Chevron Left
Back to Big Data Integration and Processing

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Big Data Integration and Processing by University of California San Diego

4.4
stars
2,288 ratings
493 reviews

About the Course

At the end of the course, you will be able to: *Retrieve data from example database and big data management systems *Describe the connections between data management operations and the big data processing patterns needed to utilize them in large-scale analytical applications *Identify when a big data problem needs data integration *Execute simple big data integration and processing on Hadoop and Spark platforms This course is for those new to data science. Completion of Intro to Big Data is recommended. No prior programming experience is needed, although the ability to install applications and utilize a virtual machine is necessary to complete the hands-on assignments. Refer to the specialization technical requirements for complete hardware and software specifications. Hardware Requirements: (A) Quad Core Processor (VT-x or AMD-V support recommended), 64-bit; (B) 8 GB RAM; (C) 20 GB disk free. How to find your hardware information: (Windows): Open System by clicking the Start button, right-clicking Computer, and then clicking Properties; (Mac): Open Overview by clicking on the Apple menu and clicking “About This Mac.” Most computers with 8 GB RAM purchased in the last 3 years will meet the minimum requirements.You will need a high speed internet connection because you will be downloading files up to 4 Gb in size. Software Requirements: This course relies on several open-source software tools, including Apache Hadoop. All required software can be downloaded and installed free of charge (except for data charges from your internet provider). Software requirements include: Windows 7+, Mac OS X 10.10+, Ubuntu 14.04+ or CentOS 6+ VirtualBox 5+....

Top reviews

SB
Oct 21, 2020

Hello Gentlemen,\n\nThis course was very helpful foe me. It enhanced my knowledge about Big Data Integration. Thank you so much for providing me such important knowledge. Thank you once again.

AA
Mar 5, 2018

It was a good course, it could have been better if some examples of Spark were also provided in other Languages like Java, people without having background of python may find it difficult.

Filter by:

276 - 300 of 482 Reviews for Big Data Integration and Processing

By Chiranjib G

Dec 12, 2017

The course did not cover in detail the use of PySpark that was required for final submission. Overall a good course to get basic introduction into different Databases and then you can learn in details on your own!

By Carlos M

Sep 24, 2019

It was a good overview; however I feel that there are not enough examples of streaming processes. Also an example on how to integrate a relational source with a NoSQL one will be valuable for the learners.

By piaoyang

Mar 23, 2020

There is little instruction for the final task (either for the other tasks).

And I'm confused by the comments in the jupyter for a long time. You have to google many things to complete the task.

By Austin P

Dec 4, 2016

Some of the lectures seemed slightly lesser quality with regards to the materials. For moocs especially, I would like to have the lecture better documented in order to download and review later.

By Jauhari K

Jun 24, 2021

Good contents but mostly outdated making the learning to be a bit difficult as most time needed to troubleshoot the tool. Discussion forum is useful. I hope that this course will get updated

By Parminder K

Jun 23, 2018

Its a bit tough for students having less knowledge in programming to go through Week 6. Kindly revise the Study material to help learners cope up with tha challenges of Week 6 Quizzes

By Esra K

Dec 29, 2019

Assigments would be more complexity but for a beginner they are enough to understand framework.

More code practice should be presented. They need to be repeated to remember of syntax

By Frédéric M

Feb 1, 2018

Interesting course but the requirements to use a VM and virtualbox for handson might make it impossible in companies that are not allowing installation of softwares on their employe

By AJIT M

Feb 5, 2019

Great Course! Provides a good exposure to the tools and utilities. The database part has been done well. The part with the Spark needs some more info on how to use the data frames.

By ASHMY A S

Aug 5, 2017

I was a beginner in the area of Big Data and I selected this course due to my interest and curiosity. But the lectures were very clear and I could successfully complete the course.

By Apurva T

Feb 21, 2019

The quiz was a bit difficult since there was no much guidance on how to sort in descending order and how to find the total times a country was mentioned in a single tweet.

By mohamad m k

Jun 12, 2018

that course had alot of technical training , i enjoyed every bit of it , specialy the final project , it gave you a little guidance with more space for you to develop more

By Aaryan J

Aug 26, 2020

The week 6 hands on activity was very tough as compared to all other activities in the specialization so far. A gradual increase in difficulty would have been better.

By Amol G

Oct 8, 2017

Lot of new information, excellent delivery. Given 4 as I feel real-use case flavor is inadequate -exercises could be more intensive, real case studies can be added.

By Rozina S

Apr 22, 2019

It would be really helpful if there were full time teaching assistant whom we could directly contact for queries, since questions on forum many times go unanswered.

By Tomer S

Sep 28, 2017

Good coverage of the issues. Splunk exercise smelled like a promotional thing, not very useful. I think the exercises should be harder and on more complex examples.

By Charles S

Mar 18, 2018

Very comprehensive overview and well explained. Only the last hands-on exercise in week 6 was as challenging as I would like to see for all the other exercises.

By Diogo M

Aug 7, 2019

Some problems occur in VM and the use of virtualbox is not good, I use vmware, because I find some problems to run Virtualbox in my PC.

The course needs update.

By Norman L

Aug 31, 2018

The Spark component was especially useful when it went into depth about architecture and implementation. Also appreciated the coverage of MongoDB

By Francisco J

Aug 29, 2017

PSpeaker who is a man is not very good communicating the lectures it's very difficutl to follow him as his tone is not very good for e-learning.

By Damon A

Aug 8, 2017

I enjoyed the practical introduction to Hadoop and Spark. I appreciated the quizzes, which exposed me to both platforms via hands on experience.

By Vidal C

Oct 23, 2017

Challenging hands on experience working with both structured and unstructured data, and creating value out of it by using SPARK and MongoDB.

By Pankaj G

Dec 5, 2016

Content was good however we need to get more support on hands on as sometime we feel that we are stuck due to non availability of the right

By Rohit G

Jul 9, 2019

Environment setup instructions for final assignment do not work as expected and need to be updated to avoid time spent in troubleshooting.

By Mahmudul H

May 23, 2020

All of a sudden this course is enriched with hands on practice. I think it should be more improved as everything is not clear that much.