Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to battery-management systems

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to battery-management systems by University of Colorado Boulder

4.8
stars
942 ratings
250 reviews

About the Course

This course can also be taken for academic credit as ECEA 5730, part of CU Boulder’s Master of Science in Electrical Engineering degree. This course will provide you with a firm foundation in lithium-ion cell terminology and function and in battery-management-system requirements as needed by the remainder of the specialization. After completing this course, you will be able to: - List the major functions provided by a battery-management system and state their purpose - Match battery terminology to a list of definitions - Identify the major components of a lithium-ion cell and their purpose - Understand how a battery-management system “measures” current, temperature, and isolation, and how it controls contactors - Identify electronic components that can provide protection and specify a minimum set of protections needed - Compute stored energy in a battery pack - List the manufacturing steps of different types of lithium-ion cells and possible failure modes...

Top reviews

RS

Jan 24, 2019

Very good course for the beginners. Mr. Plett explains the concepts so clearly and his teaching style makes the subject more interesting. This course is very useful to those who are interested in BMS.

VS

Jun 11, 2020

I must say, the instructor is extremely humble and very experienced. It has been an honour to learn from him. Some solved examples during the lectures might add to the already excellent experience.

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 251 Reviews for Introduction to battery-management systems

By HETANSH M

Jun 04, 2020

One of the most enjoyable and knowledgeable courses pertaining to electrical engineering on Coursera. Got me looking forward to the rest of the specialization as well.

By Ajinkya J

Aug 19, 2020

One of the most amazing courses that I have come across. Definitely anyone trying to understand Li-ion batteries and their operating principles should go through it.

By Ameya K

Apr 28, 2020

This course was taught in a manner that is easy to understand. The key principles needed for an introductory course were all covered. Would definitely recommend.

By Jose M R

Jun 08, 2020

With just the right amount of info, it goes straight to the point so you can focus on the important bits neccesary for the following especialization courses.

By 吳漢堡

Nov 26, 2019

This course provides basic understanding about battery management system. The quizzes are moderate and really help learners realize the content of lecture.

By Piyush A

Apr 09, 2020

Very nice introduction to Li Ion cells and battery system. Must take for someone who wants to get basic understanding in this area. Thanks Prof. Gregory.

By Mahesh P

Oct 04, 2019

Excellent introduction. Although, I have worked extensively worked on batteries I could still find lot of information which we generally tend to neglect.

By Kufirre E

Nov 15, 2019

This is the best online course I’ve ever taken. The professor handling this course is a very talented teacher. Very good course. I highly recommend this

By malik a

Aug 20, 2020

This course is really interesting. The lectures are informative. It provide practical knowledge what will help you in the future. I really enjoyed it.

By Luis D L S

Nov 30, 2019

it was a great introductory course!, i'm greatful with the information that the teacher bring us and of course his knowledge shared to us. thanks.

By Marc R

May 27, 2019

Very well taught course, excellent and knowledgeable instructor, didactically well structured and interesting content. Quite challenging though!

By Piotr M

Apr 12, 2020

Highly professional approach. Information are ordered and very useful. Some curiosities from industry experience increase a value of the course

By Gaurav A

Nov 23, 2019

Learned basics of Lithium ion cells. How it is manufactured, its working, limits of operations and some fundamentals about battery operations.

By jai g

Jul 16, 2020

Fantastic course to know about the battery management system. Types of battery, SOC estimation and other calculations are very good to learn.

By Ashwin K K

Jun 16, 2020

One of the most thorough course I have attempted. I definitely recommend the course to anyone looking to get to speed to current BMS designs

By Md. J

Jul 13, 2020

Excellent .With strong and quality content the specialization has my attention .Probably will go for other courses of this specialization.

By gourab p

Jul 12, 2019

I work in BMS topic in a big German Tier 1 company and I find this course very exhaustive and well explained. Thank you so much professor.

By Krupa B

Jun 09, 2020

Excellent and useful information about the basic introduction of the battery management system. Gain high Knowledge through this course.

By PEDRO A C R

Aug 12, 2020

Exelent Course with very usefull information on Lithio battery as well as the main concerns on controlling and monitoring the batteries

By Md T H

Dec 30, 2018

The course is well defined and provides the basic knowledge about manufacturing , working and management of lithium cells n battery.

By Juan J d A

Feb 13, 2020

Great course, but having problems to continue with course 2, as the system ask me to wait for two months to log-in. , on April 12th.

By Maruthi

Feb 16, 2020

It is a very Good course, who wants to explore the field of the Battery Management system and Electric Vehicle Technological space.

By Tahoora Q

Aug 14, 2020

Mr Plett is simply awesome! I thoroughly enjoyed the course! Looking forward to start the next course in this specialization.

By Raman L

May 16, 2020

Got to learn a lot about BMS and batteries in general, thanks professor and coursera for this wonderful learning experience.

By Sajid

Jun 03, 2020

Really awesome. Worth learning, highly indepth and appropriate for students learning Electric vehicles and battery systems