Chevron Left
Back to AstroTech: The Science and Technology behind Astronomical Discovery

Learner Reviews & Feedback for AstroTech: The Science and Technology behind Astronomical Discovery by The University of Edinburgh

4.7
stars
1,042 ratings

About the Course

"How do they know that?" Modern astronomy has made some astonishing discoveries - how stars burn and how black holes form; galaxies from the edge of the universe and killer rocks right next door; where the elements come from and how the expanding universe is accelerating. But how do we know all that? The truth is that astronomy would be impossible without technology, and every advance in astronomy is really an advance in technology. But the technology by itself is not enough. We have to apply it critically with a knowledge of physics to unlock the secrets of the Universe. Each week we will cover a different aspect of Astronomical technology, matching each piece of technology to a highlight science result. We will explain how the technology works, how it has allowed us to collect astronomical data, and, with some basic physics, how we interpret the data to make scientific discoveries. The class will consist of video lectures, weekly quizzes, and discussion forums. Each week there will be five videos, totalling approximately 40 minutes. They will be in a regular pattern - a short introduction, an example science story, an explanation of the key technology area, a look at how the technology is used in practice, and finally a look at what the future may hold....

Top reviews

EM

Jun 7, 2020

After completing the course, I was able to understand better some concepts in astronomy such as dark matter and dark energy as well as the technologies that helped uncover more truths in our universe.

BJ

Sep 22, 2020

The course was amazing especially when the instructor was explaining by using experiment instruments above all the way the instructors has taught me has completely made me understand the concepts.

Filter by:

101 - 125 of 292 Reviews for AstroTech: The Science and Technology behind Astronomical Discovery

By Juan M G

Feb 14, 2017

Amazing course! Brings me a lot of updated information regarding technic that how mesure an observe the universe currently

By Nicholas G

Mar 6, 2023

brilliant course! Will definately be looking at the Astrobiology. Shame this is not part of a specialisation program.

By David M

Feb 7, 2019

The professors were friendly, animated and explained concepts well in a manner that was easy to follow and understand.

By Karolina

Dec 4, 2020

I loved this course! It was interesting and now I understand atrotech so much better. I highly recommed this course.

By Vasant P

Mar 21, 2020

Great introduction to spectroscopy. Both instructors did a great job keeping the course informative and exciting.

By David B

Aug 17, 2017

Excellent course. I highly recommend anyone interested in viewing the night sky and Astronomy to take this course.

By Ronnie P

Feb 14, 2023

The course was very informative that excites me to take further courses. Thank you very much Catherine and Andy!

By Sumeet D

Nov 19, 2020

Excellent course I ever had till now.

very simple yet very effective language and description.

Thank you Both :)

By Robert B

Mar 11, 2017

Very good course. Explanations of new technology and

basic concepts were informative and easy to understand.

By Tanmoy B

Sep 19, 2022

This course is for beginners. This is a very simple course that covers some basic level maths. Overall good

By Francisco M F

Mar 3, 2017

Excelente curso, bastante completo y muy interesante. Muy buen profesor me gustaría conocerlo algún día!!!!

By Şevval N G

Dec 22, 2021

Definitely complete this course if you have an interest in astronomy.

Many thank to Andy and Catherine. :)

By Khaled E

Feb 12, 2020

Great course and teachers, who explain everything in such a way that they make it simple and interesting.

By Mrutyunjaya M

Dec 25, 2022

Loved the course. Its amazing the instructors explained such difficult concepts in such a simple manner.

By Lucy S

Sep 28, 2020

really informative and interesting course, all concepts are well explained and made easy to understand.

By Gkouvelis L

Jan 8, 2017

I enjoyed a lot this course and even if I am doing astrophysics I have learned some technical details!!

By Melissa A

Aug 9, 2019

This course is very easy to follow and explains all the essential concepts of technology in astronomy.

By ludovic l

Feb 28, 2023

Thanks to this fantastic team

It would be a plus if you could also share notions of radio astronomy

By Lilian K

Jun 13, 2019

Excellent! And the teachers are great at explaining everything very clearly. Thank you very much!!!

By Andrew M

Oct 6, 2020

Excellent presentation and up-to-date information. I am better prepared to use this in the future!

By Rama S V

Jul 6, 2019

I enjoyed doing this course. Learnt lot of things about astronomy and the way technology is used.

By Conor M

Jan 6, 2019

A fantastic course with an insight into principal theories that I cannot wait to explore further.

By José F

Jan 2, 2017

Great course for learning not only the way the universe work but also the way we have learned it!

By Krishna B

Jan 8, 2023

Fabulous course, completed all the modules in just 2 days... A great journey indeed! Keep it up!

By PRIYA

Jun 8, 2020

It is very much informational, apt content. I enjoyed this course and learned a lot. Thankyou.