Chevron Left
Back to Fundamentals of Audio and Music Engineering: Part 1 Musical Sound & Electronics

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Fundamentals of Audio and Music Engineering: Part 1 Musical Sound & Electronics by University of Rochester

4.6
stars
466 ratings
117 reviews

About the Course

In this course students learn the basic concepts of acoustics and electronics and how they can applied to understand musical sound and make music with electronic instruments. Topics include: sound waves, musical sound, basic electronics, and applications of these basic principles in amplifiers and speaker design....

Top reviews

TK
Jun 23, 2020

This is a very good course for anyone who wants to learn about building speakers and amplifiers. it gives a very good foundation for many thing related to amplifier and loudspeaker building

JD
Jul 12, 2020

I loved this course. It tied together so many aspects of electrical engineering and physics. I love the theory and application coming together. I look forward to building the amplifier!

Filter by:

101 - 114 of 114 Reviews for Fundamentals of Audio and Music Engineering: Part 1 Musical Sound & Electronics

By Ali Y

Sep 12, 2015

Good course for audio enthusiasts. A compilation of basic electric circuits and audio waves.

I enjoyed very much. Would be great if lecture notes were provided.

Thanks

By Brad T

Oct 23, 2016

As a retired EE this was a fun course for me to take, but it does cover a lot of territory quickly. I really liked the more practical aspects of the course

By Felipe H

Apr 11, 2017

Very interested information but I thought that the focus was for other thing instead a guitar amplifier

By Albéric d L

Feb 22, 2018

very good course, but I would have liked to go further in the detail of electric circuit

By Anshuman S

Jan 28, 2016

Great way to learn the science behind my passion

By Frédéric M

Sep 13, 2015

A very good Course!!

By BELAL E H M

Mar 20, 2018

good course

By Lee K J

May 5, 2018

great

By Junyu M

Jul 5, 2020

The topics are interesting on their own but not much was said about how each theory relates to actual speaker or music production. I was also confused at multiple points throughout the course but since the end of video quizzes did not have explanations to them I had to make do with not knowing what those answers were, which made understanding the course much more difficult. Overall, there were few links over the course topics and I felt it was hard to maintain interest, despite being extremely excited before the course started.

By saman K

Jun 4, 2020

well as a person who studied physics I should say that the mentors are very experienced and pro

but i think what makes this course a little bit unclear or unsuccessful is the short period of time for it because you can see from the quiz that you have to know more about calculating and basics of analyzing the circuit or show all these schematics practical too

By Patrick D

Feb 5, 2018

Helmholtz material needs a re-write. Include the Matlab code when showing a simulation. It seems like they almost they are trying to hold back information at times as if it's a couple of company guys protecting IP. Good overall though.

By Lara D G

Jul 18, 2019

I think that the electronic parts and the acoustics part of this course are very unbalanced. Circuits are really difficult whilst test questions regarding acoustics are reasonable.

By Armando M

Oct 13, 2015

Hasta el momento todo va bien... Seria excelente tener la opción de bajar la información expuesta para futuros backups

By adithya s

Nov 30, 2016

bad course .. teaching was poor... assignments were very high level.. but teachings very of low profile