Chevron Left
Back to From the Big Bang to Dark Energy

Learner Reviews & Feedback for From the Big Bang to Dark Energy by The University of Tokyo

4.8
stars
2,874 ratings
810 reviews

About the Course

We have learned a lot recently about how the Universe evolved in 13.7 billion years since the Big Bang. More than 80% of matter in the Universe is mysterious Dark Matter, which made stars and galaxies to form. The newly discovered Higgs-boson became frozen into the Universe a trillionth of a second after the Big Bang and brought order to the Universe. Yet we still do not know how ordinary matter (atoms) survived against total annihilation by Anti-Matter. The expansion of the Universe started acceleration about 7 billion years ago and the Universe is being ripped apart. The culprit is Dark Energy, a mysterious energy multiplying in vacuum. I will present evidence behind these startling discoveries and discuss what we may learn in the near future. This course is offered in English....

Top reviews

AA
Apr 17, 2020

I really liked the method of teaching the professor follows.The course helped me to gain insights on the universe. I really liked and hopes that professor would do more online courses in the future.:)

DC
Dec 5, 2019

Professor Hitoshi Murayama is a great lecturer. His passion for the research conducted and explained in the lectures is evident and helped motivate me to complete the course. Absolutely brilliant man!

Filter by:

101 - 125 of 795 Reviews for From the Big Bang to Dark Energy

By Isabella T

Oct 21, 2020

Professor Hitoshi is really amazing and brilliant. He can explain difficult concepts with simple analogies that are easy to understand. I recommend this course to anyone who is curious or interested in the origins and future of the universe.

My ratings : 5 stars.

By Shrijan R

May 22, 2020

This course is the one which connects the dots between many different fields of physics, not just astronomy. And that is done in such a beautiful way, that this course seemed to me that it ended pretty soon. Kudos to Professor Murayama for creating such a course.

By Aryan A

Aug 31, 2018

It was a very enthralling series of lectures. Frankly, very interesting to an eighth-grader like me. Thank you for your lectures, Professor Murayama. It was great to utilize four weeks for your course. I hope i see you in some other lectures in the future. :)

By Mahbub A K

Jun 22, 2017

Excellent course. Anyone can get the current understand about the beginning of universe and also how scientists try to solve an existing problem. Though some maths are used in the course, but anyone can disregards that part and still understand the materials.

By Anmol M

Feb 7, 2021

This should be the first physics course for any student still exploring their career options. All the concepts are explained nicely and the course gives a grand picture of the universe. If you truly want to understand how things around you work, start here.

By Shyamkant A

Sep 12, 2020

Excellent course, contents answer all FAQ to great satisfaction, Prof Hitoshi Murayama is a teacher-par-excellence. It was an absolute delight to be a participant of the course. Great learning experience through the course "From the Big Bang to Dark Energy"

By John M B

Nov 19, 2020

Very good lecturer. I do really like the approach of his lecture; give considerations for those who have little background knowledge about the topic. I hope more courses like this from University of Tokyo would emerge. Thank you for a wonderful experience!

By Tobias W

May 13, 2020

Excellent course! Very well put together on the whole with really interesting lectures at an accessible level. A few of the questions in the quizzes were worded in a confusing way but given the sheer number of questions, this is certainly understandable!

By Deleted A

Oct 15, 2017

This is a fantastic course! Professor Murayama explains the mysteries of the universe in great detail and introduces the technical qualities of galaxies and expansion. I highly recommend From the Big Bang to Dark Energy for anyone interested in science.

By SAFA Z A A

Nov 27, 2019

it helps me a lot to understand how universe works, and how it will end. actually English language is not my native, and physics is not my field, but i just love astronomy so much and this course is so simple and easy to understand.

Thank you a lot !!!

By Wei C

Nov 17, 2018

This course is so well structured and organized that it will be a pity if I didn't share it with others.It is also taught with a great sense of humor, at least in my taste.If I have kids then I will want them to take this course with me. (but I don't)

By A S

Aug 28, 2020

Fantatic course that is taught at multiple levels which makes it appropriate for anyone with interest in topic. Recommend for teenagers, retirees, and college physics majors alike. Extra lectures brinigs topic up to date with very latest discoveries.

By Somabhupal R R

Sep 30, 2017

This is a fantastic course. I learnt many things about universe. Lots of my questions got answered especially about dark matter and dark energy. Processor made it so easy that i felt every video interesting. look forward for similar courses in future

By Phuc N

Jul 16, 2020

The course was thoroughly captivating, and Professor Murayama was able to engage with his students on complicated subject matters in a way that simplified it for them, while still making it challenging and therefore, warranting personal research.

By Stewart E

Feb 9, 2020

I very much enjoyed the course and found the lectures to be very informative without requiring a mathematics background. The instructor was well spoken and his inquisitive manner made the subject matter very interesting and even entertaining.

By Haaran A

Dec 17, 2016

This course is the best suited for the people who truly wants to understand the working of the universe and what will happen in the future. This was the best course I have experienced. The teacher was fantastic and it was enjoyable throughout.

By Ed A

Mar 11, 2019

I graduated with a degree in Physics in 1971 and never used it. Now that I'm retired I am fascinated by the discoveries in the last 50 years. I found this series to be wonderfully presented with lots of thoughtful questions and information.

By Estela S

Sep 28, 2017

I had physics before at high school but to the very basics of it. This course complements perfectly and reviews my knowledge on the subject. Prof. Murayama is also a great teacher and perfectly explains things in a non boring way. Loved it.

By PlawKawHteeMoo L

Jun 25, 2020

As a student who is interesting in the STEAM field, I learn a lot about the Universe and what we are made of. This course From the Big Bang to Dark Energy teach me a lot and there were many topics that were very interesting to learn about.

By Astromuon K

Jan 16, 2020

It changes my perspective of this cosmos after completion of this course. It's like I'm travelling around in the cosmos, make me see unprecedented, open my eyes to new world. I cannot thank you enough to the professor and mentor (Christy).

By Ernest W

Jan 21, 2018

I found this course to be extremly interesting, and really fascinating through out it's content. I think it was well done and the instructor was very good at explaining each lesson. Totally enjoyed it thoughout the course. Thanks Coursera!

By Gilles T

Jan 16, 2018

Excellent course, very easy to understand. The teacher speaks very well with an easy way to understand difficult ideas.

Yes, I recommend this course for those who want to learn more about where we are leaving and where we are coming from.

By Aurangazeeb A K

Dec 19, 2018

I was very much interesting to know about the story of universe and I found this course. It turned out to be a completely satisfying and intriguing experience. Hoping to see more courses like these from Prof. Murayama in the near future !

By Gloria H

Aug 3, 2020

This course is definitely fascinating, accessible and flawless. Everyone who seeks a conduit to the cosmos should take it and trust me you will not regret. The professor is erudite, humorous and humble. Thank you so much for the course!

By Vaibhav k G

Oct 22, 2020

Excellent course. A big thank you to Prof. Murayama and the entire team for such brilliant, deep and detailed insight. A pleasure to be a part of this course. Special thanx for keeping the course so interesting and simple at same time.