Chevron Left
Back to Big Data Integration and Processing

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Big Data Integration and Processing by University of California San Diego

4.4
stars
2,053 ratings
435 reviews

About the Course

At the end of the course, you will be able to: *Retrieve data from example database and big data management systems *Describe the connections between data management operations and the big data processing patterns needed to utilize them in large-scale analytical applications *Identify when a big data problem needs data integration *Execute simple big data integration and processing on Hadoop and Spark platforms This course is for those new to data science. Completion of Intro to Big Data is recommended. No prior programming experience is needed, although the ability to install applications and utilize a virtual machine is necessary to complete the hands-on assignments. Refer to the specialization technical requirements for complete hardware and software specifications. Hardware Requirements: (A) Quad Core Processor (VT-x or AMD-V support recommended), 64-bit; (B) 8 GB RAM; (C) 20 GB disk free. How to find your hardware information: (Windows): Open System by clicking the Start button, right-clicking Computer, and then clicking Properties; (Mac): Open Overview by clicking on the Apple menu and clicking “About This Mac.” Most computers with 8 GB RAM purchased in the last 3 years will meet the minimum requirements.You will need a high speed internet connection because you will be downloading files up to 4 Gb in size. Software Requirements: This course relies on several open-source software tools, including Apache Hadoop. All required software can be downloaded and installed free of charge (except for data charges from your internet provider). Software requirements include: Windows 7+, Mac OS X 10.10+, Ubuntu 14.04+ or CentOS 6+ VirtualBox 5+....

Top reviews

AA

Mar 06, 2018

It was a good course, it could have been better if some examples of Spark were also provided in other Languages like Java, people without having background of python may find it difficult.

FC

Sep 25, 2016

Best course taking into account the first three. Good material, more in depth than the other ones. Very well explained. Useful to get a sense of various interesting topics and orientative.

Filter by:

376 - 400 of 422 Reviews for Big Data Integration and Processing

By Tamás-Marosi P

Sep 16, 2017

The final pyspark project was too hard for me and I don't exactly understand without massive python knowledge how can this be solvable, while the weeks lessons were way too easy compare to this final project.

This whole course was a little bit too superficial, without comprehensive tasks.

By Christopher R

Jun 27, 2017

Interesting material and good lectures however some of the hands-on work was difficult / impossible to complete due to issues with SparkSQL, which have gone unanswered in the discussion forums, so had to export the data and use other tools to perform those analyses.

By Ferran G F

Jan 10, 2020

Low score because professor team/staff seemed to completely ignore discussion forums. A lot of participants have had problems running shell scripts and other setup instructions that are necessary to perform some tasks, and their posts have been ignored.

By Robert H

Sep 09, 2017

Tedious exercises through VM where instructions oftentimes do not work out of the box. It is a hassle to download the slides in small sets and their design awful. Definitely one of the worse courses I have taken.

By Klaas v S

May 19, 2020

The supplied tools are broken in hard to debug ways, as is evident from the discussion forums, where literally thousands of questions are raised. Somebody should do sentiment analysis on these forums, I suppose.

By Sergey K

Oct 08, 2016

Quizes are inconsistent with given dataset. Questions are bad: i.e. what is the difference between "number of distinct countries mentioned" and "number of countries mentioned in tweets".

By Enrique C M d C

Nov 19, 2017

La virtual box de cloudera va muy lenta y es imposible hacer los ejercicios de manera fluida y satisfactoria.

El usuario y la contraseña de Splunk que se proporcionan estan caducados

By Erwin v R

Dec 24, 2016

I miss a proper buildup from the theory to the practical exercises. Especially the last quiz I found very difficult based on the limited number of exercises presented upfront.

By Brian S

May 23, 2019

Practice activities files are outdated and a lot of the installation of downloaded tools requires manual fixing, there is no support at all from the course publishers.

By Luis E M A

Apr 10, 2020

Links do not work and you must spent a lot of time in the Discussion Forum to know how to run the programs.

Instructions for the quiz are not clear and confused

By Matt M

Nov 17, 2016

I had many problems with the final two programming assignments with running Spark in the VM and there isn't a lot of help available online.

By Richard E A M

Apr 21, 2017

The materials explaining the course are too poor. This is a core course in the specialization.

The quizzes are out of the material's league

By Stephen B

Mar 29, 2020

Too many different software packages, not enough depth, and no support. Good high level overview.

By Ruijia W

Nov 17, 2017

1. the whole week 1 and week 2 are useless and not helpful.

2. Plz add more handson sections

By Mayank R

Apr 08, 2019

This course focuses entirely on theory and there are very few hands on exercises .

By Reinaldo L N

Sep 05, 2019

I had lots of problems with postgresql, could not run the hands-on for it

By Lucas J

Mar 20, 2017

The VM doesn't work out of the box sometimes for the hands on activities

By Oron N

Feb 12, 2017

Poor presentation of topics, I don't recommend.

By Shu H F

Aug 24, 2017

Many issues with the VM

By Qian H

Jul 13, 2017

Soso

By Mark F

Apr 17, 2017

I think the last project was very badly positioned and explained. First the Coursera is using Cloudera VM, but if you execute and run the Cloudera Express to set the Cloundera environment up the Coursea exercises do not run There should be a warning!. If you do then the simplest Jupyter exercise it fails - this took me about 10 hours to figure out.

Then for the final Project, technically to succeed you must miss country names in all lower case and you cannot match with countries with a 'space' e.g. 'Cape Verdi' and if you try to take any of this into account you do not get the same numbers to pass the test. There needs to be some warning on how to interpret and manage the files so that you get the same numbers being asked for in the test. Again this too me about 10 hours to resolve. Both resolutions ONLY because another colleague is doing the same course and we problem solved together. THIS IS AN AWFUL EXERCISE in frustration due to incomplete details. Not a learning exercise. Just AWFUL....

By César G M

Jul 16, 2017

In week 3 I was asked to give up my personal information to a 3rd party in order to complete this course, including full name, email, telephone, zip code and permission to send spam to my email. This is not acceptable.

As I used a fake telephone number they denied my registration:

"Denied Person

Thank you for your interest in Splunk.

Please be patient as we assess your registration at Splunk.com. This process may take a few days. If you do not receive a welcome email from Splunk after 2 business days, feel free to contact support@splunk.com. Be sure to provide your full name, complete mailing address, email, and the Splunk.com username you created during your registration. We will respond as soon as possible. Thank you for your patience and understanding."

I'm pretty sure you can work something with Splunk to provide a direct link for future editions of this course so your students don't have to give up their privacy in order to complete it, as you're giving that company the publicity anyways.

By Sun W

Sep 21, 2019

Content-wise is okay.

Hands on material is not properly prepared. Software installation has some many errors, even the course is using a standard VM. This shows the provider paying little attention to prepare the course material. Very disappointing attitude.

Another error spotted, mongoexport give wrong instructions.. using the instruction, there is no way to extract just the tweets column. I really doubt if the instructors have ever tested on whatever they have provided to the students lol

I dont know how can i express my disappointment to this course. Quiz instructions are very unclear as well. If the instructors have ever tried their own instructions, they would discover these naive mistakes. Please be responsible when selling knowledge

By Martin D

Aug 16, 2020

To avoid. For 4 years, instructors / Coursera / UCSD have never updated the course. In this course, when you follow the instructions "localhost: 8889" it doesn't work, you have to go through the terminal to start pyspark. In addition, the connection ports have been obsolete for over 4 years, therefore the function "rtd.hpwren.ucsd.edu", 12028) (or 12024, 12020) does not work. Students are left to fend for themselves, wasting their time finding solutions in forums where unanswered questions to the same issues were asked 4 years ago. Even their VM is obsolete and no longer supported by Coursera. Find other Big Data training if you want to have a higher level training. If I could put a negative star on this course, I would.

By Reeja R G

May 24, 2020

The contents are too old, its time to upgrade. And it only has very less basic theory with lots of unnecessary theory part which dont even explains anything useful. In spark only wordcount example, nothing else. Not even efficient or useful even for a beginner. I will never recommend this course. Its better to choose free on very cheap courses in Udemy which have good content, practicals and examples. Or even youtube free courses are far better. Here they have included splunk, after going through the course I googled to understand what actually splunk is. Total waste. I am cancelling my subscription today.