Chevron Left
Back to Astrobiology and the Search for Extraterrestrial Life

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Astrobiology and the Search for Extraterrestrial Life by The University of Edinburgh

4.8
stars
2,358 ratings
645 reviews

About the Course

Learn about the origin and evolution of life and the search for life beyond the Earth....

Top reviews

VS
Sep 15, 2020

A great opportunity to learn a lot of things especially in terms of seeking the origin of life here on our planet Earth and beyond in the vast universe. Thank you for the knowledge and everything.

KG
Jul 24, 2020

A great opportunity to learn a lot of things especially in terms of seeking the origin of life here on our planet Earth and beyond in the vast universe. Thank you for the knowledge and everything.

Filter by:

526 - 550 of 635 Reviews for Astrobiology and the Search for Extraterrestrial Life

By FOTIOS P

Feb 27, 2020

The course was very interesting and the lectures were very well executed. If there is something negative about the course, it would some issues related with some outdated material. There were some points for example where dates such as 2013 and 2015 were refereed to as future dates which means some of the date there may not be accurate or even somethings might don't be even the same as they are today in 2020.

By Akshat N

May 18, 2020

Found this course very informative and helpful for understanding what is actually happening right up there. Astrobiology and the Search for Extraterrestrial Life is indeed an emerging and great future field that will surely benefit to lot of students across world to get to know about our old and early earth and also regarding our search for more habitable planets in this universe! :)

By Samantha B

Jan 30, 2021

Good course, covers a wide range of topics related to astrobiology. While I have already studied a bit of this subject, it did bring in some new information for me, which I am pleased about. Some of the information is a little bit outdated, as it referenced events "going to happen" in years 2013 and 2015, in regards to missions and projects.,

By wilfried b

Oct 28, 2017

Clear explanation by Charles Cockell. The course gives a nice introduction, an overview of the history and latest developments of this area, which covers numerous subjects. Charles places them in the right context. What I miss are some references (books, web site links, articles) to dig into some more details.

By Sumit B

May 26, 2020

very nice, comprehensive and synthesis have been wonderful. Possible chronological development can be better, and science behind them (especially mineralization and fossilization, stellar nucleosynthesis, steller and galactic structure, relation of life with physical constants of universe) can be meade better

By Daniel M

Aug 25, 2015

Very interesting material, and very well explained. The course is slightly out of date, and a couple of the test questions were poorly worded (mostly, these were corrected), but overall it is educational and fun to participate in. I enjoyed it and I learned even more about something that interested me.

By Rob E

Jul 11, 2016

The teaching methods and pace were quite fine but it lacked a bit of media presentation pizzazz. It was definitely sufficient but could've been a little better production quality-wise. The professor had an amiable vibe and definitely seem to be a master of his field. I enjoyed it and plan to resume.

By A C

Aug 9, 2019

It was an excellent course! It was brilliantly taught and offered some great insights. However, I'd have liked it if it were more up-to-date. Nonetheless, I had fun learning about the origins of life on Earth, the possibility of life on Mars, Extraterrestrial intelligence and other topics covered.

By Torrey W

Dec 31, 2015

I really enjoyed this course. It threw me, at first, that the whole course was only lectures -- no videos or readings -- but so much of this course will be applicable to teaching biology that it's useful no matter what. I also had a small problem with verifying quizzes on my phone.

By James L

Jun 28, 2016

Very intensive course, definitely very well detailed and thorough. The tests often rely on paying attention to the smallest details of the lecture, which while frustrating, forces you to learn. Its one of the hardest courses on here, but also the most rewarding when you finish it.

By Paul P

Aug 13, 2016

Very good introductory course that embraces a broad range of topics. The depth of coverage, however, is somewhat shallow in comparison to other scientific courses aimed at beginners, such as the outstanding 'Origins' course from the University of Copenhagen.

By David F

Aug 13, 2015

Very informative, well organized and well presented. My only complaint is that the class was a little on the short side, and it could have went into more detail at a couple of points. I would still recommend the course, regardless of length (and have).

By ivantong

Feb 6, 2021

thanks and the course provided oversight about the background on astrobiology. Suggest to include more contemporary topics at SETI e.g. how the community can contribute; and some more insights about levels of cilivisation like Kardashev scale

By Keith P

Nov 16, 2017

This is a wonderful course to getting started in Astrobiology basics, with solid facts on geology, biology, evolution and astronomy. The quality of the lectures, the pace and the instructor himself made these few weeks really interesting!

By Tom N

Apr 23, 2016

While a decent overview, the course is a bit dated (2012), One thing that would be nice, is having the key topics that are being talked about, show up on the backdrop. Sometimes, there too much information being presented too quickly.

By Gunnar H

Oct 7, 2015

Thank you very much for this course.

I think I now have a good understanding of what Astrobiology is and how it is possible to look out for life on other planets.

Hopefully some of the big questions of astrobiology will be answered :)

By Amy C

Aug 24, 2015

I learned a lot from this course. It did feel like some of the videos were out of order in the first two weeks of the class. Overall, it was very interesting and I now know more about a subject I was unfamiliar with previously.

By Douglas R

Sep 14, 2020

Solid course but no new research since 2014 which really shows with the exoplanets and some of the more recent space missions. Perhaps a updating including some of the data from the recent Venus discovery would be in order.

By Nguyễn H T

Aug 14, 2015

The professor explained all the issues clearly. The lectures cover many interesting aspects of astrobiology.

I would wish for more updated news though. For example, the New Horizons spacecraft has already reached Pluto.

By Robin t B

Aug 19, 2015

Very interesting, the professor is a great teller. Unfortunately the tests in week 4 are pretty bad, and the order of the lectures in week 1 and 2 seems off. Well worth 5 stars without these two imperfections.

By Juan R O

Feb 6, 2016

Excellent course, I learned a lot but I think it should have some peer reviewed assignments, like a little research on some topic, so that you have to look for information and learn a lot more in the process.

By Sarah S

Feb 21, 2018

Really solid information and well thought out. I do wish it was updated more recently, as this is a fast-moving field and some information is now missing or out-of-date. Still very worth taking regardless.

By 13. N A

Nov 11, 2018

This was a very informative course and it widened my field of thinking and knowledge. I was amused by the vast amounts of wonders that this Universe has to offer. I thank the Professor for this.

By Raghav M

Aug 6, 2020

It is a really nice course. Learned a lot about our universe . But if things would be a little more in detail then it would have been perfect. But still it was really nice learning this course.

By Kurt M

Sep 8, 2015

I really enjoyed learning about astrobiology. We certainly live in interesting times, and this course does an excellent job introducing the students to the current topics and technologies.