Chevron Left
Back to Arts and Heritage Management

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Arts and Heritage Management by Università Bocconi

4.8
stars
1,343 ratings

About the Course

Today cultural institutions are facing important dilemmas in many aspects of their management. Over the past decades, a new figure has emerged that of the art manager. Imagine you went to work every day to connect artists with audiences, vision with reality, and money with a mission. That is what managers in the arts do, they play an essential role in transforming the minds, lives, and communities through creative expression. This course has been conceptualized to address the need of skills and techniques to help professionals and managers in running art and cultural institutions. Learning Objectives There are three objectives to this course. First, we will approach the biggest issue cultural institutions face, the coexistence of managers and curators and giving evidence as to when, how, and why they can get along. Second, we will focus on some contemporary facets on what is means to manage a cultural institution and what cultural managers should expect and be able to face. And lastly, we will provide models and tools to design and implement appropriate courses of action to satisfy customers (visitors and audiences) and build an advantage over the competition. Course Structure The course is divided into six sections. Five sections are dedicated to specific aspects and themes of managing cultural institutions, while the sixth section is dedicated to individual interviews of prominent cultural institution managers on specific topics. The involvement of professionals and managers gives an incredible value to the learning experience of this course. Each module is paired with a quiz and discussion forums to reflect on the variety of the heritage management, its complexity, and the power of the network that we will build together during the course. Successful completion of the quizzes is required for a course certificate as explained in the Grading Policy page. If you love art and want to make an impact in this unique and fantastic sector, this course will support you in understanding the peculiarities of this sector and how to leverage on its tools to make a bigger impact. Look forward to meeting you online! Acknowledgements: Vatican Museums: www.museivaticani.va Cenacolo Vinciano:  www.beniculturali.it/mibac/export/MiBAC/sito-MiBAC/Contenuti/MibacUnif/Eventi/visualizza_asset.html_1283837989.html (ITA) FAI (Fondo Ambiente Italiano): eng.fondoambiente.it MUVE (Fondazione Musei Civici Venezia): www.visitmuve.it The National Trust: www.nationaltrust.org.uk The Archeological Site of Paestum: www.museopaestum.beniculturali.it whc.unesco.org/en/list/842 Museo dell'Opera del Duomo (Florence): www.museumflorence.com Museo del Violino: www.museodelviolino.org _________________________________ Disclaimer - Since some of the videos are conducted with those whose native language is not English, we have decided to sometimes preserve their more emphatic speech to keep a tighter match between the audio and subtitles....

Top reviews

DG

Jan 9, 2021

Loved this course. Watching the lectures at historical sites brought the course to life and kept it interesting. The course was well structured and has encouraged me to continue in the field.

RN

Mar 30, 2018

I'm really into this amazing course. it provide me with a wide range of information. it helps me to understand the field of museums and heritage management . Thank you for this useful course.

Filter by:

101 - 125 of 306 Reviews for Arts and Heritage Management

By Ewerson T d S D

Jun 18, 2022

Great! I am responsible for a museum in Curitiba, Brazil, and this course was an amazing addition to my academic background in museology and history. I recommend it to everyone who is part of cultural institutions.

By Rebecca W W

Jun 13, 2019

The course was more thorough and complete than I expected. There are lots of references to recent research. Materials are short (to minimise boredom), interactive and the quizzes informational. Highly recommended.

By Vesna B

Dec 2, 2021

Very elaborated and comprehensive course. It gives a lot of information to the beginners in art and heritage management as well as a great overview for the experts in the field. I enjoyed listening and learning.

By Leonardo M V S

Jul 8, 2018

Excelente curso. Muy completo con contenidos increíbles y docentes muy bien preparados. Recomiendo este curso ampliamente a todos aquellos interesados en los museos, la historia y la conservación del patrimonio.

By Maria A T

Nov 20, 2017

Really useful course, very interesting and with a vary vast approach on the subject. Provides great study materials, interviews, interractive options, and the prof. is amazing!

I would highly reccomend it!

By Filipe F

Jan 16, 2022

Muito bom! Me ajudou bastante a entender sobre a gestão de uma instituição cultural e como cada área deve ser administrada conforme as competências acadêmicas e experienciais dos gestores das áreas.

By Francesca G

Apr 10, 2021

As a toursit guid I found this course very useful and I would invite Course and Bocconi University to develop similar courses. even taking in consideration what has happened because of the pandemia.

By Milla S

Aug 1, 2023

The course is actually about marketing in cultural sphere. I like its structure and content in general. I recommend it to newbies and fans of Italian odour (that's motherland of classic art).

By Benedetta B

Mar 26, 2021

i found this online cours very useful, I learned a lot and i would recommande it to everyone that want to know more about cultural institutions, not only the artistic and the historic part.

By Richard R H

May 20, 2020

A very interesting, high quality, and thought-provoking course. I'm sure this will help me in my career and already it's influenced the direction my career will take going forward.

By Yasmina A G

Dec 27, 2020

Muy buena calidad, tanto de contenido como de los videos. Creo que la producción de los videos es de lo mejor que he visto en un curso de esta plataforma. Un 10 para los creadores

By Yulia M

May 22, 2020

I do really liked the course. I have gained a lot of important knowledge in order to improve the level of my expertise. I will recommend this course to my friends and colleagues!

By Constança C S

Apr 25, 2020

I learned a lot with this course. I think it is well structured and puts information in a clear and easily understandable way. Thank you for providing this course opportunity!

By Cyntia H

Sep 8, 2020

This is a awesome course! Thank to technology. I Could learn where and when ever I want despite my hectic schedule in museum. I can't wait to enroll another class! Cheersssss

By Riccardo N L

Jul 5, 2017

Very interesting course, it will be very useful for me in my work (I teach art in a secondary school). Interviews with directors, in module 6, are fantastic testimonials.

By Vikrant P

Oct 18, 2023

An excellent course for all the arts and heritage enthusiast. Point-by-point explanation of core concepts with example. Loved learning this course. Thank you Coursera.

By Yoko

May 24, 2020

It was very intresting lectures. I got knowledge and motiveted by other students' opinions. I would like to work with things I got by this course. Thank you so much.

By Victoria M

Apr 3, 2021

Thanks for the course. There is a lot of information to understand. The presentation of information is interesting, stylized. Thanks to the creators of the course

By Virginie F

Jun 13, 2017

Excellenand very well managed courses along the journey. A big thanks for all the knowledge provided along these past weeks. With best regards, Virginie Francois

By Mary O

Oct 1, 2021

The course is very interesting and educative despite being the first time that l attempted the course, l was still able to learn with ease and understanding.

By Amanda U

Jun 14, 2020

Great class for someone interested in the arts, and wants to know more about art management. There was so much I didn't know, and I'm happy I took the class.

By Carol S

Jul 31, 2019

Very enjoyable, easy to understand what makes the arts and heritage sector unique while retaining areas of commonality wiht the for profit sector actions.

By Zhengnan L

Jun 1, 2017

I am a student enrolled in heritage studies of MA programme. This course helps me engage my knowledge in heritage field into the market, which is awesome.

By Ana T

Nov 28, 2021

I am very satisfied with this course. I learned many new and practical things. I have gained useful information, which I can't wait to put into practice.