Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Big Data

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Big Data by University of California San Diego

4.6
stars
9,932 ratings
2,345 reviews

About the Course

Interested in increasing your knowledge of the Big Data landscape? This course is for those new to data science and interested in understanding why the Big Data Era has come to be. It is for those who want to become conversant with the terminology and the core concepts behind big data problems, applications, and systems. It is for those who want to start thinking about how Big Data might be useful in their business or career. It provides an introduction to one of the most common frameworks, Hadoop, that has made big data analysis easier and more accessible -- increasing the potential for data to transform our world! At the end of this course, you will be able to: * Describe the Big Data landscape including examples of real world big data problems including the three key sources of Big Data: people, organizations, and sensors. * Explain the V’s of Big Data (volume, velocity, variety, veracity, valence, and value) and why each impacts data collection, monitoring, storage, analysis and reporting. * Get value out of Big Data by using a 5-step process to structure your analysis. * Identify what are and what are not big data problems and be able to recast big data problems as data science questions. * Provide an explanation of the architectural components and programming models used for scalable big data analysis. * Summarize the features and value of core Hadoop stack components including the YARN resource and job management system, the HDFS file system and the MapReduce programming model. * Install and run a program using Hadoop! This course is for those new to data science. No prior programming experience is needed, although the ability to install applications and utilize a virtual machine is necessary to complete the hands-on assignments. Hardware Requirements: (A) Quad Core Processor (VT-x or AMD-V support recommended), 64-bit; (B) 8 GB RAM; (C) 20 GB disk free. How to find your hardware information: (Windows): Open System by clicking the Start button, right-clicking Computer, and then clicking Properties; (Mac): Open Overview by clicking on the Apple menu and clicking “About This Mac.” Most computers with 8 GB RAM purchased in the last 3 years will meet the minimum requirements.You will need a high speed internet connection because you will be downloading files up to 4 Gb in size. Software Requirements: This course relies on several open-source software tools, including Apache Hadoop. All required software can be downloaded and installed free of charge. Software requirements include: Windows 7+, Mac OS X 10.10+, Ubuntu 14.04+ or CentOS 6+ VirtualBox 5+....

Top reviews

HM
Sep 8, 2019

I love the course. It goes deep into the foundations, and then finishes up with an actual lab where you learn by practice. I greatly benefited from it and feel I have achieved a milestone in big data.

DK
Aug 11, 2021

I love the course. It goes deep into the foundations, and then finishes up with an actual lab where you learn by practice. I greatly benefited from it and feel I have achieved a milestone in big data.

Filter by:

376 - 400 of 2,289 Reviews for Introduction to Big Data

By Kartik T

Jun 30, 2020

The course is a absolute hit. The instructors were very helping and the materials provided are undoubtedly the best.

By Aleksandr K

Sep 23, 2018

Great Course and insights into Big Data. Excellent starting point for anyone who wants to learn more about Big Data.

By Jacson C

Aug 14, 2018

It is a very good opportunity to hone your skills in big data. This course is mainly about the concepts of big data.

By Juan A C S

Oct 21, 2016

Excellent introduction to Big Data, clear presentation of concepts and motivation to continue the study of the area.

By Zipporah K B

Oct 19, 2020

Lectures and learning materials were sufficient. Examples helped a lot in understanding the concept of this course.

By Swathi V P V

Aug 17, 2020

They explained the concepts very well. I thank the faculties for their excellent teaching.

I liked their teaching .

By Arya C

May 16, 2020

Interesting and informative classes. The explanation on all topics were easily understandable even for a beginner.

By Tina S T

Apr 15, 2020

The sessions were wonderful. It was scheduled well and the contents were very useful. Thanks a lot to the mentors.

By Andrew A M

Mar 29, 2020

This is a very good course for introducting to Big Data world. A very good overview to make a roadmap of Big Data!

By Agnieszka B

Nov 3, 2017

I learnt a lot of new terms connected with Big Data, useful information, great descriptions, interesting examples.

By Ali S

Sep 10, 2020

An amazing course, and perfect for anyone who needs the intro or a refresher to Big Data and Data Science basics.

By Resdy B

Feb 11, 2019

This course does not only introduce me to Big Data concept but also change my perspective in Big Data. Well done.

By Alan L

Jan 29, 2018

The course had good information and well presented. The map to reduce test not real clear. Still learning the u

By Navin K P

May 25, 2017

A great course with lot of information but very easy to understand , Thanks to the instructors to explaining well

By Andre O V

Sep 17, 2019

The course provides a great holistic view about big data while offers a good techincal presentation about Hadoop

By Riccardo P

Apr 9, 2018

Being bored by 60 minutes free videos on YouTube, that's what I really want as an introduction course, thank you

By Shantinath C

Nov 2, 2017

Very nice. Taught from beginner level, very detailed, and easy to understand. Great for new learners of Bigdata.

By Guven Y

Oct 9, 2017

Thnak you very much for putting this course together. I enjoyed a lot. Looking forward for the upcoming courses.

By Khwla

Oct 1, 2017

it is an awesome course. I suggest everyone interst about data take this course which has a garet information .

By Nishanth C

Sep 20, 2020

The hands on examples and exercises are useful.

The instructors are engaging and respected veterans of industry.

By MANEESH K 2 C A

Sep 19, 2020

Excellent course. I would like to get more knowledge on big data. Thank you for giving me a very useful course.

By SIDDHANT S

Aug 6, 2020

For someone who wants to start a learning about Big Data from scratch, this is the best course. Just go for it.

By Isam I

Apr 24, 2020

This is a great introduction to the world of Big Data. I enjoyed taking it. A big thank you to the instructors.

By SUSMITA D

Oct 21, 2019

the assignment is time consuming for the mapreduce kindly change the assignment

the drawing isnt worth the time

By Karstein H

Dec 14, 2017

Very good introduction. With doing an actual installation of Hadoop we got valuable practical training as well.