Chevron Left
Back to Astrobiology and the Search for Extraterrestrial Life

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Astrobiology and the Search for Extraterrestrial Life by The University of Edinburgh

4.8
stars
2,331 ratings
639 reviews

About the Course

Learn about the origin and evolution of life and the search for life beyond the Earth....

Top reviews

KG
Jul 24, 2020

A great opportunity to learn a lot of things especially in terms of seeking the origin of life here on our planet Earth and beyond in the vast universe. Thank you for the knowledge and everything.

VS
Sep 15, 2020

A great opportunity to learn a lot of things especially in terms of seeking the origin of life here on our planet Earth and beyond in the vast universe. Thank you for the knowledge and everything.

Filter by:

601 - 625 of 629 Reviews for Astrobiology and the Search for Extraterrestrial Life

By Laura G

Apr 30, 2016

beautiful and interesting course

By Vicente G

Sep 4, 2015

Very interesting and easy.

By James I C

Sep 4, 2015

A very interesting course

By Frederick G

Sep 27, 2015

Good inte onto the area.

By Francine

Sep 18, 2016

Very interesting stuff!

By Hans H

Sep 7, 2015

Fundamentals are good

By David P P

Nov 25, 2018

It is interesting

By Michael Y

Dec 8, 2015

Great course, ta!

By Caio V D L

Feb 8, 2016

I missed math.

By Tyler D

Oct 18, 2015

A lot of g

By Thom T

May 31, 2019

Perhaps it could have gone into more depth it was ver basic. I understand this is a beginner course but then why not put links to extra readings for example for those who understand more about biology and organic chemistry and want to learn in more depth

By Fred P

Dec 27, 2018

I understand that this course was created some years ago and is now dated. It was somewhat distracting that the lecturer used a handheld electronic notepad as his teleprompter. Still the course covered quite a bit of interesting infromation.

By Marcus

Sep 13, 2020

It's outdated, has some typos in the quizzes. The course was boring and not entertaining, especially when astrobiology is a new field of study. People want to be interested in new learning opportunities. Make it more entertaining, please

By Nigel R

Nov 11, 2020

Very informative and helpful however the tests had some questions on it that did not had answers in the videos (I rewatched them over and over to make sure) which obviously affected my score.

By Maria W O

Apr 4, 2016

Good course, gently showing an introduction. Had the playspeed at 1.25x the entire time though, otherwise they talked too slow.

By Gregory B

Jul 15, 2018

it's to easy. Very little biology. I was able to answer the quizzes about planets and seti without listening to the lecture.

By Mirjam B

Mar 1, 2019

interesting, but not very challenging. Just videos and questionnaires, not more challenging exercises

By Sue C

Nov 13, 2015

Very interesting material and well explained, but videos are quite plain - borderline boring.

By Michael N

May 23, 2020

Too old, very out of date.

By SAMUEL K

Dec 31, 2017

Please Update the course!

By Antariksha M

Sep 10, 2019

Happy to learn

By Philip M P

Feb 14, 2017

good

By Lorena W

Jun 29, 2020

The first two weeks are effectively GCSE Science curriculum. If you haven't already taken GCSE Science then much of this will go too fast and will require considerable extra work in learning the basics (there's a reason it takes months in schools). The course is completely outdated, having not been updated in twelve years. This is UNACCEPTABLE in a field of science that makes near-weekly advances. There are mistakes in many of the quizzes, either in the questions themselves or more frequently in the answers (again, many of which are outdated or worse, updated but not matching the course materials as presented). And there are 'joke' questions which I find insulting - asking if 'Barry Manilow' appears on the Voyager disks for exmple. Either this is a serious course, worth taking and (in my case) spending money on, or it is a joke course that is not worth the effort. As it is, I WOULD NOT recommend this course to anybody that teaches science, has recently taken a GCSE science course or A-Level chem and Bio courses, or anybody that has paid any attention to science news in the last 10 years.

By Kevin E

Oct 24, 2020

The course explained a lot about how life evolved to what it is now. It also touched on some minute details about the search for extra-terrestrial life. However, it seems to me that the bigger picture in this course is missing. I feel that the topics for extraterrestrial life should have been explained and expounded some more. Many of us know that we are not alone in the universe. And there have been both documented and undocumented evidences and claims of encounters with otherwordly intelligences like physical humanoid beings and their ships. Certain protocols like remote viewing and the so called 'close encounters of the fifth kind (CE-5)' are also being utilized by many and are getting favorable results. For me this course could do better. To get a certificate like this is quite rare. I hope the content of this course, especially on extraterrestrial evidence and life would be expanded and be discussed more openly in the future

By John E H

May 22, 2020

Very shallow information on a wide variety of topics. Course should have been 3x as long so it had time to dig into the subject. Test questions were easy and more like trivia questions since there was so little material to draw from. If I had not paid for it, I would have stopped after the first week.