Chevron Left
Back to Bayesian Statistics

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Bayesian Statistics by Duke University

3.8
stars
756 ratings
245 reviews

About the Course

This course describes Bayesian statistics, in which one's inferences about parameters or hypotheses are updated as evidence accumulates. You will learn to use Bayes’ rule to transform prior probabilities into posterior probabilities, and be introduced to the underlying theory and perspective of the Bayesian paradigm. The course will apply Bayesian methods to several practical problems, to show end-to-end Bayesian analyses that move from framing the question to building models to eliciting prior probabilities to implementing in R (free statistical software) the final posterior distribution. Additionally, the course will introduce credible regions, Bayesian comparisons of means and proportions, Bayesian regression and inference using multiple models, and discussion of Bayesian prediction. We assume learners in this course have background knowledge equivalent to what is covered in the earlier three courses in this specialization: "Introduction to Probability and Data," "Inferential Statistics," and "Linear Regression and Modeling."...

Top reviews

RR
Sep 20, 2017

Great course. Difficult to apprehend sometimes as the Frequentist paradigm is learned first but once you get it, it is really amazing to see the believe update in action with data.

GH
Apr 9, 2018

I like this course a lot. Explanations are clear and much of the (unnecessarily heavyweight) maths is glossed over. I particularly liked the sections on Bayesian model selection.

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 237 Reviews for Bayesian Statistics

By Mark P

Oct 24, 2017

Slightly math heavy at times but the practical labs were awesome. I thoroughly enjoyed the final modeling assignment as well

By Michael B

Oct 26, 2016

Great course with clear instruction and a final peer-review project with clear expectations and explanations.

By Melesio C S

Aug 22, 2019

It was a very interesting course, i really recommend it if you want to get into bayesian statistics.

By Jinwoo L

Jul 10, 2019

Literally best concise and brief explanation. Dr. Rundel wakes my intellectual vitality up again!

By Yan Q

Dec 22, 2016

very helpful, however there is no recourse or recommend information for reference textbook.

By fanjieqi

Jan 3, 2018

Pretty good, but some parts is a little difficult. I need to watch these videos more.

By Julio C L J

Dec 18, 2017

The course was hard, because the topic is quite difficult. I missed the readings.

By Perry C

Sep 25, 2017

I didn't understand everything but I learned more than I ever thought I would.

By Parab N S

Oct 2, 2019

An excellent course by Professor Rundel and her team on Bayesian Statistics.

By Zhen X

Nov 26, 2018

Provide bunches of intuition of bayesian statistics. Worthwhile to enroll!

By Himanshu D

Feb 19, 2017

Excellent content. Gives a very different outlook of Bayesian Stats.

By Øyvind M E

May 24, 2020

Harder than the previous courses but well worth the learning

By Alfonso G D

Apr 29, 2020

Very interesting aproach to statistics in a very clear way

By Aditya G

Jun 6, 2020

Course was really good and I enjoyed it a lot. Thank You.

By Buckley O

Jul 26, 2020

Great class. Well worth the time investment and effort.

By Hohyun J

Jun 20, 2020

Excellent lecture, well structured, easy to understand.

By JULIETH I M S

Nov 27, 2017

Excellent course. Both instructors are really great.

By Ricardo B

Nov 24, 2017

Very comprehensive course on Bayesian Statistics.

By Nandini G

Feb 5, 2021

Best Course under Statistics domain on coursera

By Junyu W

Jul 7, 2020

Very organized and detailed offered course

By Ale D

Dec 17, 2017

Hard, but very good first course on Bayesian

By Lou B V

Sep 11, 2020

It was difficult for me yet it is so great.

By Luis A

Oct 11, 2018

Excellent course very clear explenations.

By Matthew L

Jan 31, 2018

Really hard, but absolutely worth it.

By Ananda R

Apr 19, 2017

very difficult but it is interesting