Chevron Left
Back to Big Data Integration and Processing

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Big Data Integration and Processing by University of California San Diego

4.4
stars
2,208 ratings
475 reviews

About the Course

At the end of the course, you will be able to: *Retrieve data from example database and big data management systems *Describe the connections between data management operations and the big data processing patterns needed to utilize them in large-scale analytical applications *Identify when a big data problem needs data integration *Execute simple big data integration and processing on Hadoop and Spark platforms This course is for those new to data science. Completion of Intro to Big Data is recommended. No prior programming experience is needed, although the ability to install applications and utilize a virtual machine is necessary to complete the hands-on assignments. Refer to the specialization technical requirements for complete hardware and software specifications. Hardware Requirements: (A) Quad Core Processor (VT-x or AMD-V support recommended), 64-bit; (B) 8 GB RAM; (C) 20 GB disk free. How to find your hardware information: (Windows): Open System by clicking the Start button, right-clicking Computer, and then clicking Properties; (Mac): Open Overview by clicking on the Apple menu and clicking “About This Mac.” Most computers with 8 GB RAM purchased in the last 3 years will meet the minimum requirements.You will need a high speed internet connection because you will be downloading files up to 4 Gb in size. Software Requirements: This course relies on several open-source software tools, including Apache Hadoop. All required software can be downloaded and installed free of charge (except for data charges from your internet provider). Software requirements include: Windows 7+, Mac OS X 10.10+, Ubuntu 14.04+ or CentOS 6+ VirtualBox 5+....

Top reviews

SB
Oct 21, 2020

Hello Gentlemen,\n\nThis course was very helpful foe me. It enhanced my knowledge about Big Data Integration. Thank you so much for providing me such important knowledge. Thank you once again.

FC
Sep 24, 2016

Best course taking into account the first three. Good material, more in depth than the other ones. Very well explained. Useful to get a sense of various interesting topics and orientative.

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 461 Reviews for Big Data Integration and Processing

By Riris G S G

Oct 21, 2020

this course is great. each material is taught in great detail from the video explanation, also accompanied by material document slides, and there are many quizzes for...

By Mahamat N A M

Jan 31, 2019

it's really useful course for data integration. and you will understand the basic of data integration and processing which is really important part of big data as well.

By Linh N B

Oct 29, 2017

I learn a lot from this. I think it may have a bigger project as the final exam/grade. It would be more challenging. anyway, great course. Definitely recommended.

By Estefania L

Jul 3, 2019

A fundamental and theoretical course for beginners. This course taught about the big data pipeline and the different tools involved in the data analysis process.

By Roger M

Oct 2, 2016

Loved it! Very practical and hands-on, with a variety of platforms used on practical examples. I'm off to analyse some social media data soon just for fun :)

By luca m

May 29, 2017

Great course, only a bit difficult on Spark assignment for the people that are not familiar (or a bit rusty) with python and programming.

Thanks again

luca

By Tanver A

Apr 23, 2018

This course may be the easiest way to understand the underlying operations of tools for BD processing. Liked it so much. Learning @ Coursera is a fun.

By Lawrence O

Feb 27, 2017

This has been one of the best courses ever. A really good insight into big data. I will recommend it to all people trying to get into data scientist.

By Akshay V

Nov 19, 2016

It was a very helpful course in understanding of the Big Data Integration and Processing. Learned a lot.

Thanks to the instructors and Coursera team.

By Prasad G

Apr 1, 2017

Course was excellent. I liked the hands on sessions the most. Not too easy and not too difficult. They encourage you to explore more and learn more.

By Clement F

Oct 26, 2017

The overall structure of the course was as per my expectations. I have enough leads to learn and explore more. Thank you folks for the great job!

By Ezequiel P

Oct 15, 2020

Great course. Glances over many topics, without getting too deep into any of them, so it is great for an introduction to many topics and tools.

By loveneet k

May 4, 2018

Comprehensive hands on excercies. Excellent final project. Its provide good platform for you to explore and do projects in spark and mongodb

By Simon B C

Mar 22, 2020

This course was the best of the big data courses by now. I liked the hands on and not to many hints. Let people figure it out by themselves.

By Anthony W U

Dec 21, 2016

This course is great!!! I love the handson most. Working with tweet text was really challenging for me but it was worth the time and effort.

By Danish A

Dec 19, 2020

It was a very good course and I learned a lot from it. Hopefully soon I will receive my certificate too. Thanks for this informative course

By Devon E

Aug 16, 2018

Very useful course. The instructors have the ability to cover a wide range of subjects very succinctly. Thank you very much for the course.

By Lukáš B

Dec 15, 2017

You will definitely not spend time effort which is declared, because it is very time consuming to find solution, but it is very valuable.

By Miguel A R S

Oct 25, 2017

Although the explanation of all the topics is a little vague, most of the concepts are better understood during the hands-on activities.

By Rick H

Nov 19, 2016

The lectures were very structured and informative. The quizes were challenging. The final week was demanding and fleshed out concepts

By Nicholas S

Jan 7, 2020

I learned quite a bit about Big Data problems and the varioius technologies, especially Spark, that you can use for those problems

By Mohamad K

Oct 2, 2019

Teaching about the quality and not quantity. It's a great course , i have learned a lot tech that used now days in our real life.

By Alfonso A C M

Aug 17, 2020

In general my experience was very good, I consider that you must have some knowledge in programming to get the most out of it.

By Sita R P G

Dec 11, 2016

The Spark introduction and exercises were good. It would be an added advantage if the final steps/answers also get published.

By xavier s

Aug 31, 2017

theoric and practise, very usefull course to have a first concret view of data manipulation with some kinds of big data api.