Chevron Left
Back to Bayesian Statistics: From Concept to Data Analysis

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Bayesian Statistics: From Concept to Data Analysis by University of California, Santa Cruz

4.6
stars
2,537 ratings
667 reviews

About the Course

This course introduces the Bayesian approach to statistics, starting with the concept of probability and moving to the analysis of data. We will learn about the philosophy of the Bayesian approach as well as how to implement it for common types of data. We will compare the Bayesian approach to the more commonly-taught Frequentist approach, and see some of the benefits of the Bayesian approach. In particular, the Bayesian approach allows for better accounting of uncertainty, results that have more intuitive and interpretable meaning, and more explicit statements of assumptions. This course combines lecture videos, computer demonstrations, readings, exercises, and discussion boards to create an active learning experience. For computing, you have the choice of using Microsoft Excel or the open-source, freely available statistical package R, with equivalent content for both options. The lectures provide some of the basic mathematical development as well as explanations of philosophy and interpretation. Completion of this course will give you an understanding of the concepts of the Bayesian approach, understanding the key differences between Bayesian and Frequentist approaches, and the ability to do basic data analyses....

Top reviews

GS
Aug 31, 2017

Good intro to Bayesian Statistics. Covers the basic concepts. Workload is reasonable and quizzes/exercises are helpful. Could include more exercises and additional backgroung/future reading materials.

JB
Oct 16, 2020

An excellent course with some good hands on exercises in both R and excel. Not for the faint of heart mathematically speaking, assumes a competent understanding of statistics and probability going in

Filter by:

551 - 575 of 654 Reviews for Bayesian Statistics: From Concept to Data Analysis

By Guruprasad K

Jun 25, 2020

More assignments and live and truncky examples applying the principles would make course even more wonderful

By Somnath C

Dec 3, 2016

I wish the last week were more explanatory. Although overall now I do have an idea. It's a good course. :-)

By Sarah D

Aug 4, 2020

Could do with more exercises.

However, I found some elsewhere on the internet, so that was complementary

By Marco

Jul 30, 2020

Pretty good introductory material overall. Only disappointing part was the section on linear regression.

By Sergio

Sep 30, 2018

Very nice introductory course, practical and to the point. Good starting point for more detailed courses

By Mangmang Z

Jan 11, 2018

A little hurry in the normal distribution part, otherwise a great course for Bayesian introduction.

By Guangyuan L

Mar 7, 2019

a little bit difficult, I think you need to hold a solide background toward inferential statistics

By Mohammad D

May 16, 2018

I expected more examples to be solved or at least it could be provided as supplementary materials

By Jean-Jacques P

Jan 3, 2020

The course is good but requires a lot of homework if you are rusty on probability/statistics...

By Seeun P

Nov 11, 2017

Very Useful

It was little difficult to understand what the professor , but anyway it was good.

By Raman K

Apr 8, 2017

Steep learning curve. really taxed my thinking capacity. I enjoyed it thoroughly!

By LittleStone

Nov 12, 2016

A very good course which enlights me the study of bayesian statistics, thank you.

By Luciano F R F

Nov 17, 2016

Unfortunately I could not finish the course in due time. But it is very useful.

By Maria C B J A

Feb 22, 2018

Good course , but contains some challenging material .Thank you Professor L

By Damien P

Feb 23, 2017

Good course, but in my opinion misses of lectures/pdf to ease understanding.

By Chihan T

Mar 16, 2020

Useful lessons but too many calculations without explanatory applications

By Gyuho S

Jun 28, 2018

It was a nice introduction course. Not too heavy. I really enjoyed it.

By Alaa A

Feb 28, 2017

I could say , it is the best bayesian stat I ever experience till now.

By Abhimanyu R

Feb 22, 2019

This is a good course if you know probability and want to practices

By Kamil S

Apr 29, 2018

Excellent course, but the lack of the written notes is a big minus

By David I M

Sep 19, 2017

Satisfied with the course in general. Good investment of my time!!

By FG

Apr 6, 2020

Good introduction, but there is no variety in the test questions

By Eddie C

Jan 8, 2020

Quite harsh but give me some insight on prediction and estimation

By Eddie G

Apr 21, 2019

It would have been better to have more data analysis applications

By Chunhui G

Mar 7, 2019

These are a lot of stuffs that the professor didn't say clearly.