face, the coexistence of managers and curators and giving evidence as to when, how, and why they can get along. Second, we will focus on some contemporary facets on what is means to manage a cultural institution and what cultural managers should expect and be able to face. And lastly, we will provide models and tools to design and implement appropriate courses of action to satisfy customers (visitors and audiences) and build an advantage over the competition. Course Structure The course is divided into six sections. Five sections are dedicated to specific aspects and themes of managing cultural institutions, while the sixth section is dedicated to individual interviews of prominent cultural institution managers on specific topics. The involvement of professionals and managers gives an incredible value to the learning experience of this course. Each module is paired with a quiz and discussion forums to reflect on the variety of the heritage management, its complexity, and the power of the network that we will build together during the course. Successful completion of the quizzes is required for a course certificate as explained in the Grading Policy page. If you love art and want to make an impact in this unique and fantastic sector, this course will support you in understanding the peculiarities of this sector and how to leverage on its tools to make a bigger impact. Look forward to meeting you online! Acknowledgements: Vatican Museums: www.museivaticani.va Cenacolo Vinciano:  www.beniculturali.it/mibac/export/MiBAC/sito-MiBAC/Contenuti/MibacUnif/Eventi/visualizza_asset.html_1283837989.html (ITA) FAI (Fondo Ambiente Italiano): eng.fondoambiente.it MUVE (Fondazione Musei Civici Venezia): www.visitmuve.it The National Trust: www.nationaltrust.org.uk The Archeological Site of Paestum: www.museopaestum.beniculturali.it whc.unesco.org/en/list/842 Museo dell'Opera del Duomo (Florence): www.museumflorence.com Museo del Violino: www.museodelviolino.org _________________________________ Disclaimer - Since some of the videos are conducted with those whose native language is not English, we have decided to sometimes preserve their more emphatic speech to keep a tighter match between the audio and subtitles....

Top reviews

RN

Mar 31, 2018

I'm really into this amazing course. it provide me with a wide range of information. it helps me to understand the field of museums and heritage management . Thank you for this useful course.

HS

Sep 02, 2018

It was an incredibly interesting course that made me realize so many important facets of working in a cultural institution. The course content was very rich and the lecturer was brilliant.

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 96 Reviews for Arts and Heritage Management

By Katerina S

Dec 28, 2017

Great insight into the complex process of managing a cultural institution!

By Krisztina K

Sep 17, 2017

I very much enjoyed this course. Content is excellent, explained with clarity, to the point, excellent examples. Lecturer, Andrea Rurale is excellent.

By Leonardo M V S

Jul 09, 2018

Excelente curso. Muy completo con contenidos increíbles y docentes muy bien preparados. Recomiendo este curso ampliamente a todos aquellos interesados en los museos, la historia y la conservación del patrimonio.

By Antonio R

Apr 16, 2017

Very consistent course, full of great references (both academic and professional), with a good learning logic and good (nice and simpatic) professor/facilitator. It brings to me a lot of new ideas and information. Thank you!

By Didier M

Dec 07, 2016

Very concise and interesting course. Thanks for offering Art & Heritage Management perspective.

By Frank M

Apr 08, 2017

Great course!

By Andrea O E

Jul 23, 2017

Great course! I totally recommend it.

By Bausone L

Nov 16, 2017

Good course, well exposed and with a

By Zhengnan L

Jun 01, 2017

I am a student enrolled in heritage studies of MA programme. This course helps me engage my knowledge in heritage field into the market, which is awesome.

By Heloise

Mar 17, 2018

It was a great overview of how the museums and historical sites are managed. The content is well prepared, lectures aren't overloading you with information, yet giving you a pretty clear view of the topic. Would be nice to hear more about the CRM implementation and measurement of customer engagement.

By Ignacio R G

May 09, 2018

Great and interesting course that takes you into very useful management techniques for cultural institutions.

By Fu X

Sep 01, 2017

It's a very creative lesson, very useful, and very systematic.

By Silvia

Mar 13, 2017

A challenging course with tons of theoretical information.

By Ariana f

Mar 19, 2018

I had learned a lot in six weeks. It´s a dynamic course, great materials (PPT and videos), great interviews and also a good exchange between peers and mentor.

I strongly recommended.

By Karishma s

Mar 20, 2018

very educational

By Katarina

Dec 27, 2017

Very informative, enjoyable and educational! Gives you perspective on wide array topics ! High quality programs and well organized lectures with a marvelous teacher that in a intersting way introduces you too art heritage management....I felt it was worthwile my time and money

By Nizar J L

May 04, 2018

An excellent course covering most aspects of Arts and Heritage. The one thing I feel could have been dealt with in greater depth is the role of the curator and how he fits in this environment and his working relationship with the manager. All in all, a wonderful journey!!

By Hanna Z

Apr 07, 2018

This course gave me an opportunity to meet new people and to improve my knowledge.

By Leonid I

Jan 24, 2018

Great course! Unique and fascinating content. Fun and effective way to get in touch with plenty of arts management aspects. Active discussions and comprehensive feedbacks from moderators. Special thanks for the content of the 6th week, namely video interviews with the heads of cultural institutions!!!

By Ira P

May 25, 2018

Great, practical and very useful course!

By Regan N

Mar 31, 2018

I'm really into this amazing course. it provide me with a wide range of information. it helps me to understand the field of museums and heritage management . Thank you for this useful course.

By Swapneel D

Apr 22, 2019

Indeed a great course :) and respect to history!

By Montserrat H S

Apr 15, 2019

Un curso clave para comprender mejor el sector cultural desde el área de gestión de las artes y el patrimonio. Muchas gracias a todos los profesores y alumnos que con sus contribuciones y opiniones y clases me hicieron crecer y también muchas gracias a Coursera por hacer posible este curso.

By Orit R

May 28, 2019

Skills I learned from this course: proper choice about quality, on product management, tangible and intangible culture on the social flux of the place to the city, on how to make it and how to create it. Recommends the course

By Maria R

Jul 31, 2019

A well-designed course which is more likely still engaging learners and positively affect their interests and expectations.

Through the course the learner is able to see the process, receive fresh ideas from co-learners, mentors, colleagues of this field of study, who are interested in the Art and Heritage management, have a practice on work and can offer specific feedback in a positive tone that helps you to improve the quality of your course and create a more active learning experience.

The materials were great for every Week, that helps to learn a lot of hard moments you could missed or meet for the first time. Thanks to them you knew what you need to know from the deep theoretical point and the videos are help to understanding all together at all and combine on practice.

Thank you!