Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Big Data

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Big Data by University of California San Diego

4.6
stars
9,751 ratings
2,298 reviews

About the Course

Interested in increasing your knowledge of the Big Data landscape? This course is for those new to data science and interested in understanding why the Big Data Era has come to be. It is for those who want to become conversant with the terminology and the core concepts behind big data problems, applications, and systems. It is for those who want to start thinking about how Big Data might be useful in their business or career. It provides an introduction to one of the most common frameworks, Hadoop, that has made big data analysis easier and more accessible -- increasing the potential for data to transform our world! At the end of this course, you will be able to: * Describe the Big Data landscape including examples of real world big data problems including the three key sources of Big Data: people, organizations, and sensors. * Explain the V’s of Big Data (volume, velocity, variety, veracity, valence, and value) and why each impacts data collection, monitoring, storage, analysis and reporting. * Get value out of Big Data by using a 5-step process to structure your analysis. * Identify what are and what are not big data problems and be able to recast big data problems as data science questions. * Provide an explanation of the architectural components and programming models used for scalable big data analysis. * Summarize the features and value of core Hadoop stack components including the YARN resource and job management system, the HDFS file system and the MapReduce programming model. * Install and run a program using Hadoop! This course is for those new to data science. No prior programming experience is needed, although the ability to install applications and utilize a virtual machine is necessary to complete the hands-on assignments. Hardware Requirements: (A) Quad Core Processor (VT-x or AMD-V support recommended), 64-bit; (B) 8 GB RAM; (C) 20 GB disk free. How to find your hardware information: (Windows): Open System by clicking the Start button, right-clicking Computer, and then clicking Properties; (Mac): Open Overview by clicking on the Apple menu and clicking “About This Mac.” Most computers with 8 GB RAM purchased in the last 3 years will meet the minimum requirements.You will need a high speed internet connection because you will be downloading files up to 4 Gb in size. Software Requirements: This course relies on several open-source software tools, including Apache Hadoop. All required software can be downloaded and installed free of charge. Software requirements include: Windows 7+, Mac OS X 10.10+, Ubuntu 14.04+ or CentOS 6+ VirtualBox 5+....

Top reviews

HM
Sep 8, 2019

I love the course. It goes deep into the foundations, and then finishes up with an actual lab where you learn by practice. I greatly benefited from it and feel I have achieved a milestone in big data.

RG
Jul 13, 2017

First of all i would like to take this opportunity to thanks the instructors the course is well structured and explained the foundations with real world problems with easy to understand the concepts.

Filter by:

2201 - 2225 of 2,231 Reviews for Introduction to Big Data

By Cesar S

Nov 28, 2020

Most of the information is useless, there spent two weeks talking about how you should manage your data that is something you can find anywhere in the internet. The only useful thing are the videos about Hadoop in the last week.

By Nick G

Mar 10, 2020

No peers are available to grade assignments. My credit card was dinged because no one grade my assignment within the 7 days, so the course was incomplete. To top it off, most of the labs don't work, and run on an obsolete VPS.

By Robin B

Sep 24, 2016

Very disappointing. Poorly written quizes and presentations. The level of the course is far too basic to be of value, but is required for the specialization. Why not offer an option to test out of basic introduction courses?

By Thomas J

Oct 23, 2020

The bad things: Way too basic and outdated. The first 2 weeks of the course had no value to me.

The good things: It is an online course so easy to speed through first 2 weeks. Intro to mapreduce and exercise in week 3 was good.

By William R

Oct 5, 2016

Honestly, for the price paid, the value given is quite low. I expected to have more hands-on working with the Hadoop ecosystem rather than this course's focus on background that really does not help one to become productive.

By Dr. L A G

Oct 19, 2016

Too many things I already know and which are quite obvious, when you have some little computer science knowledge, less practical information; the explanations for installing Cloudera etc are insufficient!!!

By Vipin

Aug 28, 2016

Very basic. All this information of this course can be self taught by Googling and the hands on exercise at the end of the course is a joke. For the $59 price of the course, expected more.

By Damián L

Mar 19, 2017

Presenter is very bad lecturer. She seems to be reading (badly) from a tele prompt, rather than lecturing. The quality of the slides is very poor. Not the level of a reputable University.

By Ray C

Oct 12, 2017

The lectures are just not very good. Terms are confused. Just not that good. The material is not difficult at all, it is just the lectures and slides are poor.

By Chris G

Oct 25, 2016

Last exercise is half the course and took many frustrating hours to install and for me never worked. No support provided by instructors. You are on your own.

By Atsuya K

Oct 30, 2017

Shallow. Perhaps useful for a student of management to skim over, but there is nothing that a student with technical background would gain from this course.

By Abhi K

Jul 4, 2018

Instructors have very good knowledge but courseis very very theoretical with less examples and your subconscious mind is not even listening tovideo.

By Abhinandan N

May 19, 2019

Everything at high level, people have to imagine things to really understand what is being said. Seriously has to work on the deliverable and plan.

By Shubham P

Jun 21, 2020

THIS COURSE IS COMPLETELY USELESS FOR STUDENTS WITHOUT HIGH END INFRASTRUCTURE AS THEIR ARE NO CLOUD LABS FOR PRACTICING THE IMPLEMENTATION.

By Michele P

Jan 9, 2017

I cannot complete the course due to installations problem of the software required even if I have all the requirements needed on my laptop.

By Xuening H

Jun 5, 2020

Very bad course. The lecturors are not talking in a greenhand-friendly way. I cannot understand anything after I took the entire course.

By Sergiy V

Sep 27, 2020

this is the worst course I have ever seen. Is it computer science course or phylosophy course???

Waiste of time.

By Luis E G

Dec 22, 2020

This course is extremely bad on every level. User experience might be one of the worse I've had in my life.

By Sahar N

Dec 30, 2020

I couldn't boot the VM and they didn't care to help me out an after weeks of studying I had to drop off.

By Hua Z

May 31, 2017

This course just introduce the basic definition but no practical issues. Useless somewhat

By Seth D

Aug 18, 2016

Extremely basic intro, not valuable if you have any understanding of the the space

By 佟铁

Mar 6, 2018

Sorry, I cant learning all classes. The terrible PPT, rigid teaching methods

By Carolay C S

Dec 11, 2016

Me estan cobrando el curso y se supone que me salia todo gratis

By Laurent S

Feb 10, 2019

I have rarely seen a course that is so terrible

By VISHAL G

May 28, 2020

i didnot find it useful and it is too boring