Chevron Left
Back to Big Data, Artificial Intelligence, and Ethics

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Big Data, Artificial Intelligence, and Ethics by University of California, Davis

4.6
stars
293 ratings
80 reviews

About the Course

This course gives you context and first-hand experience with the two major catalyzers of the computational science revolution: big data and artificial intelligence. With more than 99% of all mediated information in digital format and with 98% of the world population using digital technology, humanity produces an impressive digital footprint. In theory, this provides unprecedented opportunities to understand and shape society. In practice, the only way this information deluge can be processed is through using the same digital technologies that produced it. Data is the fuel, but machine learning it the motor to extract remarkable new knowledge from vasts amounts of data. Since an important part of this data is about ourselves, using algorithms in order to learn more about ourselves naturally leads to ethical questions. Therefore, we cannot finish this course without also talking about research ethics and about some of the old and new lines computational social scientists have to keep in mind. As hands-on labs, you will use IBM Watson’s artificial intelligence to extract the personality of people from their digital text traces, and you will experience the power and limitations of machine learning by teaching two teachable machines from Google yourself....

Top reviews

MV
Apr 27, 2020

A perfect course for beginners and non-computational professionals who are curious to explore Digital foot print, the state of the art Artificial Intelligence applications and the research ethics.

PK
Jul 8, 2020

Excellent course on How the Big Data, AI and ML technology plays a big role in developing the world. Thanks to all the professors who made it even easier to understand the subject with clarity.

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 80 Reviews for Big Data, Artificial Intelligence, and Ethics

By Benjamin P

Apr 2, 2020

Excellent Course

By Raileanu S

Sep 9, 2020

Really engaging

By sahar H

Jul 24, 2020

amazing course

By Ethan G

Jun 17, 2020

Great Course!

By Gil V B

May 31, 2020

Great course

By Noura M A

Oct 10, 2020

good course

By Ritwik A S

Aug 17, 2020

I loved it

By Abdul N S H A K

Aug 10, 2020

wonderful.

By Anisha V M

Jul 2, 2020

Excellent

By SASI V T

Jun 25, 2020

EXCELLENT

By Perepa D

May 9, 2020

Thank you

By Susara s j p

Jul 31, 2020

best

By Shubhayu C

May 25, 2020

good

By Ben B

Nov 10, 2020

I like the specialization. It offers a quick first glance on many topics of computational social sciences but don't expect deep insights. I see the course as a point of reference to start exploring more sophisticated tools, methods, and theories. Again, prof. Hilbert is an entertaining lecturer and his collaborators add practical and theoretical expertise.

Be prepared that the peer-review process might take a couple of days.

Again, the tools used are simple and limited in scope, but a good opportunity to get your hands dirty.

By Rafaela S R

Aug 9, 2020

The course provides an overall introduction to the theme and it is quite helpful. However, there were some videos with a very poor sound and it was necessary to add subtitles to understand better.

By Billur U

Oct 18, 2020

I was expecting more about the ethics side of AI, from the critical point of view. Besides, some quiz questions were not clear enough. But anyway, I learnt a lot of things.

By ROBERT W C

Jul 1, 2020

Overall, good and informative content. Production quality and supplemental materials could be improved upon, however. Also, some quizzes are not always clear...

By mohammad

Sep 20, 2020

Very Well. But in comparison to "CSS Methods", I should say that, the first course was better and more informative

By Renu K

Apr 29, 2020

The Course Content is precise and lecturer is very knowledgeable...!!

By Abhyudaya A

May 18, 2020

Great course, the part that moved me the most was the ethics module.

By prakhar b

Jul 10, 2020

its a good course to get brefly introdued to ML ,AI and Big Data

By Avinash H K

Jul 28, 2020

Excellent course for beginners

By DARNE S M

Apr 30, 2020

Great for learning the basics.

By Antony L J

May 13, 2020

It is a wonderful course

By Florian D

Apr 18, 2020

Excellent cours