Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Big Data

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Big Data by University of California San Diego

4.6
stars
9,748 ratings
2,298 reviews

About the Course

Interested in increasing your knowledge of the Big Data landscape? This course is for those new to data science and interested in understanding why the Big Data Era has come to be. It is for those who want to become conversant with the terminology and the core concepts behind big data problems, applications, and systems. It is for those who want to start thinking about how Big Data might be useful in their business or career. It provides an introduction to one of the most common frameworks, Hadoop, that has made big data analysis easier and more accessible -- increasing the potential for data to transform our world! At the end of this course, you will be able to: * Describe the Big Data landscape including examples of real world big data problems including the three key sources of Big Data: people, organizations, and sensors. * Explain the V’s of Big Data (volume, velocity, variety, veracity, valence, and value) and why each impacts data collection, monitoring, storage, analysis and reporting. * Get value out of Big Data by using a 5-step process to structure your analysis. * Identify what are and what are not big data problems and be able to recast big data problems as data science questions. * Provide an explanation of the architectural components and programming models used for scalable big data analysis. * Summarize the features and value of core Hadoop stack components including the YARN resource and job management system, the HDFS file system and the MapReduce programming model. * Install and run a program using Hadoop! This course is for those new to data science. No prior programming experience is needed, although the ability to install applications and utilize a virtual machine is necessary to complete the hands-on assignments. Hardware Requirements: (A) Quad Core Processor (VT-x or AMD-V support recommended), 64-bit; (B) 8 GB RAM; (C) 20 GB disk free. How to find your hardware information: (Windows): Open System by clicking the Start button, right-clicking Computer, and then clicking Properties; (Mac): Open Overview by clicking on the Apple menu and clicking “About This Mac.” Most computers with 8 GB RAM purchased in the last 3 years will meet the minimum requirements.You will need a high speed internet connection because you will be downloading files up to 4 Gb in size. Software Requirements: This course relies on several open-source software tools, including Apache Hadoop. All required software can be downloaded and installed free of charge. Software requirements include: Windows 7+, Mac OS X 10.10+, Ubuntu 14.04+ or CentOS 6+ VirtualBox 5+....

Top reviews

HM
Sep 8, 2019

I love the course. It goes deep into the foundations, and then finishes up with an actual lab where you learn by practice. I greatly benefited from it and feel I have achieved a milestone in big data.

RG
Jul 13, 2017

First of all i would like to take this opportunity to thanks the instructors the course is well structured and explained the foundations with real world problems with easy to understand the concepts.

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 2,231 Reviews for Introduction to Big Data

By Jaime G C T

Nov 1, 2020

This course is good introductory program that delves into the multidisciplinary and rapidly-evolving nature of Big Data and Data Science. The hands-on data analysis activities are well-designed and encourage learners to explore more big data analytics and cloud computing applications.

By Juan F d N

Nov 11, 2020

Congratulations,

Good,, simple and enough to have an idea of what hadoop is.

Only a few recommendations.

As the course needs a computer with more than 8GB... it would be better to install the software the first day. Just to see if the requirements of the hardware and software are ok.

By Maninder S

Jul 30, 2020

As the data has been growing rapidly day by day, the major challenge is not only to process the big data efficiently in a cost effective way but also to produce the meaningful results that can add values to the business. It was indeed a great learning experience. Highly recommended.

By Subhrajit R C

Oct 10, 2017

This course lays a good foundation for understanding what Big Data is, what it is good for, and also what it is not good for. The course is well structured and the quizzes and hands-on material test you and also and allow you to practice and get a taste of what lies ahead.

By King W N

Oct 9, 2017

This is a terrific intro into what Big Data is for those who are interested but aren't sure if they want to dive into the technology behind how Google, Amazon or internet search engines market what you might be interested in. This course will definitely wet you appetite.

By Pamela O

Apr 17, 2020

Muy bien realizado el curso aborda todos los temas importantes , las presentaciones en video son realmente buenos, las diapositivas interesantes y a la vez llaman la atención. La voz de la presentadora a veces se hacia aburrida pero la información que daba muy relevante.

By Parth S

Apr 7, 2017

Very useful course to start one's journey into the world of Big Data. Concepts were explained thoroughly and in a very easy-to-understand manner. The quizzes and assignment help in evaluating one's own progress. Must-do course for anyone wanting to learn about Big Data.

By Mabel Y

Oct 11, 2020

It was very insightful and an eye opener to what big data is. There is so much potential to what big data could help to achieve be it for businesses or for environment providing proven results or statistics which could help to create predictive model.

It is so amazing!

By Anurag S

Sep 13, 2018

This is a very good course which provides a good overview of the big data domain. It provides an introduction to the various Hadoop components and gives a flavour of big data computing using Cloudera. Overall, a very good introduction to the six course specialization.

By Ishan S

May 22, 2017

This course is really helpful for understanding the basics of Big Data. As they say, if the foundation of something is strong, it lasts forever. This course really helped me in laying down that strong foundation,which will be helpful in the future courses.

Thanks.

By Ramon P T S

Jun 15, 2020

Except for the section where I had to run Hadoop through my laptop computer and had trouble loading the disk image into the VirtualBox environment and therefore had to test it using another computer, the pacing of the course seemed appropriate for a beginner.

By Christopher R

Jul 26, 2017

Great short intro course. The work load was a little high but I believe it was pretty thorough to get a basic understanding. I also loved the pre-built cloud environment built for us! The exercises were pretty intuitive. I'm excited for the next course :)

By Ahmed S

Jan 1, 2020

Excellent Course. It provides essential fundamentals for big data, Hadoop and map reduce applications. I do recommend this course for anyone interested in this line of study. Language, videos, slides, and quizzes are very clear and interesting to follow.

By Govardhan H K

Sep 26, 2016

I would like to enroll many such courses . Excellent Teaching . Thanks to teachers who spent their precious time in preparing slides and delivering quality teaching.. Hats off to Coursera. I recommend my friends too , to enroll such a wonderful course.

By Beñat G

Dec 5, 2020

Even if I was familiar with most of the concepts, I found it a really good introduction to Big Data topics. If you are coming from the Machine Learning or Data Science world, this is a good addition to have a better understanding of Big Data challenges.

By JungHwan B

Sep 25, 2017

Very helpful for me to learn Concept of Big Data.

Specially, every class in the course are related to each other very well.

I could review many times in this class and learn new stuffs, too.

I was really happy to learning Big data, because of this class.

By Sreejith S

Jul 31, 2016

Good introductory course on Big Data. It does not dive directly into the technical aspects, but rather discusses the various related topics giving a clear overview of the overall Big data scenario.

Helped a lot in understanding the Big Data landscape.

By Charles, Q L

May 27, 2017

I highly recommend this course if you want to enter the world of Big Data. So far I have learned what big data is, the process of big data, distributed file systems, MapReduce programme model, Hadoop ecosystems, and more. It is simply a good course!

By Kuldeep K S

May 16, 2020

This course is well designed and is beginner friendly.

This course worked really well in clearing all my basic doubts regarding data science and big data I have learnt so many new concepts in this course and also understood the importance of data.

By Dr G N R

Jun 17, 2020

excellent and more informative course .My sincere thanks to tutors and cousera ,they provide such a knowledge to us and they embedded new skills of teaching in this course. we have learned new and more realtime applications related to Bigdata.

By Chandan K

Jan 28, 2020

Very Nice Course. It's all started from evolution and reason behind growth of Big Data and then a very clear description with real time examples on each topic covered under this course. Very Good For anyone who want start learning Big Data Basics.

By Anupama K

Jun 15, 2018

I am a complete newbie to Big Data and this course really came down to my level and explained all the concepts very well. Kudos to the two professors for putting together great content. Looking forward to the next few modules. Thank you very much!

By Timothy M N

Jul 22, 2020

Massive thanks to the course instructors for giving us this amazing introduction into big data.

There is a lot to learn, especially for someone like me with almost no knowledge of big data.

Looking forward to continuing the remainder of the course.

By Dinuka M D Z

Apr 12, 2018

Loved every lecture in this course as the content was presented clearly in a very well organized manner. This course teaches you everything you need to get into the field of Big Data. I am very grateful to Dr.Ilkay Altintas and Dr.Amarnath Gupta.