Chevron Left
Back to From the Big Bang to Dark Energy

Learner Reviews & Feedback for From the Big Bang to Dark Energy by The University of Tokyo

4.8
stars
2,570 ratings
720 reviews

About the Course

We have learned a lot recently about how the Universe evolved in 13.7 billion years since the Big Bang. More than 80% of matter in the Universe is mysterious Dark Matter, which made stars and galaxies to form. The newly discovered Higgs-boson became frozen into the Universe a trillionth of a second after the Big Bang and brought order to the Universe. Yet we still do not know how ordinary matter (atoms) survived against total annihilation by Anti-Matter. The expansion of the Universe started acceleration about 7 billion years ago and the Universe is being ripped apart. The culprit is Dark Energy, a mysterious energy multiplying in vacuum. I will present evidence behind these startling discoveries and discuss what we may learn in the near future. This course is offered in English....

Top reviews

AA

Apr 18, 2020

I really liked the method of teaching the professor follows.The course helped me to gain insights on the universe. I really liked and hopes that professor would do more online courses in the future.:)

DC

Dec 06, 2019

Professor Hitoshi Murayama is a great lecturer. His passion for the research conducted and explained in the lectures is evident and helped motivate me to complete the course. Absolutely brilliant man!

Filter by:

626 - 650 of 705 Reviews for From the Big Bang to Dark Energy

By farzaneh d d

Oct 07, 2016

Good

By Christine R

Mar 06, 2020

F

By Fred K

Feb 07, 2018

I

By 준석 황

Jul 31, 2016

p

By Salvatore T

Jun 06, 2016

G

By Mees K

May 12, 2016

.

By Luis F M F

Apr 21, 2016

I

By khawla t

May 31, 2017

thank you so mutch this questions is very importante to the brin for can understand the truth of the BIG BANG so MR i have some ansewrs about the questions whish we made it in the cours the first like we know the Universe is coming from the BIG BANG it was so small like the ball and it become like a bombe be cause ?

so i think it burst because inside it we have a new stars which was born with another planets so this new compositions doing a presure insid it because of this ball exploded to give us the universe so this is my theory about the big bang MR i have another about how the planets formed and the stars to so thank you so mutch about your cours Mr i'm a student in hieght school of Morocco and my name is KHawla

By andreas s

Mar 29, 2020

Very interesting and very well presented. I learnt a lot and am grateful to The Professor, University of Tokyo and Coursera.

The only (dark!) matter preventing a five star review is that

the Quizzes could have been more finely tuned. They were either too easy or too difficult, the latter often because numerous responses were being demanded within one question. The html is failing in some of the quizzes making them illegible, so one was compelled to guess.

By Abdessamad M

Oct 17, 2016

This course is very nice, just needs more details in the lectures to explain some difficult points in a simple way. And the homeworks could be much comprehensive to help students understand the rational of each theory. Although this could require adding more weeks but up to 8 weeks is worth doing as this course is essentially taken by students with research goals (like me). I hope we can see some improvements in this course year.

By Ahmed O A

Jan 29, 2016

I really enjoyed this course a lot. However i am not familiar with Math, i could pass this course with 92.8% and for me this high grade.

Thanks a lot for Tokyo University and Prof.Maruyama who exerted a great effort in this course , and Also i wanna thank Coursera Team too, because made this course available to students who live in arid countries.

Ahmed Osama Abdelnaeem.

By Clive D

Mar 03, 2017

This course is interesting and well presented. The lecturer injects humour as well as a sense of curiosity into the topics. However, I would have liked to see more mathematics and derivation of justifications of theories. Much of the material was presented as mere facts or observations with little attempt to show reasoning which leads to the conclusions.

By Marko S

Aug 27, 2020

Clever questions and interesting material. Course lacks real teachings and real material in step by step lecutres. It is more broadly made lectures to inspire interest to the given area and institution not a teaching of fundamental underlying knowledge, more like a recap on the current state of astronomy.

By Eric J

Aug 07, 2020

Not a bad course information is always new and not too repetitive in most cases. I give this 4 stars out of 5 course because this course is easy to understand and not frustrating. The only thing is that the videos are sometimes too much or too long but other then that a pretty great course.

By Bryce W

Feb 04, 2018

Great overview of some of the fundamental materials of the universe. However, some of the equations discussed could have been explained more clearly. Nevertheless, a great introduction course that I would recommend to anyone with an interest in physics or astronomy.

By Manav L

Jun 29, 2020

A very good course to begin with astronomy. The amount of information is really good, but being in 2020 the information has become old and there are a lot of new changes and progress in the field of astronomy. But even then it helps a lot with a lot of knowledge.

By Greg H

Jan 20, 2016

A great review of current advancements in physics presented in a manner comprehensible to people with basic physics knowledge. Only issue was with some slides which had text in colours which was difficult/impossible to read for my type of color blindness.

By Annigje F

Sep 21, 2016

A bit too much math in the questions, although it seemed (in the videos) that we could skip it. I'm very visually oriented (and also a MENSA member), and I would have explained more with graphics. Or at least not have to much 'equations' in the questions.

By Lionel L R Q

May 27, 2020

For beginners i do not recommend doing the optional questions. However, the general idea of the topics are well explained, though if you wish to learn more on the topics such as anti-matter/higgs boson/cerenkov radiation, you got to read up by yourself.

By Elancheliyan

Jun 24, 2018

The Lectures give a good introduction to the subject to someone with very little exposure to the subject. Can be taken by anyone with inquisitiveness to learn something new. Professor explains everything very clearly and in an easy to follow fashion.

By Pooja G

May 28, 2017

This course helps me to clear lots of doubts and i got really great information. If u want to understand big bang ,undoubtedly join this course . its good ! thanks to HItoshi Murayama sir ,you are best teacher.

By Hiroyuki M

Dec 14, 2015

I've excitingly learned about form particle physics to cosmology in this course.

I recommend this course for who want to get what universe in a nutshell.

I believe that this course is a nice entry class of cosmology.

By Ashish V

Jun 13, 2020

i liked this course a lot. enjoyed thoroughly and definitely learned a lot. i am really glad I took this course and would suggest this to anyone interested in the field this is a really good way to grasp the basics

By martin s

Apr 18, 2020

Many thanks, learned a lot, and a lot to learn. Have lots of articles from the answers to forum questions to re-read and review. Should help to let things settle in before I bound back into this area of study.

By David P Z

Apr 25, 2020

Although at the start the teacher said that maths won't be a problem, there are some problems (not the Honor ones) that involve math and chemistry for no reason. Beside that, it's a very good course.