Chevron Left
Back to Bacteria and Chronic Infections

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Bacteria and Chronic Infections by University of Copenhagen

4.7
stars
1,554 ratings
356 reviews

About the Course

This course will give you an introduction to bacteria and chronic infections. Leading experts in the field will make you familiar with the fundamental concepts of microbiology and bacteriology such as single cell bacteria, biofilm formation, and acute and chronic infections....

Top reviews

NM
Oct 30, 2016

I enjoyed this course very much and I certainly recommend it to that ones who are working in clinical fields like pharmacies and hospitals. Excellent teachers and topics as well as reading material.

KY
Aug 18, 2020

this was so overwhelming experience for me to study more about bacteria and chronic infection and i am so happy and grateful that I shall be using this knowledge gathered in my studies.\n\nthanks

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 352 Reviews for Bacteria and Chronic Infections

By Ryan R

Apr 24, 2016

Personal difficulty in understanding accents, my own lack of ability.

By irene a r

Apr 9, 2018

It is an very interesting topic. All the course materials are informative and the supplement read-out material also very elaborative

By Karina P

Apr 29, 2020

It seems to be meant for highly specialised individuals, the English is at times very difficult to understand and the focus seems to be more on content memorization than on learning.

By Aubin, P

Jan 13, 2016

The teachers doesn't seem to enjoy beeing there.......... The all seem like ''The faster we do this, the sooner it will be finished....''

By Stephen M

Aug 31, 2016

This is a truly brilliant course that shines a light on the dark world of the biofilm. The lecturers are excellent in bringing a quite difficult subject alive. The course introduces the secrets of bacteria to us and how they change from a simple infection to a long term (some times) debilitating chronic infections such a sinusitis and artificial knee joint infections. I found it fascinating that these simple organisms were clever enough dodge the bodies considerable defences and then join with others to form biofilms - which are like little communities working together with the aim of a bodily take over. Quite fascinating!! Furthermore - the lecturers introduce the idea of antibiotics and how they work to push these little invaders back!! Enjoy and learn

By Aedrian A

Jan 26, 2021

This course is an impressive interdisciplinary overview of the (patho)biology of chronic bacterial infections that are generally facilitated by beguiling entities known as biofilms. While I will only recommend the material to those with collegiate-level grasp of microbiology at the very least, this course will be satisfying to take for life/biomedical scientists (regardless of their current professional standing) at the laboratory benches and clinical practitioners at the bedside. I highly appreciate this course for giving me detailed leads on research endeavors to pursue in the future.

By Deepika K

Mar 6, 2016

I liked this course a lot. I joined this course to understand the cause of bacterial infections during surgery. My mom is suffering from somewhat similar condition after having a surgery, so I wanted to know the cause of it. I got much more knowledge than expected. I am Microbiology student and I am doing PhD. Medical microbiology was always my topic of interest and to get better knowledge about biofilms this course is best. I would recommend this course to all the microbiology studying students.

By Malamati V

Oct 15, 2020

This was my first course on Coursera and I'm glad that I had the opportunity to take this course first, since it really inspired me to enroll in many more courses! I really enjoyed the topic of bacteria biofilms and chronic infections and I could tell that the professors had really put a lot of effort towards the development of the lectures and the course in general. All in all I would totally recommend this course to anyone in the medical field!

By Dike E E

Jan 8, 2020

Amazing course! especially since I am a medical student. Very clear and well detailed videos and helpful links to informative article. I have learnt so much the past 6 weeks. I Highly recommend this course especially to people interested in medicine in order to have a deeper understanding on why we have phases of exacerbation and remission in chronic infections.

By Carlos A G M

Sep 22, 2019

From Colombia, I send a big greeting to the staff of the University of Copenhagen and other educators who have controlled the orientation within this course.

The topics dealt with have awakened my curiosity and interest to go deeper into clinical and molecular microbiology.

clear and punctual explanations.

I hope to visit Denmark in the future

see you soon

By Penny M W

Jan 16, 2021

This course was very well put together and has been exceptionally enlightening in explaining a "real life" situation that I have been dealing with concerning a chronic e-coli / staph infection and why none of the treatments had been successful. I commend the staff at U. of Copenhagen for putting together a wonderful course. Thank you.

By Stefan E

Aug 17, 2016

This course is not just for microbiologists. There are tons of clinical gems for all types of clinicians working with surgical patients or chronic wounds.

I think it is a must for all primary healthcare, GPs, chiropractors and physiotherapists.

An excellent course! Extremely well put together and presented. I highly recommend.

By Katie H

Dec 2, 2019

Excellent course! Can't say enough good things about this course! I was looking to expand my knowledge of microbiology and this course fit the bill. There were times I had issues understanding parts of what presenters were saying, but the included transcription of the videos proved a lifesaver. Thank you, University of Copenh

By Joanne B

Feb 15, 2016

Loved this exceptional course a good foundation for the subject of Bacteria, Chronic Infections & Biofilms

I have an avid interest in the subject and have followed the work closely of Alan Macdonald Pathologist, Dr Eva Sapi and many other pioneers in the field of chronic disease and biofilms.

Thank you :)

By Lidia G R V

Jun 11, 2020

I think that the course was very well structured and I have learnt many things and reminded of others such as genotype and phenotype that I have studied during my time in the University when we studied genetics. I enjoyed to listen about the patients with CF. Thank you very much for all the informations.

By Lu H

Mar 25, 2016

This course is really nice! Normal courses are superficial with basic knowledge. I really like the way of researchers introducing their area and talking about the recent related publications. It is a proper course for college or post-graduate student in this area! Thank you for making so much effort!

By KUMARESAN K

May 23, 2020

Dear Professors, Thank you all for your valuable lecture and inspirational power points with notes content; this course will be more useful for the microbiologists, medicine students and teachers who are all interested to teach bacterial chronic infections especially BIOFLIMS

Thank you once again

By Yahia A A

Aug 3, 2019

It was a good course in terms of valuable topics and perfect serially illustrated information, it gave me a lot about concepts of biofilms especially about their biology and interference with medications. And I can say that it added to my comprehension to microbiology. THANKS!

By Shania F

Sep 20, 2020

Amazing course... Beautifully explained... I loved everything about this course from the matter to the pictures, the contents to the quizzes and questionnaire!!! ❤️ Would recommend to all who have an interest in learning about Biofilms and the infections related to it!

By Miguel G

Mar 19, 2016

This course gives a deep knowledge on how biofilms form, behave, distribute and affect the human body. I found it very interesting and useful. The professors explain the material clearly and the animations give a clear idea on how the processes occur. Thank you!

By Deleted A

Oct 5, 2016

My name is Adithya C.G. I am studying in my sophomore and final year of my M.Tech Industrial Biotechnology course (Master's) at SASTRA University, Thanjavur, Tamil Nadu, India (2015-2017 batch). The course is very informative. The videos are excellent.

By Molly R M

Feb 22, 2016

Excellent teaching, the diagrams and knowledge of the lecturers is great. I turned the subtitles on as lots of the words were complex, so would recommend doing this for others. Tests were rather easy but the course was full of interesting information.

By Luz A R P

Jan 10, 2021

Excelente curso. Desde mi perspectiva me ayudo a comprender mejor el concepto de biofilm hacia la parte médica , en la Universidad solo me lo habían mencionado desde la parte industrial y profundice en gran medida en nuevos conceptos.

Mil gracias.

By Junwell C

Nov 24, 2020

The course provides me an information and deep understanding on the bacteria and the related infections especially the chronic ones that cause by the biofilms. It's really a great help for me as I practicing my Microbiology as a profession.