Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Big Data

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Big Data by University of California San Diego

4.6
stars
10,128 ratings
2,375 reviews

About the Course

Interested in increasing your knowledge of the Big Data landscape? This course is for those new to data science and interested in understanding why the Big Data Era has come to be. It is for those who want to become conversant with the terminology and the core concepts behind big data problems, applications, and systems. It is for those who want to start thinking about how Big Data might be useful in their business or career. It provides an introduction to one of the most common frameworks, Hadoop, that has made big data analysis easier and more accessible -- increasing the potential for data to transform our world! At the end of this course, you will be able to: * Describe the Big Data landscape including examples of real world big data problems including the three key sources of Big Data: people, organizations, and sensors. * Explain the V’s of Big Data (volume, velocity, variety, veracity, valence, and value) and why each impacts data collection, monitoring, storage, analysis and reporting. * Get value out of Big Data by using a 5-step process to structure your analysis. * Identify what are and what are not big data problems and be able to recast big data problems as data science questions. * Provide an explanation of the architectural components and programming models used for scalable big data analysis. * Summarize the features and value of core Hadoop stack components including the YARN resource and job management system, the HDFS file system and the MapReduce programming model. * Install and run a program using Hadoop! This course is for those new to data science. No prior programming experience is needed, although the ability to install applications and utilize a virtual machine is necessary to complete the hands-on assignments. Hardware Requirements: (A) Quad Core Processor (VT-x or AMD-V support recommended), 64-bit; (B) 8 GB RAM; (C) 20 GB disk free. How to find your hardware information: (Windows): Open System by clicking the Start button, right-clicking Computer, and then clicking Properties; (Mac): Open Overview by clicking on the Apple menu and clicking “About This Mac.” Most computers with 8 GB RAM purchased in the last 3 years will meet the minimum requirements.You will need a high speed internet connection because you will be downloading files up to 4 Gb in size. Software Requirements: This course relies on several open-source software tools, including Apache Hadoop. All required software can be downloaded and installed free of charge. Software requirements include: Windows 7+, Mac OS X 10.10+, Ubuntu 14.04+ or CentOS 6+ VirtualBox 5+....

Top reviews

DK
Aug 11, 2021

I love the course. It goes deep into the foundations, and then finishes up with an actual lab where you learn by practice. I greatly benefited from it and feel I have achieved a milestone in big data.

HM
Sep 8, 2019

I love the course. It goes deep into the foundations, and then finishes up with an actual lab where you learn by practice. I greatly benefited from it and feel I have achieved a milestone in big data.

Filter by:

2226 - 2250 of 2,321 Reviews for Introduction to Big Data

By SERGEI S

Jul 12, 2017

it is so simple, but informative

By YUVARANI P 2 C A

Aug 4, 2020

It is very easy to understand

By Franciszek G

Oct 22, 2018

Too little technical aspects.

By Bhawna B

Aug 23, 2017

need to give more assignments

By Alexander H

Nov 10, 2018

More hands on would be good

By YongDeuk C

Nov 20, 2016

it's too much basic stuffs.

By Aditya A

Feb 26, 2021

Add more hands on sessions

By Alvaro M

Sep 18, 2017

Booooooooorinnnnggggg

By Irfan S

Sep 11, 2017

Its very basic course

By Shivraj J

Dec 19, 2016

Basic info covered.

By Roman N

Nov 4, 2016

too philosophical

By Jordi S C

Jan 8, 2019

Very theoretical

By Alex B

Feb 18, 2017

Quite shallow...

By Ravi

Nov 14, 2017

Lot of talking.

By Deleted A

Mar 17, 2017

Not good enough

By Marcelo G D L

May 12, 2020

A bit outdated

By Lakshmi M

Oct 5, 2017

Good overview

By Manoj S

Oct 29, 2017

Pretty basic

By Sanjay

May 12, 2018

nice one

By Safoora

Feb 6, 2018

Good st

By Raizza S d S

Jul 15, 2020

I had quite some high expectations for this course however Week 1 videos were already such a turn-off. The videos were so slow-paced that it actually became just like a lecture at uni (boring). However, at first, the content was indeed interesting for Big Data introduction. The first quiz was horrible. It was so hard, half of the questions had nothing to do with the content (in my opinion). I had to research the subjects on another websites as I honestly did not see half of them on the videos. All other tests were more reliable to what was previously learned. But the part that made me more upset was having to download and install 2 applications (this was not explicit on the programme) for the final assessment understanding and answering a 2-question quiz in which one of these applications had FOUR GBs to be downloaded. Up to this point, I did download the file. Overall I do not recommend this course to anyone. Reasons are clear: the "sluggishness" of the videos and presenter and the final/ultimate 4GB gift. They should create an online environment for this task/application. I do give a star for the assessment where we had to create a presentation of how MapReduce works. I liked that interactivity.

By Petter B

Aug 8, 2016

The content of the course is ok. The main problem is that the way the information is presented. Ilkay Altintas, who is the main lecturer, is a sweet woman, but lecturing from a manuscript is not her strongest side. It is clear that she is reading from a screen while she is looking into the camera. Anyone could do that job, and they should have chosen more of an "news anchor" type of person with better pronunciation and more flow. It's simply very uninspiring and boring to listen to. Also, 59 dollars is far too expensive for such a short course.

By Sweta S

May 24, 2021

Its was more of theoretical knowledge than application knowledge which is generally required for working professionals.

Practical implementation example are less.

Courser material still refers to the 5.1/5.2 Virtual Box versions which are no longer supported. A link to Virtual Box would have been better than installing locally in system.

Hadoop exercise could have been more , better if divided into smaller tasks with commands usage for better understanding.

By Michał S

Jan 6, 2017

It covers theoretical part of "What big data is" and basic info about Hadoop. Quality of presentation slides is below average. Most of them are not readable - many fonts, many colors, some with complicated pictures, some with no information at all. Part with Map reduce is just slightly touched, not explained in details, without examples. Practical tasks from hadoop are very easy and they show nothing (just how to navigate over hadoop file system.

By Evženie T

Apr 5, 2018

The basic concepts were mentioned but not explained deeply enough, so I was mostly memorizing rather than understanding. The presentation was boring, and the tests did not really test anyone's understanding of the subject matter but rather if one memorized correctly the information from the videos. I would recommend finding a more engaging course.