Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Big Data

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Big Data by University of California San Diego

4.6
stars
9,853 ratings
2,324 reviews

About the Course

Interested in increasing your knowledge of the Big Data landscape? This course is for those new to data science and interested in understanding why the Big Data Era has come to be. It is for those who want to become conversant with the terminology and the core concepts behind big data problems, applications, and systems. It is for those who want to start thinking about how Big Data might be useful in their business or career. It provides an introduction to one of the most common frameworks, Hadoop, that has made big data analysis easier and more accessible -- increasing the potential for data to transform our world! At the end of this course, you will be able to: * Describe the Big Data landscape including examples of real world big data problems including the three key sources of Big Data: people, organizations, and sensors. * Explain the V’s of Big Data (volume, velocity, variety, veracity, valence, and value) and why each impacts data collection, monitoring, storage, analysis and reporting. * Get value out of Big Data by using a 5-step process to structure your analysis. * Identify what are and what are not big data problems and be able to recast big data problems as data science questions. * Provide an explanation of the architectural components and programming models used for scalable big data analysis. * Summarize the features and value of core Hadoop stack components including the YARN resource and job management system, the HDFS file system and the MapReduce programming model. * Install and run a program using Hadoop! This course is for those new to data science. No prior programming experience is needed, although the ability to install applications and utilize a virtual machine is necessary to complete the hands-on assignments. Hardware Requirements: (A) Quad Core Processor (VT-x or AMD-V support recommended), 64-bit; (B) 8 GB RAM; (C) 20 GB disk free. How to find your hardware information: (Windows): Open System by clicking the Start button, right-clicking Computer, and then clicking Properties; (Mac): Open Overview by clicking on the Apple menu and clicking “About This Mac.” Most computers with 8 GB RAM purchased in the last 3 years will meet the minimum requirements.You will need a high speed internet connection because you will be downloading files up to 4 Gb in size. Software Requirements: This course relies on several open-source software tools, including Apache Hadoop. All required software can be downloaded and installed free of charge. Software requirements include: Windows 7+, Mac OS X 10.10+, Ubuntu 14.04+ or CentOS 6+ VirtualBox 5+....

Top reviews

HM
Sep 8, 2019

I love the course. It goes deep into the foundations, and then finishes up with an actual lab where you learn by practice. I greatly benefited from it and feel I have achieved a milestone in big data.

PB
May 24, 2018

A step by step approach stating from basic big data concept extending to Hadoop framework and hands on mapping and simple MapReduce application development effort.\n\nVery smooth learning experience.

Filter by:

276 - 300 of 2,263 Reviews for Introduction to Big Data

By ahamed s

Sep 3, 2020

For the beginners, this course will give lot of insights into the subject. I appreciate the professors for the excellent delivery of the topics.

By Roshan P

May 12, 2020

A very crisp and clear course highlighting the concepts of Big Data. The nice part is that they also provided handson excersises and assignments

By Ahmad-Hilman N

Apr 30, 2018

For an Introduction, this course is good place to start. Giving explanation about what and why big data is important without going too technical

By DADI M

Jun 4, 2020

It's a Great course that explains the basic knowledge of what actually Big data is with real-life examples. Looking forward to the next course!

By Basil C

Jan 11, 2020

Like to thank Ilkay Altintas and Amarnath Gupta. I am grateful to have learned so much in so little time. Look forward to the next few courses.

By Ryan C

Oct 4, 2017

Great introduction to the tools used in big data analysis. Focuses on useful tasks such as downloading and using Hadoop in various scenarios.

By 187Y5A0530

Jun 19, 2020

i have learned lot of things this classes ,gained knowledge about the big data,it is necessary to students

thank u for giving this oppurtinity

By Daniel T G

Apr 15, 2021

I am really satisfied with this course. It helped me to work on my carrier and research in the area of Data Science and Big Data. Thank you.

By Tahir C A

Jun 3, 2020

This course is amazing. If you have no prior knowledge about big data you should definitely take the course. It will probably a great start.

By Shravya S R

May 14, 2020

Collated so well and every instruction is crystal clear! The instructor is absolutely amazing with her articulate way of teaching. Loved it!

By Bako M E

Mar 24, 2020

It was an amazing experience taking this course and I must say I'll love to take more.

Coursera is indeed a nice platform for online classes.

By Nandita G

Mar 4, 2019

Excellent course on Big Data. I now have a hold on various Big Data terms and basic understanding of Big Data Hadoop map reduce programming.

By Sachin S

Nov 2, 2018

Introduction To Big DATA is a very nice course for those who want to learn the basics of Big Data and are interested in Data Science domain.

By Nsangu P

Oct 9, 2020

Very informative and insightful. Lectures explanation are clear and understandable. Defiantly recommend to someone starting out in Big Data

By GOMEZ O N

Oct 19, 2020

interesting. There should be more troubleshooting when the cloudera doesn't load on the computer. It took me several days to figure it out

By Mary A

Jul 21, 2020

It took great commitment and motivation to keep going, but was worth it in the end. I have a greater understanding of Big Data and Hadoop.

By Mic T

Dec 10, 2018

This is an excellent course! The teachers are wonderful and the course design is very good! Highly recommended if you are new to Big Data!

By Hans E

Sep 24, 2017

Gives a good back ground on the basic Data Science items and ends with a hands-on installation and use of Hadoop, so not only theoretical.

By Gustavo V

Nov 3, 2020

Excelent course to learn the basics of Big Data, Hadoop, Map Reduce and understand big data ecosystem and most common tools and use cases

By Rahulraj E

May 10, 2020

From start to beginning the course was well structured and delivered very effectively. I'd love to take other courses at this university.

By lakshmi m

Jul 7, 2017

Course content is really good and commands given in video lectures gave hands on experience for beginners to work on Hadoop. Thanks team

By Breno O d S

Aug 8, 2016

I really enjoyed the course Big Data !!! excellent!!! I will continue showing it to everyone at the university.

Gratitude!!!

Thank you!!!

By Nilesh M

Jun 1, 2020

This course motivates learning big data technology. The way instructors demonstrated big data concepts and their application is amazing.

By Gaetjens L

Oct 18, 2018

Excellent. This is a perfect introduction to the vast world of big data and the tools that are used to get the job done. Great course.

By PRAJJAWAL S

Oct 18, 2018

explained through simple and clear words with lots of real life examples which helped to understand the impact of big data in real life.